We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allow extra time if you order Teppanyaki”

Kobe's Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #78 of 333 Restaurants in Fargo
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The KOBE’S restaurant specializes in Teppanyaki cooking and sushi cuisine.You will be dazzled and delighted! Every meal is a culinary and performance delight that you are sure to enjoy.WE all look forward to serving you as you experience the spectacular cuisine and entertainment for which KOBE’S is famous!Come and discover Japan on your doorstep KOBE'S where Unique atmosphere,authentic entertainment, elegant dining experience.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Allow extra time if you order Teppanyaki”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Next time I'll have to try the Sushi bar. Friendly service and great tasting food although the Teppanyaki (Hibachi) takes a bit longer to order and prepare so make sure you have the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm sashimi”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

2nd visit, LOVED the sushi and sashimi. Place was hopping, we made a reservation earlier in the day. There are other food options on the menu for meat lovers.
Perfect sashimi, we had the 14 piece sashimi meal plus scallop and salmon egg sashimi pieces. Excellent quality. Also had a few of the rolls, all yummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very nice food and great service, we really enjoyed our meal here. There were a great many choices on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horace, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We came here to celebrate a birthday and it was so much fun! Very entertaining and excellent food! Also received free ice cream sundae for the birthday. Service was excellent. No complaints at all! The kids loved feeding the fish in the indoor pond. We will return!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBernath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“THIS IS NOT A REAL KOBE RESTAURANT BUT A CHEAP CHINESE IMITATION!!!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

THIS IS NOT A REAL KOBE RESTAURANT BUT A CHEAP CHINESE IMITATION!!!
We go to sushi places often, went to most of the sushi restaurants in Los Angeles and when we travel, try to visit as many sushi places, as possible!
But this place is SOO BAD that we do not even know where to start.
1. The service stinks- when miso soup was brought, the server did not care to come to each person separately, rather giving bowls to the nearest customer to pass to others, and if I did not take it, he probably just would put it in my salad. Soup was tasteless and very diluted! When the beer was brought, the glasses had to be requested! It is SUPPOSED TO BE a restorante, not a cheap pub!
2. Servings are very small compare to the other places and do not look fresh.
3. Rolls do not taste right, with very little fish in them, sloppy and it seems they are done from the paper rather than from fish.
4. Sake- O my goodness! We ordered hot house sake, which definitely was sour! They probably reheated it so many times that it turned sour! Honestly, I never tasted anything that BAD!
5. The crab imitation salad (it was on the house, but still!..) smelled rotten fish! That can explain why it was "on the house"!
6. And what really shocked us, the soy souse was very pale- it was diluted!
7. The atmosfere was not good, the vibe was like " O, we better run away from it, or else", really! And that's what we've done!
When we came to ask the host about the ownership, he was very impatient and did not want to take his time to answer our questions, but we found out, that it has nothing to do with the franchise of Kobe - even though they just copied the concept all the way to the details! THE ONLY THING WHICH REMINDS ABOUT KOBE - PRICES!!! The owner is Chinese - Kobe Lim.
We never had such a bad experience with sushi, would never recommend this place to anyone, unless you want to ruin your or someone's day or evening, and would strongly suggest to the owner to stay with cheap Chinese buffet, because his "sushi restaurant" is an insult to sushi and to sushi lovers!
So, unless you want to experience the "other side of service and sushi', stay away from this pretentious, crappy, low quality, but high priced garbage place! Cheap chain sushi places are much better and at least they are not pricey and you know what to expect!
SO STAY AWAY FROM IT!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kobe's Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing