We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Unsanitary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Overpriced and Unsanitary”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

When we first walked into Shell Island it looked like a typical, low-scale beach resort, but once you walked into the rooms you were able to tell that it wasn't. For a few hundred dollars a night I would expect to have a nicer room, as well as a larger room. It was only myself and my husband in my room and it felt like I was dodging him ever time we both stood up to move.

The worst part was that the rooms weren't clean. There were stains on the sheets that you could they tried to bleach out, and on one of our toilets there was what I can only describe as bloody fecal matter. I spoke to the person at the front desk and they assured me that they would have it cleaned up immediatly, and were very appolegetic. My husband and I went to dinner and came back and it was still there, only moved around a bit.

Eventially we had to switch rooms. The front desk attendents were quick and helpful and had us into a new room very quickly. My husband and I decided to go out that nigh instead of staying at the hotel bar. The next morning we went to find that the breakfast that we had thought was free was twelve dollars for a very low quality meal. However the breakfast servers were very helpful. We ordered room service later, just coffee, and it was incredibly over priced.

The person on the phone who also brought us our food, May, was very polite and explained that there was a room service fee before bringing up our coffee, but I never thought the room service fee would be more than the coffee itslef. Even though she offered to speak to her manager and have the fee removed by that point in time I was so upset that I paid it and spoke to my husband about leaving.

Overall I would not recomend this hotel to anyone. Even though the staff was polite and went out of their way to help us, there is only so much you can handle when it comes to a dirty and over-priced room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSloater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    290
    139
    88
    55
See reviews for
419
253
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We paid $229 a night which I thought was stretching it. I have stayed at 4 star resorts for cheaper than that, and maybe I am just spoiled, but I did not think that this rate was worth it to stay at the Shell Island Resort. I will say that the pool and beach staff were amazing and made our stay quite pleasant. However, the rooms reminded me of something a bunch of 18 year olds would pitch in together on for a spring break on the cheap. They were roomy and had great ocean views, but I felt the rooms were outdated and straight out of 1980's Panama City. Also, we ordered toast the first morning from room service - big mistake. While the coffee was good, the toast came from a loaf of bread that was probably two weeks old. It was truly inedible. I think that if I had paid less, then I might not be as dissatisfied with the resort. It wasn't an overall BAD place to stay but if I were to do it again, I would rent a house. Wrightsville is a very nice beach and the good thing about the resort is that the beach is semi private and quiet. It was also pretty family friendly. I would consider this a hotel, not a resort. On a positive note, the location is fantastic and check in and check out were very quick and pleasant. Room service was prompt as was the maid services.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauracallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Wow---we got the manager's special for last minute booking and I am so very thankful.
If we had paid full price in season approximately $400 per night, I would be very unhappy. Perhaps we were treated as second class citizens because we were getting the manager's special but really I doubt it. The staff particularly Nick at the front desk was very rude on two separate occassions--we gave him the benefit of the doubt the first time but he was equally as rude the next day.
While this place is in a lovely location and perhaps is one of the finer hotel destinations in Wrightsville, it is not a pleasant experience mainly because of the attitudes of the staff. The manager's special at over $200 for the evening was not bargain considering the lack of regard for the customer. I found it odd that the chairs and umbrellas were for rental only--not exactly what I expect at a 3 1/2 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwotheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNCWALUM, Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
I am very sorry to hear of your experience with our staff. We try to treat all of our guests in the same manner, and that is with respect and kindness. Thank you for letting us know about this isolated incident as your comments are valuable tools for us to continue to improve our customer service. Again I am very sorry for your experience and I hope you will give us another try when visiting Wrightsville Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at "Shell Island" in March and had a wonderful time. The location of the Shell Island is great. Its located at the very tip of the Wrightsville Beach and is a little more private. We stayed during off-season for a little get-away and still found plenty to do in the Wilmington area. Downtown Wilmington has a charming "riverwalk" area with a variety of shops and some nice seafood restaurants. And don't forget to stop at "Kilwin's" for some great ice cream, fudge, taffy..The inlet area before you cross over into Wrightsville beach has a couple good seafood restaurants as well! One of the great things about Shell Island is the kitchenette, complete with fridge, micro, oven, sink, coffemaker...One of the interesting things about Wilmington is that they film the show "One Tree Hill," all over the area and there is also a studio lot that is open for tours of the sets, and details of filming the show. Here is the website for that info: http://www.screengemsstudios.com/nc/tours.html From May-September, tours are 12-2pm on Saturday and Sunday and you must arrive 15 minutes early. It was interesting to see how a TV show was filmed. Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Visited Shell Island for two nights over the Memorial Day weekend. Great room with beautiful view and plenty of space. It was cloudy on Saturday but we still lounged by the pool and enjoyed the cocktail service provided by the friendly pool staff. The beach at the end of the island was quiet and great for long walks. If you're looking for an inexpensive escape to a beautiful, semi-secluded beach area then Shell Island is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2010

At the beginning of the month my husband and I had a few days off and decided to take a spontaneous trip to the beach with our 4 young children. From the moment you pull up, you can see how beautiful this hotel is. The room was beautiful and just the right size with amazing views of the ocean. What really set our trip off was our experience at the North End Bistro which is the restaurant in the hotel. As soon as we walked in with my husband and 4 kids, we were greeted by Dani. Luckily we had her as a waitress as well. Dani went far above what she was supposed to do to assure a great experience. The next morning we went down for breakfast and we were greeted by that same smiling face. My kids were also so excited to see Dani and show her the frisbees she gave them. Thank you again so much Dani and the rest of the staff. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butaflycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I visited Wilmington on the weekend of May 1st to pack up my daughter from UNCW and head home to Virginia. On Saturday evening we were visiting Wrightsville Beach and stopped into the Shell Island Resort for dinner. The hotel is beautiful and we were greeted warmly by the Front Desk staff when we walked in. The restaurant was quiet (there was a wedding reception going on in a nearby banquet room) and we were seated by a window with a panoramic view of the beach and ocean. Our waitress, Marian, was exceptionally attentive and was happy to describe several items on the dinner menu. The bar area was crowded with what appeared to be wedding guests but our drinks were quickly delivered to our table and were terrific! (thanks Matt) I would recommend this appealing restaurant to just about anyone who enjoys good food, a beautiful location and excellent service. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
133 reviews
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Property: Shell Island Resort
Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing