We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New management makes the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New management makes the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Clean, good thoughtful touches in the room plus managers who seem to be working hard to raise the profile of their lodge and it's not so good reputation which preceded them. We see it is paying off; we were almost not able to re-book because their availability was limited. Whereas once the location struggled to attract good customers now it is difficult to get a room - a good problem to have. It's a good location a good price and a good bed in a good clean room. Keep up the good work, folks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the encouragement. Patti and I are working hard to keep Econo Lodge East not only maintaining its levels but making improvements where we can.

Thanks for staying with us.

Chris and Patti
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    42
    27
    16
    17
See reviews for
38
34
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

clean rooms. clean showers. good staff. Very good value for money. We stayed here as a couple on our way to Theodore Roosevelt National Park. Good restaurants too nearby. We will stay here again too .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for staying with us here. Although we were going through many growing pains we a happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Sorry for the late response.

Have a great day and we hope your vacation was pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room we were in was spacious and located at the end of the hall on the lower floor. Room was clean and comfortable. The down side was a dripping tub and an AC located on the wall blowing over the beds. I will give them the benefit of the doubt on several issues. It was a weekend and they were obviously shorthanded. The outside was disappointingly dirty with a side door trashcan overflowing and trash in the lot needing a cleanup. We checked in Friday and left Monday so I am not sure what was done on the exterior. As noted before the rooms were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We are currently working on getting the inside remodeled and this summer will be looking at repainting the outside and changing the landscaping a bit too. We hope you will stay here again.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

For a low price hotel it was not so bad. My wife, two kids, and I just got done staying there for three nights. This is the perfect hotel for a solo, couple, or two friends, and for one night. Here is why. Like others have stated, the staff is wonderful. The manager and cleaning crew were very friendly and accommodating. The young lady that checked us in and out was friendly but not so professional. She had friends hanging out in the office at both check in and check out; but whatcha gonna do? The room did leave something to be desired, especially the carpet. The bottom of my feet and my kids socks were black from the carpet after one evening. My wife made sure our kids wore their shoes while they were in the room for the rest of our stay. The rooms were also a bit small for a family, especially the bathroom. Lastly, breakfast was the same each morning, waffles, toast, english muffins, mini donuts and muffins, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, milk, and oj. All good but, it does get old by the third morning.

Room Tip: Find the cheapest price online for the hotel, and the manager will match it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for staying with us. We are working on remodeling the entire hotel. Part of the changes will include setting up a schedule for regular cleaning of the carpets. We are also looking at adding some fresh cooked items to the breakfast such as sausage and fresh cooked eggs to order.

We hope you will stay with us again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've stayed at this Econolodge for years. We live in the Twin Cities and visit my parents in Bismarck once or twice a year, and we break up the drive by spending the night in Fargo.
The staff at Econolodge are always very friendly, and the rooms are clean and everything functions well. We've never had any problems with noise, smelly rooms, or anything not working properly.
Pricing has always been more than reasonable for a basic hotel. Remember, this isn't the Four Seasons, but it has everything my family and I need and expect for the occasional overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom111222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for your regular stays with us. We are actually looking at options to upgrade the hotel. Some ideas are a fitness room, larger laundry facility that would be open full-time and even a hot tub and sauna possibly. We are adding 18 rooms to our inventory and replacing the full size beds with queens.

Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The staff was excellent, friendly, helpful, accommodating, upbeat, and welcoming.
The room however was terrible. This is not a two star hotel, this is a run down one star in desperate need of a renovation.
Being pet friendly means pet messes which have to be cleaned up properly. I'm guessing the room I stayed in was cleaned with some powerful ammonia based cleaners. I stayed two nights and it took the first day for the overwhelming stench to die down to a tolerable level. Had the staff not been as friendly as they were I'd of demanded another room.
The value is good, you get a good above average continental breakfast, free wifi, fridge and microwave in room and it's close to the mall.

Downside was everything was worn out, stained, and smelly.

Being a Priceline customer I'd be very disappointed if I got this hotel again before some major work is done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor so you can air out your room without worrying about leaving the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We apologize for any smells from cleaners in your room. We are working on getting upgrades for the rooms and improving on little things. We appreciate not just good reviews but also the reviews where we fell short as a team.

Thank you for staying with us.

Chris and Patti
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fargo hotels

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Ok, let me start by saying, anyone who has written a negative review should be reminded that they have booked at a 2 star hotel, so you should show up expecting a 2 star, not a 4 star. Folks should at least review it as a 2 star to be fair, which is what I have done.

I booked this hotel off hot wire for 1 night and received an excellent rate. Room was inexpensive and I was there for 1 night and really didn't expect much. Here's what we got:

- nice clean room, comfy bed.
- flat screen TV
- fridge/microwave
- excellent location near West Acres mall and all the box store shopping.
- free WiFi
- free breakfast (variety of hot & cold cereal, toast, bagels, donuts & muffins, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice).

What the hotel doesn't have is a pool or hot tub.

I'd recommend the hotel for:

- short stays
- travelers on a budget
- girls shopping weekend (4 to a room would make the room dirt cheap)
- seniors
- couples with no kids

The staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlvb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review, 28 February 2015
Thank you for your stay and review. As the new general manager since last year I am trying to catch up on older reviews. We are currently going through a remodel which will add rooms and we have already removed our double beds and replaced them with queens. We are also looking at options such as expanding the breakfast items and adding a fitness center.

Have a great day and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn West Acres
Quality Inn West Acres
#38 of 50 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#45 of 50 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#49 of 50 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Fargo
Days Inn Fargo
#15 of 50 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#36 of 50 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Property: Econo Lodge East
Address: 1401 35th St S, Fargo, ND 58103-3419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Fargo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge(R) East is situated across I29 from West Acres Mall, north of Interstate 94. Easy access to North Dakota State University, the Fargodome arena, Roger Maris Museum, Red River Valley Speedway and Bonanzaville USA Cass County Historical Society museum. Microwaves, refrigerators and coffee pots in all rooms at no extra charge. We also offer in-house special rates for vets/ active military (with ID), medical and construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fargo
Fargo Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing