We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and friendy staff!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I just returned from a large conference that included hotel stay, meeting rooms, meals and vendors interaction. I must say as president of this organization stress for me was at a high level. I quickly realized that one of the staff members George stayed two steps ahead of me, he had everything that we ask for ahead of time plus things we didn't think of. All the staff acted like they were glad to be there always smiling and kind. Thanks a bunch to all the folks at Shell Island for making this conference a great one! In our business meeting we unanimously voted to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Tim S.

We appreciate your organization staying with us and are pleased that everything went well. George is the best at what he does and he has been giving great guest service for seven years with us. We are truly happy to have him on our team. I also pleased that the hotel staff was good to you as we pride ourselves on our guest service. Please think of us again the next time the beach beckons and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about Shell Island, Meredith, George, and the entire staff. So helpful, accommodating, easy to work with, great vendor lists to help with music, flowers, etc. The oceanfront setting was perfect for our wedding, the food was delicious, and every request was met with quick response. Our guests were very pleased with the oceanfront accommodations also - some had never been to Shell Island and immediately understood why we love the place.

Room Tip: All are suites with one bedroom (two beds or a king), living/dining/kitchen (well equipped), ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear L Y,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are happy that you could spend that special day at our resort. Meredith and George have had a passion for helping guests for many years and their efforts shine through their work. I am pleased that they were able to take care of your party. Shell Island has a great location at the north end of the island and we invite your family to come back again and enjoy the beautiful views the next time that you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Simmone H. @ priceline.com was a great help in finding this quality hotel at a fair price. Once booked, I got the dreaded phone call they have overbooked the standard room. Iverson at the other end of the phone call came through for us and Chris the night manager ok'd an upgraded room for the same price. Thank You all.
From check in to departure was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Sure it's dated like other reviewers has mentioned, but put that aside and enjoy the ride.
We had 2 trips to The Oceanic restaurant we like the atmosphere so much, and one stop at the Shucker's restaurant. Both highly recommended.
The pool is nice to relax outside, and every room has that view, and that sound..the ocean!!
We had one nice buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was yummy. Great coffee. Really nice staff. After that, a walk on that clean spacious beach.
Everything, and I mean everything needed was in our room. I would've stayed a week if I could, but just timed it right with the weather. Starting to get cool now. Love these October deals at the coast.
We'll be back and recommend the Shell Island Resort Hotel in Wrightsville beach to everyone.

Room Tip: Get room on the 8th or 9th floor towards the stairs. Perfect and quiet. Forget the hotel restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear John K,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. As you are aware, Shell Island Resort has the best location on Wrightsville beach with beautiful Atlantic Ocean views from the balconies of the rooms. I am pleased that the breakfast buffet was delicious and that the hotel staff took good care of you. We pride ourselves on our guest service! We have more great deals coming up this offseason so please think of us again when you are in the Wrightsville Beach area. We look forward to seeing your family again!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have been coming to Shell Island Resort for our Fall Conference for many years. George has been in charge of set up for our conference room for several years. W are always impressed with his level of service. He is always friendly, accommodating and quick to attend to any last minute needs we may have. I always look forward to seeing George every year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 847MPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear 874MPorter,

It was a pleasure to have your organization here at Shell Island Resort. We agree that George is one of the best. His passion, energy and commitment to our guests show in the way of his providing the highest level of service. Please think of us again, not only for business, but when a beach vacation calls you away from home!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Shell Island Resort was a wonderful venue to hold our conference! Meredith was extremely accomodating with our requests and George was fantastic with the room set up, the opening/closing of the room divider and the multiple food servings throughout the day. The resort was beautiful, the rooms were nice/clean and the organization/flow was impeccable. I would highly recommend this venue for a conference/trade show!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juli_flasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear juli_flasker,

We appreciate your group staying with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your visit at Shell Island Resort. Our facility has the best conference rooms on Wrightsville Beach (ocean views included) and we agree that George and Meredith are outstanding in what they do. Please think of us again the next time you are in the area, be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had an excellent stay here. The resort grounds are fantastic and the beach is beautiful and serene. The staff was extremely friendly and the rental bikes were great -- all you need to get around Wrightsville beach. Love that ALL the rooms have ocean views and balconies facing the ocean. No paying a bunch more if you want an "ocean view". Each room is basically a small 1 bedroom condo with everything you could want. Some are more renovated than others, apparently, but the one we got had excellent new beds, TVs, etc. Nice little bar and restaurant, plus a small pantry store where you could pick up little things you might need like toiletries, drinks for your room, etc. Nothing over-the-top fancy resort wise but pristine and just the right speed for a stay at Wrightsville Beach.

From now on, this will be the only place we stay in Wilmington. We liked it that much.

Room Tip: If they are not full, ask if you can see the room you are going to get (or a couple of options). Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atxflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear atxflyer,

Thank you for your business. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We could not agree more that we have one of the best beach views on Wrightsville Beach from the room balconies. As guest service is our top priority here at Shell Island Resort, I am pleased that the staff was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to your next stay and we are honored to be your hotel of choice on the beach.

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

All of our expectations were met and exceeded! Our suite was perfect as was our amazing view from our balcony. All accommodations were clean, comfortable, and convenient! The beach was large, soft, and not crowded. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had everything we needed and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinC485, General Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear drtimc,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us here at Shell Island and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We agree that the views of the Atlantic Ocean are spectacular from the rooms. Since we pride ourselves on our guest service, so I am also pleased that the staff was friendly and helpful and were able to attend to your needs. We look forward to your next getaway here at Shell Island Resort and Wrightsville Beach!

Sincerely,
Kevin C.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: £97 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing