We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy hotel”
Review of Ramada Fargo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Fargo
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Do not stay at this hotel, the elevators are scary and they are just the start of it. Needs total renovations, carpet is most likely the original. Windows and doors do not lock. It smells funky and is over priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to hear though that it was not a positive one. Rest assured that our elevators are checked and maintained every month and are in fine working order. We have replaced all of the carpet in 70% of our guest rooms corridors, and are also currently in the process of getting new carpet ordered for our sleeping rooms. Thank you again for your comments, we hope you'll give us another chance the next time you're in town and allow us the opportunity to show you the changes we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here a few days ago it smelled, staff is terrible and rude, small elevator, dirty everywhere, rooms/housekeeping is poor, you wont get service if your Do Not Disturb is up when housekeeping is ready to clean your room they just stick a note on the door and move on. Don't waste your time asking the front desk about a recommendation for somewhere to eat bc they wont say thing but their restaurant on property . Stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It is very disheartening to receive your review. The errors you encountered are unacceptable and certainly not typical of this hotel. We usually have an outstanding track record of customer service and will do whatever we can to ensure a guest’s stay is as seamless as possible while they are away from home. When our room attendants come upon a room with a ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on it, they will drop a note in the door so as a guest you know you were not inadvertently skipped over. After they have cleaned their remaining rooms, they will circle back around to the rooms that did have the ‘Do Not Disturb” signs on them earlier in the day. . I wish you could have experienced the type of experience that most guests have become accustomed to. I sincerely hope you will give us one more chance. We have proven that we are better than what you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel, the staff was awesome. They answered all my questions and they also response time was amazing. Though if I would have any suggestions, I would get a better internet. I understand with a convention full of smart phones and everyone having at least their own personal computers is a bit much for the hotel. But there were many days where I couldn't connect at all. Also I suggest ordering more pillows. I asked 3-4 times and their was none extra.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corecon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel! As a team, we are most proud of our culture of service, and the elite standard of that customer service implemented in every space that a guest may experience. Our staff will be so happy to read your kind remarks in this category. In regards to the wireless internet access, we apologize that the speed of the network did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked this hotel to use up both Air Miles and some Best Western Points and it did not disappoint.
We found the hotel staff at check in to be very helpful and friendly (Katrina and Stephanie) - also friendly staff when we called for more information about our reservations - the only thing lacking was we wanted to bring our big dog (older and overweight) but their limit is 80 lbs and because he was overweight they couldn't tell us on the phone if they would accept him or not, so we had to leave him behind. On arrival we found we could have brought him anyway - as I indicated he is older but very well behaved so missed having him with us.
We requested a main floor, back door room - since this hotel does not have doors directly to the outside we were only about 3-4 doors down from the exit and that suited us quite well. We were on a back lot so less traffic and quieter.
Because of our points we were assigned a room with 2 queens - we would have preferred one king and that would have given us much more room but the room was clean and comfortable, we were able to check in on arrival shortly after lunch. The bathroom was very spacious. We had to request 2 chairs on arrival as the room had a table and no chairs for sitting, except on the bed. But that was provided promptly.
Things I liked about this place:
- daily rate was very reasonable
- pet friendly hotel
- the room was quite large but clean and comfortable
- our room was quite close to the pool area so we could choose to go when it was "quiet" (less people / kids)
- lots of coffee in our room and we drank it all so they actually left us more packets
- failrly close to the mall and shopping so we were familiar with this area of town
- smoke free environment
Things I didn't care for:
- internet connection was very very slow and sometimes we were "booted" off - may be cause there were lot of conferences (rooms) here - it was difficult at times to log back in
- didn't provide their own on site breakfast however there was a restaurant on site with quite decent food, good service and friendly staff - was quite reasonable.
- hotel allows up to 80 lb dogs but sometimes it's the little ones that are noisy and more destructive and we did notice someone with 2 larger dogs that made up more than the weight of my one dog!
- cleaning service was very good but times they came to the room were unpredictable - sometimes quite late in the day - we were there for 3 nights!
- cleaning service changed towels daily but not the beds and they didn't re-make up your bed daily unless it was left unmade - 2 days out of 3 were left unmade

Room Tip: Be very specific in requesting a room - I wanted main floor due to some mobility issues and found th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladywest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for experiencing the Doublewood Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We appreciate all the comments you provided and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and earn a 5 star rating from you, as we truly do strive for a perfect stay with all of our guests. Enjoy the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The staff was very helpful and pleasant, even offering us cookies as we checked in! The room was fine, although my bed had a wierd squeak (mostly when I was getting in and out). I couldn't get on the internet. I didn't call for help because it was late and I was tired. Our biggest complaint was with the breakfast. I know, one of them was free, so why should I complain? We have stayed at a hotel in Billings, MT where both breakfasts were free, and good. Both our breakfasts here left much to be desire. The eggs were tasteless, the pancakes flat and tasteless, the syrup watered down. The quantity of food was pretty skimpy as well. All that said, the coffee was some of the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review of your experience with us. While it is very disheartening to hear of the troubles you encountered while you were with us, I value the feedback and I will certainly ensure we correct these errors immediately. We usually get great comments about our food, so to hear that we failed on some of the simple things is very disappointing to all of us. We can do better and hope to have the privilege to prove this to you in the future. We will do anything to earn back your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are small, the halls were dirty, the pool area needed repairs. The rails over looking the pool area were broken. This is very dangerous for children leaning on them. The lobby was super clean and very nice but the rest of the hotel looked dirty. The beds looked new and were super comfy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thomas W,

Thank you very much for your response. We sincerely appreciate your review as we truly use our guest's valued feedback to try to make things better for the future. We are currently in the process of updating our hallways and it has caused a bit of a mess in the halls while this project is being completed. You spend as much or more of your time in the bed during your stay than anywhere else in the hotel so I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your bed and had a great night’s sleep! Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Watch for the extra 30.00 dollars they charge you for staying there. They could at least have free coffee in the lobby and include bacon in the morning. We have gotten better value at more reasonable hotel chains than this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony S, General Manager at Ramada Fargo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We love to hear from our guest's, excellent, good or bad, so we can address the items and learn from our mistakes. We do offer complimentary coffee in each of our sleeping rooms and do have bacon on our menu for not only breakfast, but lunch and dinner too! I am, however, confused as to the $30 charge you are referring to. We do not have any “hidden” fees of any sort. If you could, I would greatly appreciate hearing from you so we can discuss what that may have been, or determine if it was just an authorization for incidentals when you had checked in. Thank you again for your time and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fargo
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Fargo
Holiday Inn Fargo
#30 of 50 in Fargo
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#27 of 50 in Fargo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#36 of 50 in Fargo
9 reviews
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Fargo
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Fargo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fargo

Address: 3333 13th Ave S, Fargo, ND 58103-3404 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Fargo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Fargo
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Fargo 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hotel & Conference Fargo is situated 5 miles from downtown. A total of 14,500 square feet of flexible meeting space is all conveniently located on one level and is able to accommodate groups of five to 1,200. The hotel is a few minutes away from both North Dakota State University and Moorhead State University, making it ideal for guests visiting students. Located just minutes from West Acres Mall as well. Families with children will especially enjoy spending the day at the Children's Museum or visiting Yunker Farm or Bonanzaville. Browse through the Archies West Gallery and Heritage Hjemkomst and then spend the evening at the Fargo Symphony. Other nearby attractions include the Plains Art Museum and Trollwood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Fargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fargo Doublewood Hotel Fargo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing