We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place for families with breathtaking views of the ocean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a great place for families with breathtaking views of the ocean!”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed at Shell Island Oceanfront Suites with our two young children. They loved the glass elevator, the pools and playing at the beach. The staff was courteous, the hotel itself was impeccably kept and the rooms were big enough for a family of four to enjoy the comforts of home while away on vacation!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momoftwoboysnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    287
    138
    87
    54
See reviews for
410
251
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This was an excellent hotel. I enjoyed being right at the beach and being able to look straight out to the Atlantic Ocean every morning

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrygberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix ,AZ
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I ttok my daughter who is stationed at Ft.Bragg, Nc to spend some time with us and her little sister . We didn't want to leave we had no cares in the world the bellhops Darren and Matt were wonderful in directing my husband to the local fish markets since we're from Phoenix,AZ The housekeeping staff was so atttentive ensuring we had enough towels for our stay. I still dream of being there ! Thank You for such a great stay I will definitely be back i already miss you all !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

End of beach location was great. Not very crowded and could take a long walk along the beach around the north end. We watched the sunrise from our balcony. (8th floor) Very comfortable bed and the 1 1/2 baths were very convenient. Our freezer didn't work and would have been a bigger problem if we'd been there longer and brought frozen foods. Bring your own water or flavor packets to cut the metallic taste of the island water. Great to have the nice hotel pool (indoor and outdoor) as an option in addition to the short walk to the ocean. We could easily hear noises outside our door, but luckily we didn't have rowdy neighbors. Roomy enough for the 2 of us, but would get crowded with 4 or more adults. Take your own beach chairs/chaise lounge. We rented chairs through the hotel, but they didn't recline flat so we ended up on a towel in the sand when we flipped over. Take warm clothing to walk the beach early or late in the day - at least in April.
(Note: This was our first trip to Wrightsville Beach, so we don't have anything local to compare our experience.)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east bernstadt ky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

best stay on wrightsville beach! frendly staff! great on site restrant! this is one of the best stay on the east coast!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbklll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The weather was wonderful for the 3 days we spent at Shell Island Resort. The staff at the front desk and the restaurant was very friendly and helpful. I had requested a room on the high floor and away from the elevator and that was exactly what we got. The view from the balcony was great. The suite was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The beach is wide and un-crowded since it is the last resort on Wrightsville Beach.

A larger fitness center would be really nice. Also, bring your own water!

Overall, had a wonderful and relaxing time!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nv_beachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Every room has a great view of the beach..Nice balcony, nice rooms with lots of space and 1.5 bathrooms. Save money and bring food to cook in kitchenette. Bistro is ok. Ample parking. Walk right out of hotel onto the beach!! Definetly recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley298710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
16.4 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing