We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The price was good, but wish we would have paid more & stayed somewhere else.
The bed was very comfortable. The room and furnishings were very dated. This may have been why the room didnt feel clean.
Large icicles hanging from the rooftop came crashing down and almost hit us. The walk was not cleared and it was very icy entering the building from the parking lot - almost fell twice.
The first morning the there was no coffee as the coffee machine wasn't working - needed coffee so had breakfast at the restaurant next door.
Second morning, had to ask at front desk for coffee creamers and other items they gad run out of.
Nobody came to replenish items unless someone went to the front desk and asked. Garbage container was overflowing - no one was wiping tables. It appears they don't have enough staff. Watched a woman trying to check out ring the bell numerous times but the desk person was getting herself a coffee in the breakfast area. She blamed the overbite person for not stocking up the breakfast area.
They didn'tt make up our room or replenish our towels on the second day, and deactivated our room card which left us locked out of the building and our room. No apology offered when we went to have them reactivated.
We will definitely pay a little more & seek better accommodations on our next trip to Fargo.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpgfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

wpgfilly,

First and foremost, allow me to personally apologize as the General Manager for falling short on your expectations and having a less than perfect stay with us at the Rodeaway Inn.
I would have welcomed a phone call to discuss this personally and rectify what I could have.
For now, please allow me to address some of your concerns and please know that we take every review and comment from our guests very seriously and learn from every one.
As you may have read below on earlier reviews, we have recently taken over this property and are working hard to update and fix issues hotel wide. I wont repeat all the wonderful things we have done so far, and we continue daily to address the facility needs to make our guests stay a pleasant one.
This weekend had many scenarios that created 'a perfect storm' so to speak. Blizzard like conditions and high traffic in the hotel due to events and weather created an extreme snow removal and cleanup problem. Since this is the first winter with the new owners and manager, we are experiencing and addressing how to fix problems such as the icicles. We are having a company look into the roof insulation to see if this is an area we need to address and what we can do to prevent this in the future. We worked hard to stay ahead of the snow and clear the parking lot and walk ways with the heavy traffic we had .
I understand as we were a full house, we had so many guests getting coffee at one time the new coffee machine could not keep up heating the water and had to shut itself down
( computerized ) to allow the water to reheat. It was not broken, it only needed time to reheat.
I am glad you enjoyed the bed quality and had a good night sleep so I am disappointed that you only gave us a rating of two stars on sleep quality, and the low rating on value since you liked the price was a bit concerning as well. We have cleaned the entire hotel top to bottom and had the room carpets and chairs professionally cleaned recently as well.
The other items are attention to detail that we obviously missed this day, but our staff will learn from this review as they do from any review that is less than perfect.

I hope you would consider another visit with us to see how our service is on second visit. I am confident you would have a great stay.

Thank you again for your review and rest assured we value your patronage and concern to let us know about your stay and we will work hard to make Rodeway a hotel of choice in Fargo.

Dean Rich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel staff were very genuine and down to earth. They really would do as much as they possibly could, to get us what we needed and to places we wanted to go. The room was spacious and clean. Comfortable and great tea selection with the extensive continental breakfast. Loved the fresh fruit!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Megan,
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at Rodeway and for the kind
review.
Our staff really works hard to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible, and it
is great for them to know you recognized that. It will mean a lot to them to know they made a difference while you stayed with us.

Thank You again,
Dean Rich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was really impressed with the price of the room we got, a king sized bed with a jacuzzi. A few updates would really improve the place but I was overall quite amazed. Two TVs were available so you could see from the bed as well as from the jacuzzi. Although I didn't go to see the continental breakfast room, the waffles were amazing. Also loved the thought that went into having two heater/ac units in the room. One that blew right towards the jacuzzi and the other on the other half of the room. From the outside of the building I was wondering what we had got ourselves into, could use a little color to the outside of the building. The parking lot was a little confusing and clustered. Especially with a recent snow fall, the snow removal crew could have done a little better of a job. Otherwise was very satisfied with our one night stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nicoleo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Nicole,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Fargo Rodeway Inn. We appreciate knowing about our guests experiences with us as it helps us to improve our service in the future.
I apologize about the snow issues in the parking lot. The blizzard did make it a mess for us as well as the entire community, and as we tried our best to keep up with the snow and the removal; mother nature was definitly having a good time with us!
We continue to enhance the hotel and work on the rooms daily to update the hotel.
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and had a nice romantic get away at the Rodeway Inn Fargo! We look foward to seeing you next on your next visit to Fargo.

Sincerely,
Dean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Excellent place to stay. kept it well cleaned and service was wonderful. The staff and manager were very helpful and I will stay here again. The breakfast was great fresh food and great coffee. The rooms are very nice, beds are great and bathrooms are clean very well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Lance,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Rodeway.
Our staff work hard to ensure our guests get a great value while staying with us.
Thank you for letting other tavelers know about our great service and amenities as well.
see you the next your travels bring you to Fargo.

Dean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The room was very comfortable. Quiet place we slept well. The breakfast was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Diffently will stay again!!! The only thing that I didn't like was that the pillows were too flat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

We love to hear about great stays from our guests; thank you so much!
The staff works hard to ensure a safe, clean and comfortable environment for all our guests.
As we continue to make improvements not all happen at once, Even though we have added new pillows, some have not yet been replaced, and I am sorry for that.
We hope to see you the next time you visit Fargo!
Dean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Staff was great. The gentlemen at the front desk (Riley) was very nice and knowledgeable of the area. The room was clean and comfortable, we will come again. Looks like the new management is doing a good job with the place. we found it a good value, the hot tub was actually hot, which was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

I am happy to hear you noticed the improvements at the Rodeway Inn.
Our staff has been working so hard to give our guests the hotel experoience they deserve, as well as a reasonable price!
Thank You and stop in again the next time you visit Fargo!
Dean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Very kind and helpful staff, slept well and great location the manager took time to introduce himself, we will stay there again! The rate was very reasonable Hpusekeepers were very sweet and the room was toasty warm and clean. The pillows were soft, they went to all legnths to be sure we were satisfied. Ntw the cafe cafe next door was awsome.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivyrose4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean R, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for the great review of your stay at the Rodeway Inn! We really do want to have every guest have the same experience you had while staying with us, and the staff works hard to help meet that goal!
Im glad that we will be seeing you for your future stays in Fargo!
Dean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fargo hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#39 of 50 in Fargo
143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn West Acres
Quality Inn West Acres
#44 of 50 in Fargo
127 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#46 of 50 in Fargo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Fargo/I-29/West Acres Mall
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fargo
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#43 of 50 in Fargo
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2202 University Dr S, Fargo, ND 58103-5344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Fargo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Fargo
Price Range: £32 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Fargo
Rodeway Inn Fargo
Fargo Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing