We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Great Food”

Bluewater Waterfront Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 2000, Bluewater Waterfront Grill is picturesque restaurant located on the Intracoastal Waterway in Wrightsville Beach, NC. Service, hospitality and outstanding local cuisine are top priority. The menu features selections of fresh seafood and American fare, offering unique, chef-driven dishes, as well as classic coastal favorites. Bluewater offers spacious dining rooms, private event spaces and has a large outdoor patio where guests can dine and relax while watching sailboats and yachts glide by on the sparkling water. Bluewater has continuously been voted Best Outdoor Dining by Encore Magazine and its outdoor patio includes and a full service bar, and large fans & shades to make dining comfortable during the summer months. Dock access is available.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Views and Great Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Good drinks, great food and views. The fried green tomato BLT, dill shrimp salad wrap, crab nacho's mmmmmm!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ncsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    246
    94
    45
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very busy local restaurant in Wrightsville Beach. We called ahead for a party of seven of us and they were able to get us a table in the lower section right along the water for dinner. Food is outstanding, local fish selections. Our server was also great. Friendly and efficient. Worth hitting this place when you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable, relaxing lunch on a summer day”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I often stop at Bluewater Grill for lunch when we drive to Wilmington to do some shopping. We enjoy sitting at a waterfront table to enjoy a relaxing meal while watching the boats go by or pull up and dock while their owners come inside the restaurant. Yesterday, our food choices were the coconut shrimp with the rum marmalade dipping sauce and the blackened Atlantic salmon wrap. They were delicious! The grill's seafood is locally caught (except perhaps the salmon). This I consider a must, since we live along the NC coast and feel we, as well as the restaurants, should support the local commercial fishermen. In addition, the wait staff always are very professional and helpful. We definitely plan to eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family went to Bluewater for dinner recently and had a very nice meal. They do not take reservations, but you can call 30 minutes before you arrive and put your name on the wait list. We did, and when we arrived, we were quickly seated. Sit outside if the weather is nice. They have great views of the inner causeway. No one had a bad meal, but no one had an outstanding dish. I would return when in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HLC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All Hype”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Gave this place two tries and still nothing...

First Try- Thanksgiving Day 2013
My Boyfriend and I just moved to NC and were looking for an upscale Thanksgiving experience. Our parents were coming in from NY and we wanted to WOW them. The reviews for their "high-end" buffet (promised fresh fruit/shrimp/all the traditional dishes) were enough to convince us. I called and made a reservation twice!! We called a little closer to Thanksgiving to change our dining time and they had no idea what we were talking about??!
Anywho, onto dinner....the 4pm seating must have been the last because the food was picked through. Half the items we were promised were "out" , as we were nonchalantly informed. It was a struggle to get a drink or waters filled. There was NO carving station and the turkey wasn't even fresh. They must have gone into their deli turkey roll up reserves. We were asked about what pie we wanted for dessert, conversation as follows...
Pumpkin
"We are out"
Pecan
"We are out"
Well, what do you have?
"Ummmm, let me check"
Complete rip off and a HUGE disappointment for our families; I was beyond embarrassed. We stopped for fast food on the way home. What a memorable thanksgiving....

Second try-
We tried everything to avoid eating here again but Wrightsville Beach on a Sunday is chaos Finding a place to park let alone a restaurant with seating for four is close to impossible. We put our name on the waiting list and stood at the bar to order some drinks. Our bartender was great and he mixed up some tasty Miami Vices for us! After about 35 mins I went to check with the hostess stand about our place in line. She informed me that my name was never on the list!!! (said with no remorse) What, what, whatttt?? Well, I knew service was terrible so I grabbed the manager that was there observing the girl who made the reservation when we walked in. Luckily she did not accuse us of not checking in and scampered away to get us a table. Food was fine, service was awful, we will not return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluewater Waterfront Grill also viewed

 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bluewater Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing