We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloppy - competitors outshine for same price.”
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Sloppy - competitors outshine for same price.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Short and sweet:

- Arrived, room wasn't ready by check-in time, waited about 30-45 mins for them to get it ready.
- Was told where I had to park because they were painting lines in the parking lot.
- Television in the room is "not compatible" with devices I bring along with me, despite the hookups being plain as day there. Staff member blamed his "maintenance guy" - whoever that is.
- A general "who cares" attitude from staff and a lack of initiative or willingness to own up to problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FargoEL_GM, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the negative experience you had during your stay. We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right. My apologies for the parking lot, it was being repainted the day you arrived. I want to assure you I have addressed time management with our housekeeping staff and have taken extra steps to ensure situations like these don’t happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will give the Fargo Econo Lodge another try next time you find yourself in the area.

Sincerely,

Heather Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    43
    27
    17
    17
See reviews for
38
35
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
298 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We could hardly find a room to stay in because of local activities but finally found one here. The manager checked us in and was prompt. Excellent service. Our room was clean and comfortable.

The only problem we had was that some of the bathroom tiles were broken and some of the grout was coming out. Since I walk barefoot sometimes I could have injured myself. I did not report it as the hotel was full and they couldn't have done anything about it while we were there anyway.

We did not try the breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippyways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lake
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If you don't mind cold coffee in the morning! Stayed one night, but the morning staff really needs to work on some customer service skills!

Easy to find, but picked a different hotel on our return trip as we wanted something with a little more for our money, found it & will be staying there if through Fargo again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FargoEL_GM, Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We apologize we did not provide you with the experience that you and our staffs expects. We value your feed back and use it as tools to better our service and to improve our hotel. We would like you to come back to the Econo Lodge here in Fargo to give us a chance to make things right. I believe you will be pleasantly suprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a good stay was clean and quiet, front desk staff was great she suggested where to eat and it was awesome. Morning staff the next morning was not as friendly when we mentioned coffee was not warm, he said yeah it was on when I came on. He did put fresh on while we ate but maybe he just wasn't a morning person. Not sure we would stay again though it was good, as we smoke and we had a pet coming back with us. So picked another hotel to stay at which suited us better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaniMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Whenever I am in town I will choose the Econo Lodge hands down over any other hotel in the area. The location is perfect located pretty much in the center of Fargo, ND with I-29 and 13 Ave located just a block away, these roads are the gateway to Fargo and can get you anywhere in 10 min or less. The staff is always friendly and rooms always clean. Whenever I am in town it is sometimes on short notice, I call the hotel, and in rockstar fashion they provide me with the best possible service I could expect. I can't stress enough the friendly demeanor the staff here provides. I have stayed at Econo Lodges elsewhere and this Fargo location stands out one in a million which reflects the ability of the manager to put together and maintain a great staff. I would encourage Econo Lodges everywhere to take note of this exceptional location so customers everywhere can have the same experience I encounter time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very clean and comfortable, friendly staff I plan in staying there again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crookston, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It had been over a year since the last time I stayed at the Fargo Econo Lodge, and I must say it was once again a great stay at an affordable price. I was once again pleased with the friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean rooms, and relaxing atomosphere. This hotel has now saved me money and made me feel at home on 2 seperate occasions over a year apart. There is no doubt that this is where I will choose to stay the next time I am in Fargo once again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byram006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn West Acres
Quality Inn West Acres
#39 of 50 in Fargo
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#45 of 50 in Fargo
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#12 of 50 in Fargo
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#27 of 50 in Fargo
195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#49 of 50 in Fargo
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Property: Econo Lodge East
Address: 1401 35th St S, Fargo, ND 58103-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge(R) East is situated across I29 from West Acres Mall, north of Interstate 94. Easy access to North Dakota State University, the Fargodome arena, Roger Maris Museum, Red River Valley Speedway and Bonanzaville USA Cass County Historical Society museum. Microwaves, refrigerators and coffee pots in all rooms at no extra charge. We also offer in-house special rates for vets/ active military (with ID), medical and construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fargo
Fargo Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing