We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but Poolside rooms are very noisy!”
Review of Holiday Inn Fargo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fargo
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but Poolside rooms are very noisy!”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn with our son's 10 yr old hockey team. The rooms were very clean and quite spacious. We booked a poolside room, and throughout the day we quite enjoyed it as our kids could come and go from the room, and the gather in the pool area.

The pool area is quite large, and incudes the pool, small waterslide, video games, ping pong, poolside restaurant/bar service, and a very large sitting or gathering area that was great for feeding the team and parents in a large group. ... However, the pool area remained open until midnight, and was very noisy right up until midnight, making it difficult for our kids to get to sleep. Others who didn't have a poolside room said the rooms were quite quiet.

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank WpgSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    93
    83
    26
    25
See reviews for
124
30
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Slept very well at the Holiday Inn Fargo. We had a king size bed that was firm and comfortable, with fresh clean linens. Despite the pool in the middle of the hotel, the rooms were not damp, and the huge birthday party in the pool area did not spill out into the hallways (no kids running and screaming, except in the pool area).

I didn't swim in the pool, but if I was a kid I would certainly want to. There's a pirate ship with numerous slides and tunnels and such, and it looked AWESOME.

Only ordered room service once; all I wanted was a cup of coffee, and they gave me a whole carafe for the price of a cup. I felt bad that I didn't tip the room service guy (I was strung out from driving). The staff at the Holiday Inn Fargo were all very friendly and helpful.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice, and it was pretty good. Good coffee, orange juice, blueberry pancakes. Eggs a little dry, bacon a little greasy, but otherwise a good breakfast.

My only complaint was that there were a number of hairs on the bed and in the bathroom, either from the previous occupant or the cleaner. Otherwise the room was very clean and comfortable.

Overall a great value. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Scrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

In town for the marathon. We were tired and wanted to get to bed relatively early before the run. An exercise in futility. Screaming kids and equally loud parents up and down the hallway all evening long. The walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajj083001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I thoroughly reviewed this place prior to booking so I will include everything that I would have wanted to know:

We are a family of 5 with children ages 2, 4 and 10. We paid extra to have a poolside room and were so glad that we did. The beds were 2 queen and cribs are free if you require them (they are small, travel size cribs with metal bars with a custom-fit mattress and small soft blanket. They are on wheels and kind of rickety). The bathroom was on the smaller side, but that is to be expected. There was a large, flat screen television with pay per view movies offered. The beds had custom pillows that were marked with pretty ribbons as either 'soft' or 'hard' and were accompanied by a pillow chart guide to help you decide which pillow would be best for the way you slept. There were menus to order room service if needed. The toiletries in the room were made by Bath and Body Works (a nice perk!).

Our room was poolside, so we did hear the kids playing outside our room, but that is to be expected. The Holidome is divided into 2 sections (the Holidome and Shipwreck Bay). The outer part has tables, chairs, pool table, foosball table, 2 ping pong tables and video games. There were some birthday parties there during our stay. There is a little hut that sells alcoholic beverages, swimming accessories, as well as takes Domino's Pizza orders. There is also a frozen ice cream freezer for popsicles etc. In the centre of the area is a fenced, gated area that has the pool. There are several gates, one of which was right outside our door. There is a hot tub, loungers, small and large life jackets (free to use) and the pool area. You are also welcome to use as many pool towels as you want, so you don't need to use your bath ones. The pool area is divided by a pirate ship. There are 3 pirate ship slides that lead into deeper water (starts at 2.6 feet and goes to 4 feet deep). Then, there is a smaller, tunnel slide off the pirate ship that leads into a wading pool. All of the water is joined, but the wading pool is sectioned off by bars. This is very handy, but if you have a young child, you will need to make sure that when they go up the pirate ship, that they slide down the wading pool slide and not the big pool slide, as they are all beside one another. There is also an 'abandoned boat' wading pool slide that is wider, larger and separate. Perfect for toddlers. The wading pool also has a tunnel to climb through, a water fountain/squirter and a 'jail'. We were very impressed with the pool's amenities and safety.

The Gallery restaurant was divided into two sections. The dining room area on the left has the fancy, high quality, high priced meals (candle lit dinners etc) and the "Gallery Cafe" is the dining room on the right (less fancy, much cheaper meals). Know where you want to eat prior to choosing a table, so they will bring you to the correct area. The Cafe restaurant is made in the same kitchen as the higher end restaurant, so the food is just as delicious! The major perk was that kids eat free. They can choose from about 5 breakfast options and 6 lunch and dinner options that come with beverages and popsicle dessert. You need to bring your coupon with you each time. In the cafe, steak dinners, flatbread sandwiches, pasta dinners etc, will cost you about $10 each and so a family of 5 can eat delicious food for under $30.

This hotel is right across from West Acres. It is within walking distance, but also has a shuttle service should you need it. There is also a lounge, a gift shop, a fitness centre and free high speed internet access. Pets are allowed. Although they say 'small pets', we definitely saw some larger dogs in the windows of the poolside rooms. We simply requested a room that has not previously had pets and were accommodated. We will definitely return the next time we are in Fargo.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We staying here on a friday night in March when the north dakota home schoolers association was having a conference. All the families and children seemed to be on great behaviors. We had a nice early supper in their cafe and my 2 sons ages 3 & 6 had a great time playing in the pool area. The pirate ship was a fun attraction, water seemed clean, warm and the air was warm too. Our Room was in the tower and a quite large executive room with a flat screen tv and fridge and microwave. The bathroom was a little ackward in it's setup but the beds and pillows were amongst the best i have ever slept on at a hotel. My husband did unfortunately get woken up a couple of times by the occupant next door to us at night, we shared an adjoining room and so we could hear more of his tv then we wanted to. The hotel was in a very convienant area and parking was easy and free.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Rooms are renovated, but small and smelled musty with a heavy scent of febreze to cover the smell. Bathroom was so tiny it was hard to close the door when inside. No fridge in room.

We went to the hotel for the pool as they have a pirate ship with water slides. The pool water was dirty, hazy, and over clorinated. The water was visibly dirty and you could feel the dirt on your feet on the bottom of the pool. The hottub was also scummy and full of dirty bubbles. My son also cut his foot on something in the pool, on the slide, or on the ladder, we weren't sure.

There are also many dogs in the hotel - something to consider if you have allergies.

Staff are friendly, restaurant service was good, and check-in was quick, but for over $100/night, this hotel is a rip off - stay else where! After 3 hours we wanted to leave, but we had prepaid and were essentially stuck...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kells_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fargo hotels

Dewey
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Fist trip to Fargo with the company it was a nice hotel. It was so warm inside and cold outside. The Front Desk was so cheerful it was great. Not much for shopping in the area. Stayed to eat at hotel nice.

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBellaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fargo SW - I-94 45th St
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn Fargo
Kelly Inn Fargo
#29 of 50 in Fargo
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fargo
0.8 mi away
Clubhouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fargo

Property: Holiday Inn Fargo
Address: 3803 13th Ave S, PO Box 9555, Fargo, ND 58103-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Fargo
#10 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fargo 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Fargo sets the standard for quality and convenience. Situated right off two major Interstates, I-29 and I-94, the Fargo Holiday Inn hotel boasts easy access to the West Acres Shopping Center, many restaurants and a variety of entertainment options. All major venues including the Fargodome, Hector International Airport, Microsoft, Scheels, Case IH, Ingersoll Rand/Bobcat, medical centers, NDSU, MSUM & Concordia are only minutes away. The Holiday Inn of Fargo was completely renovated in 2008. Offering a full service restaurant, casino/lounge with live weekend entertainment, exercise room, Shipwreck Bay Water Playland and 27,000 square feet of commercial space, we are the ideal place for vacation travelers or business travelers. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all sleeping rooms, the business center, restaurant, casino/lounge, lobby & pool area. For your convenience the Holiday Inn of Fargo offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport, retail shopping stores and area medical facilities as well as a variety of other Fargo/Moorhead locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fargo Hotel Fargo
Fargo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing