We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-Night Stay is Enough”
Review of Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The lobby is being renovated and a tiny room is being staffed by two people to check everyone in to this massive hotel--not efficient and very time consuming. The room is comfortable and quiet (we are not near the pool). The pool is lovely but there were no towels, no attendants, beer-drinking adults in the hot tub watching their children run around without concern for their safety or the nuisance they were to other guests.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well, ask for a room away from the pool. There are many rooms that overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am happy to report that our Front Desk is back in its permanent location! Our lobby renovation is nearly complete with just a few finishing touches in progress. We love the updated look of this area and are thrilled to be out of our temporary location. We understand this this was not the most convenient for our guests and apologize that you had to have this experience at Ramkota. I really hope you will come back again to see the finished remodel. Also, thank you for expressing your concerns regarding our pool area. As you noticed this can be a difficult area to manage; and it sounds like we could be doing a better job. We will work harder to monitor and manage this busy area going forward.
Sincerely,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

needs work!!! need help for the staff an some friendly help also fix the place up. do some needed work to the place fix the air conditioner an the sinks an the leaking problems have some security working do something to make the place more pleasurable you need to have more helpful staff one that really wants to work there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will work to provide a more satisfying hotel stay for our guests. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Thanks again,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am one of the sponsors of the McQuades tourney , we got rained out sat night so we all decided to go to the Ramkota lounge where some of the other teams were. As we were walking in we noticed they were really busy and were kind of worried about the service staff keeping up with all of us. We sat up at the bar and a very determined, peppy, and busy bartender greeted us without a blink of an eye, ignoring the yelling at her from behind us , from other players who wanted a bev " right now". After waiting on us the other bar back was having a hard time so Cindi went over and told him it would be fine and showed him exactly how things were done. Cindi had ALOT of calming words for the wait staff and her bar back during the crazy ness of the rained out tourney. It wasn't just myself that noticed the hard work of this bartender and the other staff it was our whole team and another team we had met up in the lounge. We heard through out the night other people complimenting Cindi and the rest of the staff. Hats off to them and great work!! I am a bar owner of 3 bars in central California and am VERY impressed of the " keeping focused and keep everyone calm" mind Cindi brought to the bar and the other staff!! It's was a very busy weekend for the hotel and the lounge and I want to give them all a huge applause for the great job! Will be back next year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Reading your review makes me so proud of our staff (especially Cindy) for turning around a bad situation with their excellent customer service. Getting rained out on Saturday was not a great scenario for the many players and fans that came to Bismarck to participate in the McQuade Softball Tournament; you have to love the ND wind and rain! I am so happy that despite this setback you had a great experience with our hotel and lounge staff. We look forward to having you back again next year, please bring some of that California sunshine with you! Thanks again for this review.

Sincerely,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our Softball Team and many other Teams from Grand Forks,ND Always stay here! It is Walking Distance to anything your family needs! Mall across the street Grocery Store a block away. Restaurants within a Block. Liquor store a Block away. Softball fields 2 Blocks away. Zoo a Mile away. Golf course 5 Blocks away! I'm not Lying everything you need is Surrounding the Ramkota!! We Love staying here, and the Staff and Hotel are Top Notch!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 724markj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you! We truly appreciate you taking time to review our hotel. All staff at Ramkota looks forward to hosting McQuade Softball Tournament players and fans each year, and it is great to know that you and your team look forward to staying with us too! Thanks for mentioning our convenient location to many attractions and businesses in Bismarck. We hope you will choose to stay with us again next year.

Best Regards,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were in Bismarck North Dakota fand had an excellent stay here. This is a full service resort hotel - much more than your standard Best Western. Rates were excellent (i.e. we are from California and we found the rates very reasonable).

Room was very large - one of he largest we have stayed at in Best Western Properties. Comfortable sitting area and very nice king size bed - comfortable and we slept well.

Parking is free. It can be busy late at night, but we still found a parking spot.

Staff service is excellent and they were so nice. The pool area is fabulous if you have a family - i.e. the swimming pool is not a good one if you want to do lap swimming, but families with kids (its summer) were having an amazing time. Great water slides, water play area, etc. Kids really enjoy their stay here. I enjoyed a long soak in their jacuzzi spas - very comfortable and temperature in the water was just right. (Note: On week-ends in the summer, I would expect the swimming/jacuzzi/game room to be very busy - as such they give out paper bands to wear when in the area so you can identify yourself as staying at the hotel.

The dining room here is quite nice. Unlike some Best Westerns where they provide free breakfasts, here they give you a coupon for discount at the restaurant. That was fine with us and we found their eggs benedict to be expertly prepared and quite tasty. Again, service was very good.

Yes, they do work hard to maintain this property - its a large size Best Western -They were doing some work in the lobby area (but beyond noticing it upon check-in and happy to see they take such pride in maintaining their property).

There is a nice shopping center across the street; its a short drive to the capitol area as well as about a 20 minute drive to the Lewis and Clark Riverboat Cruise that we enjoyed the night we were in Bismarck.

Overall, if we found ourselves in the Bismarck area, we would be quite happy to book again at this large but excellent Best Western.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and I am grateful that you were willing to share your experience with other travelers. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have a loyalty rating with Best Western. On our arrival here, I did not feel welcomed. Getting by that hurdle, along with construction all over the place, was not conducive to a comfortable stay.
When one travels, certainly a little empathy on the part of hotel staff, is in order. The old axiom of the customer is always right does have some truth in it.
The breakfast was not included in the price.
Best Western should check out this particular establishment, in terms of their standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I understand that our remodeling project can cause a less than ideal experience and I apologize that you encountered this inconvenience. The project is scheduled to be complete in the next week or two. You are correct that our staff needs to be aware of this inconvenience and go out of their way to overcome this with our customers. I apologize that we were not successful in this area. We do have a full service restaurant, Seasons Café, on site so we do not have a continental breakfast included in our standard rate. We do have a Breakfast for Two Rate available which is a great value. This rate package includes two breakfast entrées of your choice and two beverages in Seasons Café along with your guest room. I encourage you to check this out if you choose to stay with us again in the future. Thank you so much for your feedback and for your loyalty to the Best Western family of hotels.
Best Regards,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel was under a lobby remodel (understandable mess, noice and make shift front desk) the wait staff was unpleasant to customers, room cleaning was poor as well. I would not recommend this hotel if you plan to stay for more than one day/night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramkotaopsmanager, Manager at Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I apologize for the inconvenience that our remodeling caused during your stay. We are excited for our new look, and for the construction to be complete! We anticipate this project being complete in the next week or two. I am very sorry that our staff was not friendly to you and that you experienced poor housekeeping service. This is not acceptable. I will share your concerns with our department managers so we can work to improve our overall guest service.
Sincerely,
Samantha Ackerman, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bismarck hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
Radisson Hotel Bismarck
#13 of 32 in Bismarck
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bismarck South
3.1 mi away
Country Suites By Carlson, Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Expressway Inn & Suites of Bismarck
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bismarck
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bismarck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramkota Hotel

Address: 800 S 3rd St, Bismarck, ND 58504-5728 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel)
Region: United States > North Dakota > Bismarck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range: £65 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bismarck
Bismarck Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bismarck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing