We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family arrived at this hotel when Hurricane Arthur was predicted to hit this area in just a few hours (July 4th weekend). I'm not sure if the hotel was fully staffed at this point but they never missed a beat. The front desk staff was friendly and responsive to our requests, gave us point vouchers to the restaurant, the restaurant staff was attentive and on the ball and the food was very well prepared. I know the staff must have been concerned about their own families and property but they stayed focused on their jobs and made sure we were comfortable. My husband and children have already made a request to come back here.

You'll get a fantastic view of the beach and waterways in any of the rooms at this hotel.

We walked to the Johnny Mercer pier everyday from this hotel. From the pier, we walked down to the other restaurants. It's a hike from this hotel to other restaurants but what's a lazy summer day for if not to explore a little.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Much aloha islandgirl1965! Even hurricane Arthur can't stop us - we continue to serve our guests and make sure everyone's enjoying their stay with us. Walks on the beach are just perfect on lazy summer days. Give us a call to make your reservations for your return trip :o) Aloha! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    205
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
233
197
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our 2nd time staying at Holiday Inn, Wrightsville. When making the reservation I requested the same ocean view room we had last year and it was perfect! I called the hotel to make sure our room was ready and spoke with Brenda. Brenda assured me the room was ready and it was. They honored our request for the number and Brenda also checked us in. The room was clean as was the entire hotel. The pools (both inside and out) were warm and the beach was clean. We enjoy the food at the restaurant and kids eat free which is really nice. They also have a nice kids club and activities, a small arcade and gift/food shop with reasonable prices.
I cannot wait to come back again next year and a Big Thanks to Brenda for a wonderful customer service experience from beginning to end!

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccarose76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Wow! Thanks rebeccarose76 for the kudos! I will pass on your comments to Brenda. We do try our best to honor our guest's request - so glad we were able to get you your favorite room :o) We can't wait to see you again too! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This is our tenth year visiting this hotel and we absolutely love it! Perfect for families and couples. Caring and helpful staff, great food, comfortable rooms. Just make sure you get a room with a balcony. They don't all come with it, which I realized this trip. They kindly found an ocean front balcony room for us quickly!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Ten years Donna W! Thank you for staying with us over the years. Yes, we do have rooms on our Harbor/Bay side with windows but no balconies. Please call me when reserving your next getaway and I will make sure to get you an Oceanfront room. We look forward to your return :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From my childhood I remember Holiday Inn as a kind of throw-away hotel that you'd find on the side of the road at the end of a long day in the back seat of a car. Nice enough, but mostly just a bed and maybe a pool.

Happily, times have changed.

This Holiday Inn has very comfortable rooms. Mine had a balcony and a great view from the 7th floor (looking at it from the exterior, most rooms seemed to be similarly situated). I only had a sandwich from the restaurant, but was pleased with the food and the service in the bar. Every SINGLE employee I met was on the top of their game -- friendly, helpful, and going above and beyond to make me feel welcomed. The gym is so-so, but there are lots of other ways to get your exercise, including a run on the beach, which is only steps away.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators ... my mistake to skip this step.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Welcome Chris S! Holiday Inns have come a long way since Kemmons Wilson started them in the '50s. Thank you for choosing us and for recognizing our friendly, welcoming staff. We do have a great fitness center, and yes, take advantage of the fresh air and ocean breezes and go for a run/walk on the beach-it's refreshing! Definitely give our Reservations Dept a call when making your return trip-we'll request a room away from the elevator. We look forward to seeing you again :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is one of my favorite places to stay! The rooms are lovely, staff is so helpful and friendly and right on the ocean! Breakfast buffet is wonderful too. I look forward to coming back for a relaxing, quality stay!!!

Room Tip: Higher level has better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We miss you already Dee S! Our staff thanks you for staying with us again and again. We're so glad you were able to relax and enjoy the ocean views. See you again next year :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pulled into Wrightsville Beach on June 29th with no reservations and the staff, from the guys in the parking lot to the desk clerk were very helpful, got us a room, and from that moment on for the next two days my wife and I could not believe how perfect everything was. The entire staff that we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. The property was clean and beautiful as was the beach, the room, etc. The shuttle into town was so convenient and the driver helped us find a restaurant that was perfect. We spent five weeks in North Carolina, and by far, the time we spent here was the highlight of the whole trip. What a difference people make at a resort ! The staff impressed us so much, and special mention must go to the quality of food at the restaurant. Our last night we decided to dine at the hotel and its was perfect, with the view of the beach... the rocking chairs outside the restaurant and a glass of wine... what could be better ? My steak was perfect as was the total experience there. Somebody told me one time you can't give five star unless they have valet parking. Well, to that I say, if you can earn 10 stars, this place has done it for me. You don't need valet parking, since they have a parking garage right outside the lobby ! From now on, this will be our place to stay at Wrightsville Beach. We love it.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview, but the view of the waterway was beautiful as well !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, arochelle@wrightsville.holidayinnresorts.com at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Awesome-tastic BRIAN H! We are so glad we were able to accomodate you and make your time with us a wonderful surprise. Thanks to our skilled kitchen staff for the delicious dishes they create and to our Bellman for the local recommendations & friendly service. Again, we thank you for choosing us and recognizing ALL of our staff and our "10 Stars" resort. We await your return :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel on the beach! Beautiful View of the ocean and the Greenville Sound from our balcony. Everyone was very nice. Service was great. The Pool was right on the beach. Loved the lounge chairs that was on the pool deck that viewed the beach. Free parking with your stay. Cafe/Tiki bar for the pool area. Live music on Friday nights. I travel a lot and usually stay at Hiltons and Marriotts, but I would come back here. My only complaint would be that our room was a little humid. You can eat breakfast at the hotel, sitting outside over looking the ocean. The service was a little slow. Go to breakfast at Causeways Cafe, its about 1.5 miles from this hotel. There are some bars up the road, but best to just get a cab b/c they're about 2 miles away.

Room Tip: You can fit 5 people in the room that is King bed with pull out sofa and 1 roll away bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Rockin' review Crystal4321! The creek and bay views from the Soundside rooms are beautiful - lush green marshes and blue waters. And you can't beat the sunset views on that side either! Yes, we have you covered...live music Fri-Sat nights, Oceans Restaurant on site and our complimentary shuttle that can take you to nearby activities, dining and shopping. Thank you for staying with us and we await your return :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing