We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly perfect place to stay”
Review of Holly Tree Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holly Tree Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Darsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Arrived late on my business trip and val the owner was so accommodating and made me feel very welcome, even made me a platter of ham salad sandwiches because nothing was open too, fresh milk in my room and a lovely quiet sleep and hearty breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjeyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you once again for your lovely review. Also thanks for taking the time and trouble to review us on 3 separate sites. I reiterate that you were a pleasure to look after and that we would be pleased to see you again sometime. Tthanks again Val and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
61
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Holly Tree Cottage for a weekend away from London to attend a wedding in Suffolk. We were welcomed with open arms into Val and Andy's B&B. They were very accomodating, friendly and up for a good laugh. Thank you for the stay and thank you for the last minute taxi ride to make the wedding in time! We would highly recommend this cottage and would love to come back again. Alicia and Adam ('The Aussies').

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you SO much for your lovely review. You were both such a pleasure to look after which makes our 'job' so much easier. We do hope you will come and stay with us again some time. You would be most welcome. Take care Val and Andy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were made very welcome on our flying visit to Holly Tree Cottage and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent and we were hugely entertained by Andy, a big personality! It is perfectly situated for visiting Minsmere, the only drawback being its proximity to the busy A12. The weather was hot when we stayed so we had the window open and this let in a lot of traffic noise. Other than that, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Yes indeed it was hot, a rarity, and we do suffer a certain amount of road noise when windows are open. We have since bought fans for the rooms to try to help with the heat. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about traffic but we DO try to make up for that negative in other ways. You were a pleasure to look after and we would love to see you again. Val and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a great time staying with Val and Andy. They made us feel very much at home. The room was lovely and breakfasts superbe. The location was ideal for our visits to Southwold and Orford. It was good to be able to have a late breakfast each day so that we could have a lie-in.We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you SO much for your lovely review. You were both an absolute pleasure to look after and we do hope you will stay with us again when visiting the area. Thanks again Val and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A very enjoyable 2 night stay at Holly Cottage. As in most of the reviews, Val and Andy are really a very friendly couple and nothing is too much trouble - Andy offered to drive us to local so we could both have a drink: Val kindly put my wine bottle in fridge to keep cold; helped ourselves to cold milk to have with tea and coffee in room - no cartons of uht here! The ensuite shower room is plenty big enough..two arm chairs, dressing table, tv, hairdryer and tea and coffee. The shower is roomy with towels and gel provided. All clean and cared for. Although on a main road room was not noisy and did not keep us awake. (might be different if you live in a quiet area). Located between Southwold and Alburgh with Warberswick close by. Had a very nice evening meal at the Fox Inn just round the corner. The breakfast was also very good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Only two rooms. Room No. 2 is the ensuite shower room and is on the front of the house and could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lineemem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
thank you so much for your lovely review. You were a pleasure to look after. We look forward to welcoming you back some time. Take Care. Val and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Val & Andy are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to make your trip comfortable and enjoyable. The breakfasts are superb, the bed is extremely comfortable and everything is clean and well organised. Great advice on local restaurants and places to visit.
Keep up the good work Val in training your Scottish assistant - gold star to Andy so far!
John says the star would have been diamond if the Glenfiddich hadn't just been waved in front of him but opened LOL.

Room Tip: Back room has less head room - very cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review. You were such fun. Andy would have opened the whisky but it might have got messy lol. Next time then and he will get diamond. So look forward to welcoming you as friends next time take care val and andy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tregaron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good location as only 10min from railway station - for those like me who came on foot !! Very friendly and most helpful hosts. Any problems, Val and Andy will be on hand. Home from home. The recommended Kings Head, in the next village, provided excellent meal, and the local garage shop, a few minutes walk, was on hand with most requirements. About 5 miles to Mindsmere. RSPB reserve.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val f, Owner at Holly Tree Cottage, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
You were a pleasure to look after thanks for your review. We hope you will visit again val and andy x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darsham
0.0 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Darsham Old Hall
Darsham Old Hall
#1 of 3 in Darsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Tree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Tree Cottage

Property: Holly Tree Cottage
Address: Holly Tree Cottage High Street | Darsham, Saxmundham, Suffolk, Darsham, Saxmundham IP17 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Darsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Tree Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our warm friendly family home. Holly Tree Cottage is a character period cottage with many original features, including beams, uneven walls, nooks and crannies, woodburner and beautiful cottage gardens surrounding the house. We only have 3 letting rooms so you can be assured of a personal service. Very centrally located near Minsmere, Aldeburgh and Southwold. Train station nearby. Plenty of lovely pubs with great food and local beers within a mile or two. We look forward to welcoming you to our warm family home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holly Tree Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing