We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The reason I will visit Fargo again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel Donaldson
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
winnipeg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The reason I will visit Fargo again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my first stay in Fargo even though I live so close. My reasoning was if I was going to go this far, I might as well go to Minneapolis. A friend & I went down for a concert & stayed at this amazing hotel. I loved it!!! The rooms were spacious, the service was genuine. We ate in the lounge the night we got there, the food & drinks were way above what we were expecting. I could have hung out there all night. I loved the little touches from baked goods & coffee in the morning, to complimentary wine & cheese in the evening. I loved the idea of every room having different artists decorate them. I will definitely be returning to Fargo because of this hotel & this area of town. We actually booked our next stay before we left:)

Room Tip: Reserve early because they book up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    29
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
77
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ear Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel really was one of a kind. Comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom. It really was a funky, chic, artsy kind of place. We really enjoyed our weekend mini vacation to Fargo, and this hotel was a big reason why. I cannot remember what room we were in anymore, but it was the one featuring the owners daughters art which was surprisingly good/tasteful for a young girl.

If our travels ever take us to Fargo again, you can be guaranteed we will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

our second time here. prefer it to the chains off the main highway. Located in the downtown area of Fargo this hotel is in a refurbished turn of the century building, with rooms that are very different in size and layout each with a different artist contributing to the décor. we like the 5-6 pm complimentary beer, wine, pop along with the wonderful bread, cheeses, hummus and fruit. Very nice touch. The beds are turned down at 8 and we found 2 wonderful chocolate truffles at our bedside along with a CD playing music from a local band. There is a rooftop lounge that is quite nice on a warm summer day. The restaurant food is quite good. I had the walleye and my wife the steak. The food was hot and very tasty. Service was a bit on the slow side though. There was lots of parking on the street. Like the area because of all the little shops and the old architecture. Ask for room 10 if it is available. it is huge! Almost 1000 s.f. This hotel also offers complimentary Wi Fi to its guests.

Room Tip: room 10 is huge also good corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinger1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stay there but don't eat there! There are plenty of better restaurants in the area. Food was ordinary, service was super slow (waited an hour before the food came, waitress nowhere in sight) and patrons blasted with full sun blinding everybody. But really the main complaint is the overpriced and very basic food- nothing at all special...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had heard about this hotel for years and my business travels finally took me to Fargo so I was able to try it out. Everything I had heard was spot on. The hotel was clean and my room was great. I had a nice corner room (#7) and it felt like I had my own apartment in Fargo with a sitting area and desk with a walk through closet. The staff was friendly and welcoming.

One disappointment and the reason for loosing a star was the fact that I filled out the door hanger form they give you a check in to order from a very appetizing breakfast menu. You leave the form on your door by 11pm and check off which time you wish to have breakfast. I filled it out, it was taken, and alas no breakfast ever showed up. I called the front desk and was given no explanation. Having to catch a flight, I had to leave. A disappointing end to what was otherwise a very nice stay.

Bottom line, I wouldn't count on your breakfast being delivered on time (if at all) ....But I would count on a very nice clean hotel with friendly staff and big rooms.

Room Tip: This hotel sits right downtown and faces a bar across the street. If you want a quiet room, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topgun151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been fortunate to have stayed in many really cool, unique properties (boutique hotels and B&B's) and the HoDo is as good as any. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. The facility, from the lounge to the dining room to the roof top bar to our wonderful room (#1), were all unique, cool and "hip". This place has a great vibe. Food was great (bison rib eye) as were the drinks. The roof top hot tube was great on Sunday because the roof top bar is not open on Sunday so we had complete privacy. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I am surprised there are any less than stellar reviews of this boutique hotel! We found the place to be superb in every way - from the spacious layout to the amenities to the very gracious staff. Indeed, we called our suite a pied a terre more than a hotel room. Being from the East Coast and having no family or business in North Dakota, we are thinking of returning just to stay at HoDo's!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianainroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Fargo
Radisson Hotel Fargo
#16 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
3.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fargo
0.5 mi away
Scandia Hotel
Scandia Hotel
#43 of 50 in Fargo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fargo
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fargo
3.7 mi away
Clubhouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Donaldson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Donaldson

Property: The Hotel Donaldson
Address: 101 Broadway N, Fargo, ND 58102-4925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fargo
#19 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Donaldson 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Donaldson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donaldson Hotel Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing