We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shell Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at this condo hotel two nights for a wedding in August 2010.. This is a relatively small property for a beachfront resort. All units are individually owned so the quality of decorating and furnishings can vary from unit to unit, but ours was very nice. Our suite included a living room with flat-screen TV, small balcony and an equipped kitchenette overlooking the beach; one bedroom with a King bed and second flat-screen TV; two connected bathrooms; and a hallway. The building has indoor and outdoor pools. Grounds are well-kept. The restaurant is small but offered very good food and friendly service, and there is a nice little bar as well. The staff and chef who helped family members with their wedding planning were great. The beach at this location is excellent. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank EpicureanLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

We cannot say enough about the customer service of the Resort. We were initially disappointed that the room we rented was two double beds instead of a king with a pull out, but that was really our only disappointment. The staff was outstanding - everyone from the bellhop, to the front desk, to the security guards, to the bartenders...phenomenal people!!!

My daughter left her baby pillow (she has had it since she was born even though she is a tweenager) - the hotel SENT IT TO US!! We did not even realize we were missing it yet and it arrived on our doorstep. This blew me away. Thank you.

The only recommendations we would make to the owners of private places and to the resort itself are these:
Have the windows on the elevators cleaned regularly - such a pretty view - it is gross to look at it through the really filthy windows. 2) update the kitchenettes as best possible - they are really outdated - or get rid of the stovetop and just have a dishwasher there instead and a microwave. 3) Were you mixed drinks really made with top shelf - we had a few we saw poured out of top shelf bottles but the liquor tasted lower level...just a question?!?! 4) clean the pools and jacuzzi more often in high season if possible
5) and most important - do not let private unit owners rent their units on their own - it should be required that all condo owners use the resort and that way the housekeeping, upkeep, maintenance of all units will be standard - we heard some scary stories

Having suggested these, we suggest them selfishly because WE WILL BE BACK and OFTEN...we loved Shell Island for its location, and its staff....the accomodations for the price were OK....but everything else was amazing. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringaTicaSiempre_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We've been up and down the coast, Maine to the Key's, and always come back to Shell Island Resort on Wrightsville Beach. We're not sure what it is that makes this spot so wonderful. All we know is that when we are here, we are totally relaxed.
This has been or 10th summer visit to SI and we are looking forward to our next stay in 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I loved this resort. The rooms are beautiful, well furnished, and the beds are comfortable. Every room has an ocean view. The resort is located at the end of the island and it is very quiet and peaceful.

It is quite a walk from the hotel to the ocean - the beach is very wide - and someone who is handicapped would have some difficulty making the trek. Nonetheless, it's a big and beautiful beach -- great for walking and sitting.

The pool area and the pool itself are both very small. The Holiday Inn's is a little bigger. The space in the rooms, however, can't be beat. Every room has a bathroom with 2 sinks and 2 toilets, as well as a separate living room/kitchen area that is completely separate from the bedroom.

Also, bring your own chairs for the beach -- chairs and umbrellas are for rent and very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matchequeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This was our first trip to Wrightsville Beach and all we had to go on was past reviews. I will admit that I was very uneasy about arriving because of some of the negative reviews. When we arrived, we received a very warm reception. We were given a room on the 9th floor. When we went up to take a look, we noticed that the air conditioning was not cooling the room...We called downstairs and they sent someone up to check it out. After checking things out, he said he would have to call an air conditioning company out for the repair. As I was sitting there, I noticed some black ants around the door of the balcony. I asked him about that and he said he would spray...I told him that we really wanted to get settled in a room and that I would call downstairs to see what our options were..The front desk immediately offered us help with our bags to relocate to another room and so we went downstairs and received our keys for a different room on the 5th floor. We went to check it out and things seemed fine. The bedroom is a bit small and there is not alot of room for storage, but we managed and just stacked our suitcases on top of one another in the closet..no big deal. The extra bath and a half was great!! We did have some issue with a smell coming from the drains, but it was addressed by the housekeeping folks and it was explained to us that they do not use alot of chlorine due to the natural marsh areas around the resort...The living room was a good size and we had a small closet in that room for storage, so we did have more space. The kitchen area was perfect and the cleaning folks not only made our beds, gave us clean towels, vacuumed daily, but WASHED OUR DIRTY DISHES!!!! Where can you go and get your dishes washed?? They offered you beach towels so you didn't have to dirty your own up and the pools kept up very well with little chlorine smell to overwhelm you when you got in. It was a pretty good haul to the ocean from the resort, but the sand was clean and the view was out of this world, so the walk wasn't so bad. We brought our own umbrella and the guys who were renting umbrellas and chairs out, helped us put our umbrella up even though we were not renting from them..VERY NICE..

There was some comments about the rooms/furniture being dirty and outdated. That may be true in some rooms, but our room was clean and seemed fairly modern. There was some areas such as the paint on the walls that probably could have been painted a bit more carefully, but the overall look of the room was just fine. I have seen a whole lot worse and higher in price..

For anyone who is military, this resort has great rates for active and or retired military. Be sure and ask about the discount, but you must show your ID upon arrival to get the discount.

We definitely will go back!! The staff really seemed to care, which is rare this day and time. Whoever is managing this resort, give yourself a pat on the back and also to your great staff/housekeeping. I will admit that I am particular about where I stay because we only take vacation once a year and I have definitely have nothing but great things to say about this resort

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twimsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This was our first experience at Shell Island, it was a special occasion therefore we were willing to pay a little more considering the suites looked SO large on the website. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a VERY small suite on the 9th floor....certainly not what we were expecting. The website is very misleading and the suites are very overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIcole7270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Nice Hotel, clean. If you have kids, this is not the hotel for you due to space. The rooms are very small. We booked a King Suite and we have 3 adults and 2 kids. Way too small, on top of each other. Not many other options on Wrightsville beach though, unless you can find a house. Would recommend, just not to a family with kids.. Also walls are thin and room above us was very loud. Great Views of Ocean and sound.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
3.4 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
15.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: £97 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing