We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”

Darsham Nurseries Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Darsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch - more about quality of flavour and food than quantity. Don't expect chips as a side order! Not suitable for children and don't be fooled by the Cafe sign - it's posh lunchtime nosh but very good.

Helpful?
Thank IvorThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    33
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saxmundham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Different and delicious!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked for lunch, our first visit, and were surprised and heartened by the unusual approach to the whole experience! The cafe is so cleverly designed, especially the flowers in the single pot line ......you HAVE to see them to appreciate this! We were helped by a charming young woman who explained what some of the dishes were. We chose the quails eggs, and crudites which were wonderfuly fresh and sweet. Our Caesar salads were crunchy and crispy, with anchovies and bacon( more of these would have been nice) One of our party had the salmon rillettes which were delicious. The breads are most unusual and you need to make sure you have good teeth for some as they are very crispy!!!!! The desserts were wonderful, the cucumber ice - what a revelation! Lemon cream and salted caramel sauces both gobbled up. Coffee good. Wines expensive, and we would prefer wine glasses rather than tumblers, but then we are old fashioned............. Terrific loos and shop. the gardens are the best in Suffolk, no kidding. Altogether a great meal, we will return and try some of the other dishes. A Plea : can we have cushions as the chairs are agony....luckily I did take my own!!!!! This is a super place, do go along and enjoy the experience of fresh, tasty food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muggySaxmundham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“We were bowled over”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A friend recommended the cafe for lunch and we were delighted that he did as we found it was fantastic - highly original, light dishes which were beautifully presented and great value. Service was also excellent as was the ambience. All the wines and beers seemed very well chosen.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“From no-booking-policy bistro to must book lunch”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I first had lunch at the cafe at the beginning of May and returned less than four weeks later. Now you must book to stand a chance of getting a table. There are several good eating places in the Southwold, Saxmundham, Aldeburgh triangle but this is a bit different - a slightly metropolitan sharing plate vibe. Great food and decor. Reasonably priced plants in the nursery. Possibly locals best avoid it until the summer visitors have gone. It won't be a flash in the pan I am sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyPlain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Light, Fresh & Imaginative”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a small cafe attached to Darsham Nurseries - an unlikely place perhaps to find such style and imagination. We had high expectations after the Independent review and various high profile Tweets - and it lived up to them. The shop is great too!. There's only 9 tables - but the room is lovely, airy and light - and so is the food. Anchovy dip with music bread to start - we had to have two portions in the end - so good. Plus the rhu(barb)-bubble cocktail - mmm! then you order a bunch of stuff - Seabass with amazing fresh pesto and salted turnip. Hake with the pesto and asparagus, short rib slider for my 8 year old son (no kids menu but didn't bother us), garlic toast and crudités for more fussy 9 year old daughter. Caesar Salad - home made croutons, healthy sprinkling of bacon. It all tastes like it came out the ground of the nursery and like it is good for you - not sure if it does - but they have a really different menu and every mouthful is a pleasure. We had one of each of the deserts - all great - strawberries with a whipped cream, a cheesecake in a pot, ice-cream with toffee sauce and a granita - lovely lovely lovely. We'll be back. As for the prices - there's a range - you can have something for £6.00 or for £12.00- so try it and decide if you want to splash out on more - but wether you pop in for a snack or go for a celebration lunch - it works - for me anyway. Reminds me of the Grain Store - but simpler and more relaxed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeonBirdCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darsham Nurseries Cafe also viewed

 
Darsham, Saxmundham
Middleton, Suffolk
 
Saxmundham, Suffolk
 

Been to Darsham Nurseries Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing