We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most authentic indian food in Fargo”
Review of Passage to India

Passage to India
Ranked #11 of 332 Restaurants in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Passage to India opened in August 2005 and is located inside the Westfield Strip Mall Fargo. Since then, Chef Alham Ali, Chef Birkha Moger, and Chef Sam Rangaswamy have been serving both quality interpretations of classic dishes and daring new ventures to suit the Midwestern palate. Passage to India's interior, as recently remodeled, reflects the urban sensibilities of Fargo's growth while also paying tribute to India's storied past and culture. The restaurant features a daily lunch buffet with over 20 options including a cold bar, vegetarian dishes, and non-vegetarian dishes (highly recommended for first-timers). Following lunch, the restaurant serves full service a La Carte up till close at 9:30p.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Most authentic indian food in Fargo”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The moment you enter this restaurant your nostrils will tell you that you are in the right place. It has authentic Indian food, not too spicy so that everyone can savour it. The cabbage poriyal I ate tasted like it was made at home. The buffet spread has so much variety you have a very hard time choosing what to eat. The owners Sam and Vandana are excellent hosts and take care of each customer with love and affection

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    60
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
750 reviews
620 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Good but no fish”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This is normally a good place for the Sunday buffet. The main attraction on the curry selection that rotates on Sunday is the excellent goat curry or the fish curry. It was the fish today except they were chintzy with the fish. It was all sauce and virtually with no fish. I asked them about it and the guy came out with some fish but not more than a few pieces. What are you thinking? Ridiculous with a 2/3 full restaurant. If fish is too expensive, don't do fish. You can let a main course run out like that. I have given them many high ratings but shame shame.

Helpful?
Thank kawidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good selection of Indian dishes and service was impeccable. The lamb vindaloo and butter dahl were very tasty. The staff were very nice and accepting of our two young toddlers so it's a great place to go with family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niqueh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The food was good here. Meat was cooked very well. Only reason no five is because sometimes I catch a bone or two in the food.

Helpful?
Thank TheSilkMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicer, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately NOT the best restaurant in Fargo”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I honestly have no idea how this could be rated as one of the best restaurants in Fargo. I rely on Tripadvisor for restaurant reviews and it typically does not disappoint, but this one surely did.

Do not waste your time or money here. I stopped in for a lunch buffet during the week and was very disappointed. I was planning on meeting my wife here and called her and told her not to even bother coming. There was a decent selection, but most of the items were out most of the time or not fresh. I was quite surprised that most of the dishes I tried also lacked flavor. And it was $15! Again, not worth the time or money... DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passage to India also viewed

 

Been to Passage to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing