We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I feel as if the staff with the exception of the night barmaid others made us feel as if we were a bother to them. Stayed four nights one late afternnon around 4pm had to call desk to ask for room service. Room was generally not cleaned very well as I have experienced in other properties. Can't believe that you can't even get a free cup of coffee considering what we paid each night to stay there. Staff didnt go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Food on the expensive side and wasn't anything to brag about...food not very good. The wireless network kept going out at night and not restored until morning extremely annoying. Would not ever go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Nance W.

We appreciate you staying with us. I am happy that the nighttime bartender was able to accommodate you and I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. If you find yourself back in the Wrightsville Beach area, please give me a call at 910-256-8696 and I will be sure that your visit will exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    275
    135
    84
    52
See reviews for
388
244
28
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We chose this condo hotel for its location and were not disappointed. With a view of the ocean and beautiful wide beach from our balcony and a stunning salt marsh across the street, it was an idyllic setting, especially for the nature lovers that we are. Shell Island Resort is at the far north end of the island, close to the inlet, where we often walked to look for shorebirds. These one-bedroom units are individually owned, so I assume furnishings vary in quality and style, but ours was quite nicely done. The kitchenette provided all we needed for eating a leisurely breakfast while watching the sun rise. Everything met or exceeded our expectations, except that the carpeted, open exterior hallways were never vacuumed during out 3-day stay. Staff seemed very good, so we probably should have brought it to someone's attention. The lobby was spotless and quite lovely. Tap water had a most unappealing taste and odor, so it would have been nice to have provided a complimentary bottle of drinking water on arrival, rather than charging for it. Despite the minor quibbles, this is a great place to stay on beautiful Wrightsville Beach.

Room Tip: All ocean front, so good view from all rooms. Smallish, but adequate balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear PaulaAlexandria_VA

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you were able to explore the area and relax during your visit. There is an abundance of things to do from nature walks in the marsh to kayaking the Intercoastal Waterway. We agree that the views of the Atlantic Ocean are stunning from the balconies of the rooms and that we have the best location on the island! The next time you find yourself in need of a beach vacation, please think of Shell Island and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful accomodations, great food and the staff was very nice! This was our first time staying in Wrightsville Beach. Beautiful, clean beach, our room had an ocean view. We had such a fun, relaxing time and will most certainly come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RN-from-NC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear RN-from-NC2013,

Thank you for your business! We are glad that your family enjoyed staying here at Shell Island Resort. I couldn’t agree more that we have the quietest, most beautiful stretch of beach on the island and that the views of the Atlantic are terrific from the guest room balconies. We look forward to seeing you again at Shell Island and Wrightsville Beach the next time you visit!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The best thing about this hotel isn't really what's inside it. It's pretty standard fare, nice tile, great people willing to help you, and clean rooms are all expected and given. The thing that makes this place stand out, however, is that the resort itself is set on the tip of the Wrightsville Beach inlet, away from everyone else (aside your fellow guests at the resort). You have immediate beach access, and don't even have to worry about having to bowl people over to get an open spot on the sand. It's almost like having your own semi-private beach, and it's surprisingly worth while to invest into.

Inside the hotel is rather nice, the tile job that has been done is good and they do their best to keep the interior clean, though with the adjoining pool and constant tracking in sand I can imagine it's hard to keep up. The rooms themselves are great, decked out with everything you would need for an extended stay, plus a guarantee that whatever room you do end up in you will have an ocean view. One of my favorite takeaways from my stay here was simply just being able to brew a cup of coffee, walk onto the balcony and take in the waves for an hour every morning. Will be a regular visitor of this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view! I prefer the higher floors, get to see a wonderful sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Neil P,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We agree that Shell Island Resort is an oasis on the end of Wrightsville Beach with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balconies of the rooms. We are pleased that the staff was friendly as guest service is our number one priority. Please think of us again the next time you visit Wrightsville Beach for a vacation!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Shell Island Resort is truely lovely. The staff is well trainded and extremely polite. Each morning we enjoyed a beaurtiful sunrise from our balcony. Soon after, went on an adventure to explore the area including historic Wilimington. Returning in the afternoon, housekeeping did a great job straightening the room, making the bed and supplying fresh towels. The grounds are so pretty, very well maintained. Our beach walks down to the bird sanctuary were just awesome. We would recommend Shell Island Resort to anyone looking for a combination of peace and quiet, privacy and just an overall great experience.

Room Tip: Room 416 was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sandy M,

We appreciate your comments and are happy you were able to enjoy your visit with us. The sunrises are beautiful from each balcony of the rooms and the sunsets over the marsh behind are equally delightful. Our guests love that our resort is secluded enough to be able to feel like you are a world away but close enough to drive to Historic Downtown Wilmington. As guest service is our top priority I am pleased that the housekeeping staff was able to take care of you. Please think of us again when you are in the Wrightsville Beach area!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colora, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have visited Wrightsville Beach before and really liked the area. We decided to vacation there again and used Expedia to find accomodations. We discovered Shell Island Resort. The room far exceeded our expectations, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It was quiet with great views of the ocean. the outdoor pool was well maintained and clean; but, it could have been warmer. our biggest disappointment was the restaurant. We would not go there again. Our meals were substandard. The restaurant is nicely furnished and the staff friendly but the food was not good. There are plenty of places to eat in Wrightsville;but its too bad Shell Island restaurant cannot be recommended by us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Betsy H,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We agree that the views are spectacular from the balconies of every room and are very happy that your room exceeded your expectations. We also love that our staff took great care of you as guest service is out top priority at the resort. I apologize that the food in the restaurant was not up to your standards. Please call me at 910-256-8696 so that I can discuss which entrees you ordered. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Wrightsville Beach!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I’m pretty partial to Wrightsville because I went to UNCW nearby but this is my favorite beach in NC and favorite place to stay when I come back! This hotel is a typical beach hotel – it’s what’s outside that counts because beach goers are typically spending all their time at the beach, not in their rooms… The rooms are a little run down but the views (all rooms offer ocean front balconies) cannot be beat on this island! Because the hotel is at the north side of the island, it offers a nice, quiet, family beach experience. Pool towels and multiple showers/hoses are offered if going in between the beach and pool.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view. Also not room related but you will probably need a car while s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenCityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear QueenCityTravels,

We are honored to be your favorite spot on the beach. Thank you for your loyalty to Shell Island. We agree that the views from the resort are marvelous and are second to none. One can truly feel like they are a world away here on our beach. The rooms will also be part of a major renovation project during the offseason. We will see you the next time you are in the Wrightsville Beach area!

Sincerely,
Kevin C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing