We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stay every year for a conference. Concierge gave us a great tip on a hidden gem golf course, magnolia greens. Was nice enough to ask if we were looking for a good value or a high priced course. We chose the value and it was great. Front desk goes out of there way to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are fine and in line with all hotels but the attitude and service makes it a 5 star. They have a movie night that my kids enjoyed from the balcony. Breakfast is not included but reasonably priced and great. Nice, safe and a great beach stay with a great staff. Gym , bar, arcade and free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Wow! Thanks so much ken c for the 5 star review! Our Guest Activities and Front Desk staff are awesome and do try to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing y'all again soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    204
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
230
195
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a good property with helpful staff and very good service. The rooms are nice and quiet, many with great views of the ocean. Even with a connecting door, we had no problem with noise. The elevators are painfully slow, so using the stairs is often a good plan if you just want to go a floor or two. Parking is free, with outdoor and covered availability on most days. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, which helps keep the cost down for lunches, etc. Overall, the rooms are adequate ansd the location very good. On the other hand, you pay a pretty penny for the convenience and location, so be prepared.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and ice machines, and you can get a good night's sleep. It's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you travelguyPa! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait for you next visit. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Best choice of our vacation! Oceanfront! Hotel and beach are non-smoking!

We had been here previously in February 2009 and had a view of both the ocean and the sound. It is much nicer in August! Our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived so we left our bags with the bellman and sat on the pool deck while we waited. Perfect way to wait for our room! We spoke to the concierge, Danny, and were very pleased with the suggestions he made for places to go to dinner in town.

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are open and airy! We had a whirlpool suite with handicap access and two queen beds (that was the only room available) as we made last minute reservations. I thought the bed linens were quite nice. I have to say the towels could definitely be improved. The balcony was wonderful, air conditioning was great, furnishings were comfortable, lighting and outlets were great! The parking garage was big and pretty well lit. They also offered outside parking as well.

The pool and beach were clean and easily accessed from the hotel. They have an indoor pool as well as the outdoor one.

Everyone that we interacted with at the hotel were wonderful. The employees were great and it was wonderful to meet so many other guests who were so nice and pleasant as well.

As the beach in Wrightsville is a non-smoking beach it was wonderful not to have to be concerned about second-hand smoke. The entire resort is non-smoking including the exterior areas. No smoking allowed on the balconies either. After a disappointing stay in Myrtle Beach this was such a refreshing experience!

Room Tip: Oceanfront! It's worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We've been wondering where you've been Queen_412! We are so glad you came back to visit us. We do try to honor early check-in requests, but if you have to wait, I guess it's good to have a great lounge chair and an ocean breeze right? Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We can't wait for y'all to return soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel the first week in August. This was our 10th year in a row that we have stayed there. As always, the hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were clean. Many staff members have been there several years. Chris at the Lazy Daze took great care of us. The pools were very clean and the kids loved the Dive In Movie. We used the shuttle service to go to dinner several nights. Drivers were friendly and on time. Please thank Anne Marie for making this a special trip for us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank YOU Lisa M for your loyalty! Wow! Ten years and counting. We are happy to always meet and exceed our guest's expectations. Thank you for acknowledging one of our magnificent Mixologists, Chris. He has been with us since day one and takes great care of our guests! How convenient is our complimentary shuttle service? You get friendly service and a free ride to local businesses. Anne Marie thanks you for your comments and is excited that you enjoyed your special trip with us :o) We hope to see y'all again soon! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Loved this hotel and probably deserves 5 stars. My only complaint is I found the rooms to be pretty small for my family of 4. Tried to upgrade to a suit or get an adjoining room but none were available. Staff was very friendly, especially Ian, one of the bell men, and Katie at the front desk. I was concerned that the pool was too small by looking at photos online but I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the pool and pool deck. Easy walk to awesome beach. Will definitely be back but will book a suit or her two adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms are small so try to book a suit or get two adjoining rooms if you have 4 or more in your group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katynspinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Yes Katynspinny, definitely give us a call when you're ready to return and we'll make sure we can find your perfect accommodations. Thank you for recognizing some of our friendly staff, Ian and Katie-they are awesome and always at our guest's beck and call. We look forward to your return soon :o) Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've stayed here perhaps a dozen times over the years and will most likely stay again.
Why? It's the only game in town.

I'm giving it a harsh rating for the first time because at almost $400/night I expect so much more.
Disappointments:
Horrible room service coffee (worse than the mediocre coffee packs in the room!)
Poor bed linens -at these prices should be Frette. Instead, scratchy and poor quality. Mattress was acceptable.
Thin, worn out beach/pool towels- so thin they wouldn't even make suitable rags.
Worn out beach recliners that you pay extra for.

Suggestions for the management:
In high season when you are charging exorbitant rates offer your guests a choice of newspapers to be delivered to the door each morning. Or at least provide a basic newspaper.

Deliver high quality, fresh, free coffee to the room each morning (as the Omni does- guests hang tag outside at night with delivery slot in 15 min increments).
Have a high quality coffee dispenser with Starbucks Coffee packs in the room (like Westin).

Replace your bedding with Westin equivalent Heavenly Bed with Heavenly linens.

You are charging rates beyond what one typically pays at 4 or 5 star hotels such as the Westin or Omni in major US cities but the amenities and overall quality are those of a $100/night 3 star hotel - an older 3 star property in need of a major overhaul.

Staff as usual is friendly and helpful. The grounds maintenance was good.

If the management responds to this posting, please address my specific coffee, towels, bed linens, newspaper and beach recliner suggestions rather than a generic response.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We thank you for choosing us anonj! We appreciate your patronage over the years and your opinions. Our Serta Perfect Sleepers with pillowtop mattresses, linens and Rainforest Alliance Certified/Royal Cup Coffee are Intercontinental Hotels Group standards. We replace our beach chairs & linens on a regular basis when needed. USA Today papers are delivered to each guest's door Mondays-Fridays and our Trolley Shoppe sells additional newspapers. We have NEW pool towels on the way soon! Again, we thank you for staying with us and we are sorry we failed you this trip. Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family arrived at this hotel when Hurricane Arthur was predicted to hit this area in just a few hours (July 4th weekend). I'm not sure if the hotel was fully staffed at this point but they never missed a beat. The front desk staff was friendly and responsive to our requests, gave us point vouchers to the restaurant, the restaurant staff was attentive and on the ball and the food was very well prepared. I know the staff must have been concerned about their own families and property but they stayed focused on their jobs and made sure we were comfortable. My husband and children have already made a request to come back here.

You'll get a fantastic view of the beach and waterways in any of the rooms at this hotel.

We walked to the Johnny Mercer pier everyday from this hotel. From the pier, we walked down to the other restaurants. It's a hike from this hotel to other restaurants but what's a lazy summer day for if not to explore a little.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaRochelle, 910-256-2231 at Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Much aloha islandgirl1965! Even hurricane Arthur can't stop us - we continue to serve our guests and make sure everyone's enjoying their stay with us. Walks on the beach are just perfect on lazy summer days. Give us a call to make your reservations for your return trip :o) Aloha! Sincerely, Amanda Rochelle, Reservations Dept Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
14.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Address: 1706 N Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-2646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Wrightsville Beach, NC hotel. This beautiful oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, low key family fun, water sports and just plain relaxation. The Holiday Inn Resort, formerly known as the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort, has all the comforts of home with fabulous views of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Concierge will schedule your massage or you can relax in the indoor and outdoor pools. This NC oceanfront hotel has something for all ages including a kids activity center (equipped with interactive gaming system), whirlpools, playground, bike rentals, and much more. Everything you need for your vacation in all within your reach. This NC Coastal hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch wide flat panel screen TVs in all guestrooms, full service restaurant/lounge and room service. The resort is conveniently located near shops, dinning, Historic Downtown Wilmington, and the Wilmington New Hanover International Airport (ILM). Complimentary shuttle service is offered to many locations. Although the resort is not pet-friendly, we can recommend nearby kennels. Service animals welcome. The Holiday Inn Resort is within a short drive to Quintiles, Coldwell Banker Seacoast Realty, Mayfaire Town Center, Verizon, PPD, Autumn Hall, Wieland, General Electric, UNCW and Corning. Located at latitude 34.2198, Longitude 77.7862. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Wrightsville Beach
Wrightsville Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing