We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and yet celebrating 50 years in '14” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New and yet celebrating 50 years in '14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I am overwhelmed at the beauty, continuity, additions, amenities and location maintained and with 50 years of history on this beautiful beach. Guests will be welcomed by a well-selected, trained staff, valet parking, new entrance built, and upgraded updated areas, rooms, and more. There now is a wonderful outdoor bar/lunch location, open all day into the evening as well, and the menus and food are of top level both inside the restaurant and outside. I feel the difference that change and experience has created, bringing together tradition that people want, with new and upgraded features such as the Spa, baths, pool, terraces, foe-mentioned valet parking, entrance, furniture everywhere is new, and I could go on forever. A boardwalk complete with showers for outdoor beach-goers to walk to reach the ocean-side area with beautiful, wide beaches, is within steps of the hotel back entrance/exit, and one can see the ocean and nearby W. B. life guard stand from the outdoor terrace. The gardens are outstanding and I dare say, the best designing and maintenance on the beach. The Blockade Runner has moved into the 21st century and with its' usual grace and charm maintained. I am impressed by the number of fund-raisers that they also host yearly, and it is truly due to the owners' compassion and love of the beach and its' organizations' causes, that drives these events, and the list continues. A hotel with a heartbeat, now that is rare! Check it out, and check-in, travelers, and I imagine few would have any concerns within their care.

Room Tip: Ask about the new portion, upgraded recently, as well as ocean-front higher above the pool for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    563
    217
    91
    45
See reviews for
713
646
64
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I want to thank the housekeeping crew who work hard with all of the sand that gets tracked into the hotel because it is on the beach. That alone, is a tough job. I would like to lift up Jessica and Ernesto who work on floor four for being welcoming and caring while working so hard in our rooms. Also, Griffin who was an attendant out in the beach area, I would like to thank for providing extra effort to help me while out on the beach. Also the lady who works with the events did a wonderful job (Allison?). There were many people there for the weekend, with all kinds of activities to plan and implement, and she did a great job.
Some concerns I have is that there are too many young adults working in every capacity, and sometimes they were not very welcoming or engaging. At one point, I walked by three valet attendants and I said hello to each one, but only one responded with a hello back to me. The breakfast could be updated or varied as well, especially for people staying a bit longer.
This hotel has a great location and a big expansive yard and beach area which makes it special. We love coming to visit North Carolina. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airplanetrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

funtime,quiet great breakfast, check in girl was not into her job,rest of staff great. the hotel as gone under renovations but strange decor. would go back anythime. the price seems rather high but then again it is on the beach

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had not been to the Blockade Runner in 30 years and was not sure what to expect. But my daughter was home from TX and wanted to stay on the beach for a few days.
The grounds were awesome.... great pool indoor/outdoor.... outdoor bar, service was good, and its on the beach! The rooms are a little dated, but this is an old place and much better than before the last re-do. We ate in the restaurant and had great service and food..... and even saw Will Ferrell.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better ocean/sound views. Recommend oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went to the Blockade Runner last-minute with a friend and our daughters. The hotel was right on the beach, which we loved. The pool and beach were both wonderful. The girls went back and forth all day - while the moms relaxed on the beach. The staff was helpful and professional and we enjoyed the poolside restaurants for lunch both days we were there. The rooms were fine, updated with a modern-beach feel, but a bit of "wear-and-tear" in places. Nevertheless this hotel was the perfect place - just 2 hours from home in Raleigh and an easy drive. Can't wait to go back! And - the online room rate was a steal!!!!

Room Tip: Book online for less expensive rates and deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aseidenfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I were looking to spend a long weekend at Wrightsville Beach. We chose the Blockade Runner due to its proximity to the beach. The location proved to be perfect. The grounds are beautiful, the resort is on both the beach and sound, and it is close to restaurants, shops, etc. The interior of the resort needs to be updated. The rooms are clean, but outdated in many ways. This is especially true given the expense ($350.00 per night) as compared to other resorts we have visited across the United States. Also, the cost of drinks and meals on-site needs to be more practical. A $13 hot dog or simple cocktail is simply gouging families.

Room Tip: Please request ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Right on the beach! Amazing ocean views... full breakfast included... pool-side Tiki hut serving drinks/food... surfing, kayaking, sunset cruises... grassy lawn for soccer, frisbee, etc....special evening events... close to Wilmington, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: There are two choices for rooms... ocean view and inter-coastal view. Both are wonderful but as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennyecrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
13.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Beach Resort

Property: Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Address: 275 Waynick Boulevard, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blockade Runner Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blockade Runner is uniquely located on Wrightsville Beach Island, North Carolina’s accessible outer-bank. On the east side, the resort fronts the Atlantic Ocean with a wide sandy beach while the west side fronts an Intracoastal Waterway harbor and anchorage. The resort offers the most complete water related activities possible. Our famous Blockade Runner full service breakfast is included for all guest including groups (not applicable to cottage groups). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blockade Runner Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Wrightsville Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing