We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb choice”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Newhall

Ariel view of Newhall Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ariel view of Newhall Cottage
Ariel view of Newhall Cottage View of Lerwick Harbour from Newhall Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Ariel view of Newhall Cottage
Ariel view of Newhall Cottage
View of Lerwick Harbour from Newhall Cottage
Shower room
Shower room
Family Bedroom on first floor
Family Bedroom on first floor
Single Attic Bedroom
Double Bedroom on ground floor
Double Bedroom of ground floor
Double Bedroom on ground floor
Kitchen
Sea Cliff at Eshaness
Puffins passing the time of day
View of cottage from front garden
Newhall Cottage
Newhall Cottage
Breakfast table
Shower room
Kitchen
Breakfast table
Kitchen
Living room
Living room
Lounge
Lounge
Dinning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bressay, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alex R
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb choice”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Excellent accommodation with all facilities catered for. Three double bedrooms with plenty room. A great place for relaxing and chilling out, Lerwick and the main Island easy reached on the inter island ferry.
Highly recommend this accommodation if you want a peaceful and quiet break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: We found nothing not to like
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the stay at our cottage & we look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely traditional Shetland cottage. Beautiful peaceful location and just a few minutes from the town of Lerwick via the inter island ferry. The cottage looks small but is very comfortable and spacious. We felt that all our needs were catered for. The owners made us feel so welcome that it was home from home for us. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Glad to hear you had a comfortable & enjoyable stay. Thank you for your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marijana...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“best choice ever :)”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

hi there :) weve stayed on the Shetlands for one week and the newhall cottage was our basis and our home - we really felt there like at home!
the cottage is perfectly situated - the ferry connection to Lerwick is easy going and you will need a 10 journey ticket either for the ferries if you stay longer on the Shetlands - its the cheapest and best way.
we enjoyed our stay there and would book it again and recommend it to everyone who is planning to travel to the Shetlands!
perfectly equipped and new renovated - comfortable for 6 person like it was for the 2 of us too... just gorgeous!
perfect base to get everywhere on the Shetlands and to all points youll plan and need to get to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how it looks, the location and connection to Lerwick
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Dear Marijana,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage during your visit to Shetland and hope we will see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
985bea
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing