We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation-one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Devils Lake
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Vacation-one night stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If this is the only place left in town it will suffice. It is cheap and does the trick but the lobby is smoke infested and makes you uncomfortable. They offer continental breakfast here but we didn't eat because it smelled of smoke so bad. It was an older hotel and was fine but glad we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    1
    1
    6
    18
See reviews for
5
3
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayview, Idaho
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The next time you are headed to North Dakota, be aware that accommodations are scarce due to the booming oil industry, but this is primarily near Stanley and Williston. My visit this week to Devils Lake, and the Americas Best Value Inn has scarred me for life. There were no other accommodations to be had and since we were there for my father's funeral, we did not have the choice to move to another town. This hotel doesn't even rate the one dot for terrible. It had not been vacuumed for years and I am not exaggerating here. The floor was so filthy that we wore shoes directly out of the shower. Lights were broken, glass in pictures on the walls was broken, shower was really moldy and the beds were so terrible, we checked for bedbugs and lice, and then took all their covers off and wrapped in our own blanket that we brought on the trip. It was beyond disgusting. The housekeeping staff left a bag of garbage right next to our door along with broken beer bottles on the sidewalk outside our room for the entire time we were there. If there was any brand standard for America's Best Value hotels, this one certainly fails to meet it.

My recommendation when heading to Devils Lake is to try the Holiday Inn Express. Sadly we were there over the 4th of July and it and any other decent accommodations were full. If this hotel was the last available, you'd be better off sleeping in your car. Honestly.

Room Tip: Horrible in every way.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Devils Lake hotels

mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This hotel is horrible. The staff acts like they don't want you there. The rooms are in poor shape. I always go up there for a once a year fishing trip and this year they charged me an extra $50 after I checked out claiming I cleaned fish in my room. Never have I ever cleaned fish on any of my fishing trip up there. I never even brought fish into the room. So if you are planning on staying there for a fishing trip please beware they might charge you extra. My recommendation is to have the staff go look at your room before you check out that way they can't claim to have found fish scale in your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustFishingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Do not believe these pictures on here. That is not the room you will get. My room had wallpaper that was peeling off of the walls. There were holes in the walls. The linens had a musty smell. There were old wet towels behind the bathroom door that were covered in mold. The only other people that were staying there appeared to be drug dealers. There was a very potent marijuana odor and people coming and going all night. The only thing this place has going for it is its proximity to a good steakhouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bottineau, North Dakota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great Location and Price. The Owner (JR), Jim, Carole and Keith will do all that they can to make Your Stay enjoyable. They were Cordial, Courteous and Helpful. No Complaints at all. Bedroom and Bathroom were very Clean! Great to have Coffee Maker, microwave and small Frig. in room. Bed was Comfortable and Presentable. Location Great, because you can Walk to Supermarket if you want. Quiet because it is not on the main road! Formerly a Days Inn, and now converting over to AMERICAS BEST. Owner Resides on Premises. Owner is Upgrading facility daily!!! Do NOT reserve a room there through a Website Service. Call Motel DIRECTLY!!!
You will receive a Lower Price and know that you have a Room Reserved.

I went hrough Priceline at First and that was a Big Nightmare Mistake. Never again will I reserve a room again through Priceline!!!

Best Lodging Value In Devils Lake!!!

A good Restaurant is right next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbynormal1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. We apologize for the smell in the lobby and will be sure to address this situation. We work hard to have a pleasant stay for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallock, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place in unbelievable! We went to Devils lake for a hockey tourney over the weekend on short notice and these where the only rooms available. The first room that I entered had puke in the sink and all over the carpet. I looked for a body since the smell was so bad. After that It didn't get much better- another room had used condoms laying outside the door. The towels had brown streaks on them and the showeres smelled like urine. There are no clocks in these rooms and it looked like the cat had kittens on the bed. Slept in cloths and shoes. One room had a quarter glues to the door, not sure why. If you end up staying here take pictures because nobody will believe you if you don't.

Room Tip: don't go here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Beds and pillows were lumpy. Towels were stained and frayed. Wallpaper was coming off the walls. Holes in the walls. Shower had large blobs of black mildew. All and all a nasty place for 70 bucks a night. Apparently Devil's Lake does not have any kind of inspections. Nothing good to say other than they did have hot water.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyg1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devils Lake
0.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Devils Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Devils Lake
1.5 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Devils Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunlac Inn
Sunlac Inn
#1 of 1 in Devils Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Devil's Lake
24.4 mi away
Sunlac Inn
Sunlac Inn
#1 of 1 in Lakota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1109 Highway 20 S, Devils Lake, ND 58301-3542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Devils Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Devils Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devils Lake Days Inn
Days Inn Devils Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing