We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food!”

HuHot Mongolian Grill
Ranked #26 of 330 Restaurants in Fargo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed all the entree's! Atmosphere was excellent and the service was great!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients but sometimes too crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We like being able to fill our plates with our chosen vegetables and meats. The ingredients are usually fresh, but sometimes items get mixed in with other items and it doesn't seem as clean as we'd like. If you get there when they open you are assured the freshest food. The lines can get a little long, but the meal is grilled as you chose. Adding your own sauce and toppings is also a bonus. It's fun to be creative and try diffent mixtures.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“HuHot is a Winner Anytime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We go here often, it's a very nice change from the dull boring same old places to go out and eat. Good food, fun to watch them make your food, the service is a little slow but you really don't need them except to seat you and get your beverages and refills. All in all you will enjoy yourself here. A must try if you haven't as of yet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randys_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselton, North Dakota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong for lunch price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

For $7.50 during lunch hours, you really can't go wrong. It's all you can eat! Some other reviewers complain about the quality of the food, but I haven't had an issue. Plus, you pick what you want, so if you don't like it, who's fault is that?

Helpful?
Thank Curt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hu Hot? Please let's not.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Seriously, this is some of the worst "food" I've had the displeasure of eating. It tastes as if someone opened the econo-food service can of bland and slathered it with ultra salty soy sauce and then let a twenty something carelessly cook it while I have to listen to their ignorant work banter. I overheard one of the cooks tell another about a "documentary" that he had watched that (shockingly) said that humans had a single ancestor, and that we are of a single race. Both "chef's" were shocked at that revelation, and I nearly knocked myself out by slapping my own forehead.

Oh, but we should also mention the atmosphere of this atrocious strip mall eatery. It's buffet style eating of worst variety. People are constantly milling about you as you dine, due to the nature of it's design. You file up to the buffet filled with uncooked food items (again, of the cheapest and most tasteless variety), fill your bowl with stuff, ladle on some mystery sauce, and then watch as someone who doesn't care simply toss the watery mess onto a large griddle. The whole time, children are running underfoot, strip mall shoppers are milling about you constantly, and everyone is desperately trying to ignore that you're packed in cheek by jowl to a stranger. Even when you get to your seat, it's impossible to get away from the throngs of people attempting to pack away the tasteless morsels as if there's a five pound minimum on the contents of your stomach, measured at the door on your way out. (OK, that last bit it isn't quite true...) If you like D grade meat (is there feces in this? how does it taste so horrible?), vegetables of indiscernible age and origin (besides the fact that they come from an econo food service can, school lunch style), and a loud and rushed atmosphere of gluttony, Hu Hot is for you. If you like food and or the health of your body, avoid this place like the plague.

I feel terrible for those who have rated this eatery (pig trough) above 1 star (seriously why is there no 0 star rating?), as it means they haven't yet discovered the pleasures of eating well prepared food. I guess there's no accounting for personal taste. I will NEVER return. You've been warned...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HuHot Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to HuHot Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing