We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach deal we know!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best beach deal we know!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Blockade Runner is in a lovely setting that makes going to the beach a delight. We love that we have the choice of sand or a pool and having a bar right there is great. Drink prices are a bit high however. The rooms are oversized and the frig helps. We would like to see a microwave too. The rooms are showing some wear and tear and the bed killed our back. But again, it is all a great deal and people were nice.

Room Tip: Bay rooms and beach rooms are equally nice so it is ok to save some money and get the bay veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyJean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    590
    228
    93
    45
See reviews for
746
663
69
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

For us it is the most convenient and most pleasant place to be at the beach. Short drive from Durham. Very nice location between ocean and inlet. If you don't want a beach front room, you can still have a very pleasant view of water and boats ( just ignore the parking lot) . The decor is understated and tasteful. the staff helpful and friendly, the landscaping superb, the service at the beach is great, food ,chairs, umbrella, though pricey. Nice pool and pool bar with very friendly staff. The food is excellent. Good breakfast included in the price for the room. i don't quite understand how prices for rooms are calculated, they can fluctuate quite a bit. We got a very good e-rate for two nights and a higher rate for one (Monday night, not a weekend!) All in all, a great experience.

Room Tip: e-rate, AAA rate, AARP rate and then probably rates for business , conferences, conventions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltraudrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Had a wonderful time at the Blockade Runner. The food, facilities, and location were great. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed... in fact, it was more elegant than expected. The staff were polite and helpful. I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Wrightsville.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacieP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I have stayed at all-inclusive resorts around the Caribbean, but we have never brought our children. For our family vacation we stayed at Blockade Runner and found it to be similar in amenities to those luxury resorts. It was not perfect, but for the money, it was a great choice and evoked memories of resorts, rather than a simple hotel.

There were pretty detailed children's programs and also many complimentary activities. The beach was uncrowded and the grounds were immaculate. Drinks were a little pricey, but since it was a family trip, my drinking was minimal.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The grounds were beautiful! Beach access is so convenient. Umbrellas and chairs available to rent, just tell them your room number. My kids also loved the pool. The restaraunt on site is a bit pricey, but they have a GREAT FREE continental breakfast. The ocean view was also great! This was a nice place, but still felt family friendly. I don't ever want to stay at another beach hotel besides this one... I've been spoiled!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twilkins80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I just spent 5 days at the Blockade Runner. We were looking for a full service hotel at Wrightsville Beach and the Holiday Inn was sold out. The people were very friendly and the service was great. The hotel had undergone renovations and is nice...not over the top but decent. The elevators were extremely slow and the common hallways were not airconditioned..The breakfast in the morning was fair and we only ate there once. It is extremely well located and the beach is fantastic. Our overall impression is that we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhart606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

It looked a little outdated when we pulled up, but it was remodeled and nice on the inside. It was conveniently located just a few blocks away from most of the restaurants in Wrightsville Beach and just a few minute drive from Wilmington.

We didn't have an ocean view, but we did have a nice view of the intracoastal waterway. It was considerably cheaper for that room.

It had a nice fitness area and pool/patio area that we used frequently. The beach was also really nice. The hotel had various beach rentals, but it was pretty expensive so we bought most of our stuff in town.

The free breakfast every morning was awesome. It was a good way to start the day and the food wasn't just a lame continental breakfast. They had pancakes, french toast, breakfast burritos, eggs, and more.

Parking was fine during the day, but if you came back late (after 10) the lot was usually full and you'd have to use the valet.

Pretty much our only bad experience was when we tried to get dinner at the hotel restaurant and nobody seemed to be there to help us. It was only 8 o'clock and there was nobody eating and just a couple people standing around in the back of the room. It was strange.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blladnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing