We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy before noon! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Dickinson
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone: (701) 483-5380
Vermillion, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy before noon! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Found ourselves in Dickinson so we consulted Trip Advisor. We were very close to this restaurant, so, based on other reviews, we gave it a try. Started with warm, crispy chips with delicious salsa. We had a lunch special and a shrimp and chorizo quesadilla... both excellent. Happy for TA, otherwise we would have missed this!

Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    52
    21
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Based on trip advisor's reviews this is #3! Restaurant in Dickinson! This was the worst Mexican restaurant I have ever eaten before! Our food arrived within 5 min after placing an order which means that there food is not being prepared fresh but just frozen microwaved junk!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Quite a big restaurant where the service was quick even though the place seemed to be very busy. Our server seemed nice but somewhat uninterested, just like the rest of the staff. The food was ok, but a bit bland.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanVanDijk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My sister's family swears by this place. While visiting they took me here and I love the P9! Great value, great jumbo margaritas. Fast service, attentive. Great for kids, too. Just all around good, fast, and great value. Did I mention I love the P9? (Chicken in cream sauce - I love it!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alumna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quick carry out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We ordered carry out from this restaurant on Sunday evening. The food was ready 10 minutes after we ordered it! The deluxe quesadilla was delicious as we're the chimichangas. If you like Mexican you won't be disappointed here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing