We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service and Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Conover, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Service and Accomodations”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The service was great from beginning to end. The room was very clean and had everything we needed to enjoy a comfortable stay for the weekend. The tiki bar was really nice and the bartender was excellent. Wonderful view and easy access to the beach! We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robncheri91109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    287
    138
    87
    54
See reviews for
410
251
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was our first time at this resort, though we'd been to Wrightsville many times. The building and facilities are a bit dated, and the room was a bit steep, even for a holiday weekend, but that didn't take away from our enjoyment. The beach itself is VERY wide (distance from hotel to water), so there's plenty of space, unlike some of the hotels further south in Wrightsville proper. Breakfast buffet was reasonable and well-appointed. The only downside, and it's significant, is the beds aren't even queen size--they're doubles. It was pretty tight for our family of four (I'm 6'3"), and we didn't sleep all that well. I can see why they can't upsize the beds; the rooms themselves couldn't accommodate them. Unless they're prepared to start knocking down walls and reapportioning rooms, this is the way it's going to stay. Just know that going in, and you should have a very nice stay.

Room Tip: They're all ocean-facing, so you can't go wrong there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cokead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Shell Island Resort is always a great place for my family and I to spend a couple of relaxing days on the beach. The view from our rooms was fantastic! We had been in touch with Sasha with Guest Relations who coordinated our "all-inclusive" stay and even gave the kids snacks for the ride home! Great family vacation, fabulous memories and we cannot wait to do it again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I were visiting Wilmington and decided to go to Shell Island for a tour as we are considering it for our daughter’s wedding. We were greeted by Sasha and she was extremely enthusiastic and helpful in answering all our questions plus gave us lots of great tips. She makes us feel in good hands, relieving us of a lot of pre-planning stress. We even got offered a free pinacolada by Cindy while we were waiting in the restaurant! We are now so excited and looking forward to celebrating our daughter’s special day at beautiful Shell Island!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachandSandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at Shell Island for a weekend during the summer. The location on the beach was very private and the views were stunning. It has a tiki bar by the pool with music every night that we were there. The staff was amazing from check in to service at the pool and in the restaurant. We were served frozen grapes and virgin pina coladas from the staff at the pool which was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was delicious with lots of variety. The only negative is that the resort is pretty run down. It definitely needs some updating and one of the elevators was not working while we were there, but it was easily overlooked because of the great service, good food and beautiful beach views....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkles0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Shell Island Resort for 3 days last week and loved it. We had a beautiful studio. Nice amenities. The pool was very nice with a Tiki Bar for food and drink while sun bathing. Easy beach access. The Island End Restaurant was very good as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragonfly821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh,NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a solid 3-star imho, but not sure why it is considered a 3 1/2. It is a motel in that rooms are accessed via outside, rather than a hotel.

Check-in and Check-out was not bad, but it felt like they were having computer problems or something. Seemed to be struggling (yet kudos for still smiling). Public areas were not particularly enticing in that the floor was very wet in the lobby (yes, I know it's a beach, but it was a pretty big puddle that we had to stand in to check-in). Everything had a bit of a grundgy look about it (elevator, hallways, lobby)...UNTIL we got into our room. (and that really is the important part).

Our room on the 4th floor was like a little apartment. King size bed (quite comfortable) in the bedroom. TWO bathrooms...one with a tub/shower and one without. Duo creature comforts. :)
Also had a nice living room with a fully-equipped kitchen. Plus a gorgeous view! We were only doing one night here though, so didn't get to utilize much of anything.

For what we paid (over $200) for one night I guess I expected more of a plush resort feel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing