We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, but terrific customer service and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Expressway Inn of Bismarck
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but terrific customer service and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed at the Expressway Inn numerous times for business purposes, and while it is certainly nothing fancy, it is clean and the customer service is excellent. Two of my stays included room blocks (I brought a number of individuals to stay prior to air travel), and Mike is phenomenal to work with. He is very friendly and efficient. The hotel always has everyone's reservation set prior to arrival, so that check-in is speedy.

A major advantage to this hotel is its proximity to the airport and some restaurants/shops (you can walk to several restaurants, and the mall is across the street for those so inclined). The free airport shuttle makes this our number-one choice when bringing people to town.

The rooms are outdated and a bit dark, but they are clean and have all the amenities necessary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    33
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
30
35
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am not returning to this property, it is too far past it's prime. I'm 6'3" and the bathroom ceilings are 6'7". The door lock barely worked, I had to try my key card half a dozen times to open the door. They contract with construction companies and the railroad. Nothing wrong with the people but they get up and shower at 5:00AM and then back their trucks up at 5:30 and the backup alarm starts beeping. This is not a business person's hotel or family hotel. My room faces a busy street and I herd traffic all night long. There is a reason it is so far down Trip Advisor's list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpresswayInn, General Manager at Expressway Inn of Bismarck, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Just to make everyone aware, the "old" is leaving, and the "new" is on the way. We just started new upgrades which will include 100% new towels and linens, new chairs, new sofas, new recliners, new beds, new artwork, new ceiling tiles, granite bathroom vanities, new mirrors, and new lighting. Several of the items are on order and as soon as items show up, we are installing. Some of the installation has already begun, and will continue though the end of the year. We are excited about refreshing the property, and I'm sure everyone will agree once it is complete that it will look like a new property. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were in Bismarck for a family funeral and the people at the front desk were very helpful with directions and taking care of us. They said that we could use the breakfast room to gather in.
Our room was comfortable and had a fidge, microwave and coffee pot. Tea would be nice too.

Room Tip: Our room had a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 813DLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Good: Rooms are good sized, and clean. Rates are reasonable for the money spent.
The Bad: Rowdy group of teens and early 20 year olds were at the hotel on the 2nd and 3 rd floors, partying till 2 - 3 AM in the hallways. Lots of loud voices, beer bottles on the floor, and beer coolers holding doors open. Bad nights sleep after 3 AM. The front desk clerk had to have known this was going on.
The Ugly: Although I paid for 5 days, I got little sleep on the 4th evening. I arrived at the hotel the next afternoon (Sat) to catch up on lost sleep, but found the car parking lots full of teens, drinking with chairs blocking the entrance to the hotel parking lot. I checked out that afternoon (Sat) after getting beer thrown on my car. The hotel staff did not offer to refund Saturday evening for which I didn't stay due to conditions. The staff just did not seem concerned about other guests, and seemed to be more interested in finances than guest satisfaction. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you chose this hotel to insure there are no groups of teens or 20's there during y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bissales, Director of Sales at Expressway Inn of Bismarck, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Lynn,

I apologize for your unhappy stay. Unfortunately for family travelers, Bismarck, ND was hosting the Mcquades National Softball Tournament last weekend. And due to the rainy weather, players were hanging around waiting for the tournament to resume. We host this every year, and this is a rough weekend for family to travel. I apologize if our staff did not seem empathetic to you and I hope that you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Pros:.Nice large indoor hot tub, outdoor pool and picnic area. Friendly staff.

Cons:
VERY outdated. Mattresses need replacement. One elevator was out of order. Bathroom was not clean. Stains by tub and toilet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahb1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed here twice. Very friendly staff. Rooms are not fancy but clean. Only thing I would suggest is that they invest in new towels as the ones they have are rough and discolored looking. Great location to the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is close to the Civic Center and Kirkwood Mall. Several restaurants nearby. The prices for hotels in Bismarck have gone up in price due to the oil field workers coming into town on the weekends. Even Motel 6 is close to $75 per night. Crazy. The hotel breakfast was the standard fair of pastries, cereals, waffles, muffins. Nice exercise room and indoor pool. The parking lot is small and there's construction all around this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAwildrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.1 mi away
Expressway Suites
Expressway Suites
#14 of 32 in Bismarck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
0.2 mi away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#19 of 32 in Bismarck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Bismarck
Days Inn Bismarck
#5 of 32 in Bismarck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expressway Inn of Bismarck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expressway Inn of Bismarck

Property: Expressway Inn of Bismarck
Address: 200 E. Bismarck Expressway, Bismarck, ND 58504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Expressway Inn of Bismarck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expressway Inn of Bismarck is a smoke free-pet free facility located close to everything that you will need while in Bismarck. We are three blocks away from the Bismarck Civic Center. Across the street is the area's largest shopping mall, Kirkwood Mall. We are five blocks from the downtown area, and there are about a dozen great restaurants within walking distance. We are the closest hotel to the Cottonwood Soccer Complex and Cottonwood Softball Complex. The Dakota Zoo is five blocks away, and the State Capital is one mile North of us. We have a variety of sleeping rooms, varying from Economy Single Rooms which are perfect for the cost conscious businessman all the way up to Executive Suites for guests that like a little luxury while they are here. You can also enjoy our 42 person hot-tub or during summer months, relax by our outdoor pool. We also serve a hot breakfast, provide free airport and hospital shuttle, and have free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expressway Inn of Bismarck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expressway Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing