We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel we could get close to Medora”
Review of Trappers Inn

Trappers Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trappers Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belfield
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Only hotel we could get close to Medora”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We drove to Medora and the national park as part of our cross country road trip. All the hotels in Medora were booked solid so we backtracked to Belfield and got a room at the Trapper's Inn. Our stay was good. We had a bottom floor room with two queens in the North building that is separated form the main establishment. Check-in was easy, the room was clean. They gave a free drink ticket for the bar and a discount for breakfast but we didn't use them. We enjoyed the stay and Belfield is just a few miles down the interstate from Theodore Roosevelt NP. There are no other restaurants in the area though. There is a big gas station directly across the street. We drove the thirty miles to Dickinson to get dinner one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
14
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here for about a week, the room was decent, nothing to write home about but clean and comfortable. They were nice about letting me not pay for the first night since I was stuck in Fargo, the highway was closed past it until the next day. The only complaint I have is the woman who checked me in was very rude and the next day I ate at the restaurant and my waitress was rude as well, seems like they rather be nice to the locals... All in all it was nice and a good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missmeankitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Wanted to stay in watford nothing available cept the $179 newer hotel. No way. Checked reviews for this place. Majority says its ok even though a couple of bad reviews recently, decided it was worth the risk. No risk involved! 7pm reservation was accepted cheerfully by a young lady on the phone. I warned may be very late arrival 1030 or later...no problem! Arrived and the young man at the counter was friendly and professional. No bad attitudes here. The room was spacious even with two queens and the linens both bed and bath were sparkling white and crispy clean. Bed was comfy, room was warm, updated well laid tile bath, flat screen tv. Will definitely seek them out if i visit the area again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank posibility409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Horrible staff horrible location. The rooms and cleanliness is great how ever the food in the restraunt horrible. The locals in the bar looking for a fight complete dicks. Drive the extra miles to Dickinson or medora if you plan on doing anything more then sleeping

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joesphdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfield hotels

South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent my first night at a franchise hotel in Dickinson..dirty poor wi fi and noisy. S I moved to Belfield the next day and though the single room is a little smaller than average, it was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very polite and helpful. It was more like being home. I would definitely altar my route to stay here again. Price was more than fair. Absolutely no negatives.
Phyllis H. South Dakota

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athol, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I'm really glad we decided to spend the night here while traveling home from Alberta, Can. They saved our vacation -- that's the simple truth of it.

We had been preparing to leave after spending the night, and decided to add some windshield wash in the car, but then the hood wouldn't latch. We worked on it for several minutes, but neither of us could fix it or even figure out what was wrong. We were sure, though, that it was probably something pretty simple.

AAA wouldn't help us, saying it wasn't their type of problem. The local garages didn't have time to help us; one was even really nasty and shouted about 'not being AAA' before hanging up. Mom was in tears when I headed over to the motel office, explained the problem, and the clerk said they'd send one of their maintenance staff right over. She agreed that it's unsafe to drive with a loose hood latch on ND highways with the kind of high winds they typically had, and was appalled that no one would aid a traveller.

By the time I got back to our room and explained to Mom what was happening and what I had done, Trent -- from maintenance -- was pulling up next to our car. Mom went to speak to him, and really I'm not sure what he did. (He might have danced naked around the car and chanted in Greek to the automotive gods, for all I know.) In any event, all that was needed was some lube and a screwdriver; all the loose grit we'd picked up was preventing the hood from closing.

It took maybe 10 minutes. Yay, Trent!

There's more to a motel than food and housekeeping -- yes, those are very important -- but more important I think is integrity. Dependability. In short, people who come through for you like family would. Because isn't that what you want and need while you're on the road?

Frankly, the room was very nice, very clean -- not new, but better than I was expecting for western ND -- and it was clear that the truckers stayed here, which is always a good sign. The food was good; the chicken tortilla soup was fantastic.

In any event, I know where we'll be staying when we come to this part of ND again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We only spent one night here and it was not bad. However, upon check in...the desk clerk was extremely rude. She treated us like dirt and acted as though we were an unwelcome interuption in her routine. She even proceeded to tell us how we could sleep in the room! If you can get past the unwelcome greeting, the room is not bad. It was fairly clean (they could focus more on the toilet and floor) and the beds were comfortable. You do get a coupon for a buy one get one free drink in the bar and 5.00 off in the restaurant. There is a pool there but it was not open so if you want to swim, I would check on that first. The other thing that kind of threw us off was all the warning signs. If you get dirt in the room, you have to pay to clean the carpets. If you sneak a pet, there is a non-negotiable 250.00 fee and there is a 250.00 fee if your room smells like smoke. We do not smoke so I am glad they strickly enforce that and if I had my pet, I would find a hotel that welcomed my pet as opposed to "sneaking" it in but the carpet cleaning fee really caught us off guard....isn't that what they have maids for?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfield
16.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dickinson
16.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Dickinson
WoodSpring Suites Dickinson
#13 of 19 in Dickinson
35 reviews
18.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickinson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 19 in Dickinson
234 reviews
18.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dickinson
18.8 mi away
Astoria Hotel & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trappers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trappers Inn

Property: Trappers Inn
Address: 803 Highway 85 N, Belfield, ND 58622-7404
Region: United States > North Dakota > Belfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belfield
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Trappers Hotel Belfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing