We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not deserving of Tripadvisors 3-star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not deserving of Tripadvisors 3-star rating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I travel to Fargo monthly and usually stay at a 2-star hotel booked on Priceline that I find perfectly satisfactory (Arbuckle Lodge, Comfort Inn, etc.). On this recent trip my wife joined me so I decided to "upgrade" and book a 3-star hotel. Mistake. While larger and having more amenities this hotel has off decidely lower quality than the 2-start hotels I usually stay at. Our room smelled like mildew and the internet was extremely slow. The housekeeping was questionable as they didn't even clean my room the first day. Even after I complained to the front desk the cleaning was sub-par. My room was not vacuumed as evidenced by a scattering of cookie crumbs I accidently spilled by my bed that was still there the next day. I think the cleaning staff in general has an aversion to vacuuming as I found my hallway to be filthy with lots of debris.

Breakfast was over-priced and sub-par. (We ate out of the hotel every morning except the first.)

Bottom line, not worth the higher cost compared to Fargo's lower rated hotels (I'm referring to Tripadvisor's categorization, not the user ratings.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel P, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us improve our service and property. On behalf of the staff and management I'd like to apologize for the negative aspects of your stay. It's disappointing to hear we did not exceed your expectations with our normal friendly and attentive service. Making our guests feel welcome and anticipating their needs are two of our top priorities, but it seems we fell short during your stay. We are truly sorry and would love to have another chance to show you the hospitality we are widely known for. Thank you again for your review and we hope to redeem ourselves the next time your are in the Fargo area!

Warm Regards,

Samuel Pulkrabek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    592
    276
    83
    56
See reviews for
936
242
48
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

10 minutes from the airport. Prompt and friendly staff. Lots of kids enjoying the 150 ft water slide and pool while I was able to get a good workout while watching them. Food at Basies was very good, kid friendly menu. The rooms were clean and updated. The business center has three complementary computers which is a plus. I enjoyed the stay and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel P, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We really appreciate you sharing your feedback, Dale, about your recent stay with us at the Ramada Plaza and Suites. We are delighted to hear you found our staff both helpful and friendly, our food good, and our rooms updated and clean! We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms the next time you find yourself in Fargo.

Warm Regards,

Samuel Pulkrabek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ramada Inn Fargo. By chance we had actually booked another hotel that was unable to accommodate us with our request for connecting rooms so we went next door to the Ramada - connecting rooms no problem - problem solved. Check in was fast, efficient & the customer service was top-notch (Thank you Sally!)

The rooms we had were suites - 2 queen beds, a small wet bar area with a microwave & fridge, a sitting area with a full sized pull out couch, a chair, coffee table and an additional table to sit at with 2 chairs. These rooms are very spacious - even with all of this furniture they were not cramped. Very clean & beautifully decorated. There is a TV in the bedroom plus an additional TV in the sitting area.

We did not eat at the on site restaurant however during our stay (Monday & Tuesday evening) they offered a complimentary drink & appie in the lounge as a Manager's special. We skipped this as we had a young child with us who we were unable to bring into the lounge with us.

The pool area which we did make use of consists of a kiddie pool with a water mushroom, separate swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and the best part for the kids of course is the waterslide. The really nice part about the set up is that the slide has it's own pool so it does not disrupt any of the swimming in the regular pool. The slide pool is only 3' deep as well so it's suitable for smaller kids without a life jacket. The hotel does provide life jackets as well by the way. The pool area was clean and well staffed. You are unable to bring your own beverages into the area as they have a bar/restaurant counter set up inside & you must purchase your items from there. The pool was well attended with staff who made sure that order was kept which was appreciated. There were some rowdy young adults in the pool Tuesday night which the staff dealt with promptly.

They do have pool side rooms although they are just a window that over looks the pool area. This was not one of our rooms although I did speak to a couple of families who were assigned those rooms and they said they were not humid nor noisy as some poolside rooms can be.

We had a great stay. My only complaint which was lodged with the front desk was today on check out day the housekeeper started banging on our door at 9am and by 11am she had been there 4 times, once even letting herself into my room as I stood in the hallway with some of my luggage telling her I was still occupying it. Check out is at noon. It was a bit much. Once again the front desk assured me they would speak to the housekeeping staff about it - great customer service.

Kids will love the pool. Adults will love the rooms & location. Very close to West Acres and so many great places to eat. It's my new favourite place to stay in Fargo and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmapawprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel P, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
First and foremost, we would like to send out a big THANK YOU for your wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about the Ramada Plaza and Suites of Fargo. We are delighted you were able to enjoy every aspect of our hotel, as well as the service our dedicated staff provides. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Sally, as well as our entire staff for their "top-notch customer service." This is exactly what we are aiming for! We look forward to seeing you again soon when your travels bring you back our way!

Warm Regards,

Samuel Pulkrabek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a great surprise!! We loved this hotel. We booked with Hotwire and were so pleased with this Hotel. The staff are fantastic and the pool area is great for kids and adults as well. The front desk staff were always smiling and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are sooo comfortable. I can't say enough about this hotel. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel P, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
What a great review! We are so glad you chose the Ramada Plaza and Suites of Fargo. I may be a little biased, but I do agree about our Front Desk staff as I think we have the best in the area! Your comments about the staff are appreciated and we will be sure to share with them. Plan another weekend soon so the kids can take another trip down our 150 foot waterslide or just the adults, either way it's a blast for all! We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Samuel Pulkrabek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had booked a room with 2 double beds and were informed at check-in that we had a free upgrade to a suite with 2 queen beds. That was unexpected but very appreciated! The staff was helpful, the place was clean, the beds were comfortable, and we couldn't come up with any ideas for improvement. It was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley K, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you, Jan, for the five star review of your recent stay at the Ramada Plaza & Suites! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we are doing! I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade!! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay I definitely recommend it the hotel was clean and affordable. I'm not going to say it's one of the best hotels in Fargo but it's definitely not the worst. If you're coming into town give it a shot you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheSilkMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley K, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you, Brant, for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay! I am pleased to hear that we provided you with an exceptional stay and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel! Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fargo
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fargo South — 45th Street
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clubhouse Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1635 42nd St S, I-29 & I-94, Fargo, ND 58103-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fargo
#8 Family Hotel in Fargo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Presidential Award Winning Hotel, the Ramada Plaza & Suites is the perfect choice for business or leisure. From the moment you arrive, your comfort will be our pleasure. Known for its elegance, class, and genuine hospitality, the Ramada Plaza & Suites features 185 guest rooms including 117 two-room suites. Indulge in Basies restaurant – voted one of the area’s finest, serving many cuisine specialties. Enjoy a cocktail in our lounge or refresh yourself in Coconut Cove and Cabana Waterpark and experience our 150’ waterslide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fargo Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Suites And Conference Center
Ramada Plaza Hotel Fargo
Ramada Fargo
Fargo Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing