We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of Maclear Manor B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maclear Manor B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Maclear B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The weekend we were there, it appeared to be mis-managed by remote control. Owners/manager dont stay on the property and so when we had a power failure, there was no one around to get it going again and the guests were wandering around the kitchen, looking into cupboards for candles and matches!. No electric blankets as advertised (and of course, no one around to complain to) and the 'duvet' consisted of a blanket stuffed into a duvet cover. Customer relations were awful and no response was received whatsoever to complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennysa0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Visitor,
Thank you so much for your review, your comments and feedback are important to us. I have noted your concerns and have put appropiate controls into place to address the issues raised.
Kind regards

Noël

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Maclear Manor B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at Maclear Manor on our way from Natal to George. The staff was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately it was Heritage Day when we checked in and nothing - absolutely nothing - was open to get a drink or something to eat. So if you are travelling on a public holiday please keep this in mind. There are fridge and microwave facilities in the room. There is apparently a restaurant walking distance from the B+B but this was also closed for the holidays. We will defiantly make this a stop over again if we travel through Maclear.

Room Tip: We stayed in their upstairs room and will defiantly request this room again, as it has a private bal...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The journey from Durban to Grahamstown is about 10 hours. We do not travel on the N2 because of the heavy lorries and stop go road works, we travel inland via Matatiele,Maclear,Cela,Queenstown,Fort Beauford . Its a longer route 850km, but shorter in time and not too many potholes in the roads, its all tar roads and you can travel at 100km, always obey the speed limits through the towns, the police trap all the time.
We decided to break the journey in half and stopover at Maclear, which is exactly halfway. After 5.5hrs driving the Garmin found Maclear Manor for us and we were pleasantly suprised with this "out of the way" B&B. As there were four of us we had adjoining rooms which were very spacious and comfortable.
Dawn welcomed us and made sure that we had everything we needed and recommended The Butchers Diner for dinner, which was a 5 minute drive.
The rooms had everything you needed, including a fridge. There was a little box on the table that contained cotton wool, earbuds, mosquito repellant, headache pills and even Rennies for indigestion, I think it had more things but didn't need to open it, such a clever idea and something I hadn't seen anywhere else. The pillows were nice and soft as well, quite a rare find:)
Breakfast was around a large 8 seater table. A variety of cereals, fruit salad, yogurt, muffin and a selection of hot dishes, tea and coffee and it was all very nicely presented.
We would definetely stay here again if we choose to do the trip over two days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPGir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maclear hotels
0.7 mi away
Alpine Bed and Breakfast
11.0 mi away
Woodcliffe Country House
0.4 mi away
Oak Lane B&B
Oak Lane B&B
#6 of 6 in Maclear
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fairbairn Guest Farm
Fairbairn Guest Farm
#1 of 4 in Maclear
77 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Maclear Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maclear Manor B&B

Address: 9 Schmidt Street | Maclear, Maclear 5480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Maclear
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Maclear
Price Range: £39 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maclear Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maclear Manor offers the ideal retreat destination for anyone seeking a break away to the country side. Situated in the beautiful town of Maclear in the North Eastern Cape, the stunning scenery and mountains offer the ideal backdrop for any moment.We offer the perfect stop for anyone visiting or travelling through the area. Located in a quiet cul-de sac, Maclear Manor offers its guests tranquillity away from the bustle of town. All our rooms have private bathrooms and are equipped with DSTV, fridge, microwave and electric blankets. Indoor braai facilities, undercover parking and wi-fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Maclear Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing