We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Knife & Cleaver
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bedford Marston Moretaine(Marston Moretaine)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
304
88
43
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
304
88
43
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbletchley parkcheese boardfor sunday lunchsuperior roommain buildinglovely roomtwo night stayfollowing morningcooked breakfastknife cleaverchurch bellsterrystartersbedfordshiremillbrookaccommodationannex
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a lovely evening at the Knife and Cleaver, food was excellent and our room was very comfy. Staff are very friendly and polite. Would highly recommend to anyone. Beautiful location. From a nice Tomasine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGarner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thanks so much for comming & thanks for writing your review.
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I arrived at the Pub/Bed and Breakfast at 14.30 to be advised I could not check in until 16.00
WHY??? I have stayed in larger more pusher establishments and have been able to check in sooner than the normal 14.00 checkin. I got into the room later at 19.00 to find the room damp the bed unaired and it smelling like a caravan, considering they knew is was arriving they could have put the heater on and aired the bed.
We went in for our meal that was a set course at £25.00 per person we had pate and the brioche that went with it was very greasy like it had been deep fried, I ordered a peppercorn sauce to accompany my steak and after asking twice the waiter came out and advised me that it had gone thick so chef making me some more??? well sorry i would have rather been advised that it had been forgotten.
The rest of the meal was ok but the dessert Crepe Suzette was sitting in a pool of flavoursome sauce.
We returned back to our room, the window needed dusting and the left one would not open,then I decided to have a shower well I think if stood in the rain it woukld have been more powerful also when you turned the heat up it started making an horrendous knocking noise so decided I would try again in the morning.
Well mnorning came an I thought I would shower before hubby and go to brekfast but the shower was as bad if not worse and the knocking woke hubby who said he would give the shower a miss and have one when he got home.
We went into the bar area where we were seated for breakfast the waitress was very official to the point of being abrubt, she said she was busy there were about 20 of us in there two tables of eight and me and hubby hardly rammed.
She asked re breakfast and looked put off when I asked for cornflakes as well as cooked.
The juice and the smallest pot of tea ever arrived, the juice warm and the tea about the same temperature, the cornflakes arrived and I had to use milk that was also warm on the table leaving none left for the tea, she was miffed when I asked for another Tea and extra milk.
I then went to the bar rather than bother her as she was busy and the juice was in a jug on there so I poured a glass after waiting a short while for her attention, she then came out and scorned me saying she would get told off as she was serving me, I apologised.
The breakfast came out and the mushrooms were cold the sausage bizarre crumbly more like black pudding, I asked for more tea and poured a cup but it tasted odd so I smellt the milk and it was off I waited for my server but again no sign so went to bar and advised her she did not believe me so she smelt it and then got me some more.
At this time I chased the toast we had ordered initially with the tea and coffee well i do not give my guests a full uncut slice of toast at home itys either cut in half or triangles I was incredulous.
Basics I say.
I went back to room but upon checkout I was asked was everything ok well with one of the owners standing directly behind me [graham] I advised well no not really and advised her of a couple of the issues not once did he ask what was the problem or make a comment.
I left and then emailed Graham advise of my upset and that the weekend I had been looking forward was tarnished.
He replied very curtly with "Then why did you not talk to me directly" so i replied stating I thought his staff would have had the autonomy to deal with it or as he was in direct earshot he should have made it his point to find out.
I have heard nothing since.
I was looking at going there for New Year 2014 but needless to say I would rather go somewhere I will feel appreciated and not a burden.
I travel and go away for most weekends and have not been treated like this in a while.
And off Milk what the .....

Room Tip: my room was no 6
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank J00ls59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Ha ha ha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My poor review is based on my own experience at the Knife and Cleaver and does not reflect the place as a whole. I booked a weekend away at the Knife and Cleaver as it was advertised on a dog friendly website. I wanted to stay somewhere that we could take our dog with us and go for long walks during the day and use the pub in the evenings. Unfortunately the pub did not allow us to have our dog inside. Our dog was allowed in the room only. Unfortunately our dog is sensitive away from home and in a strange place. If we left him in a room on his own he would howl and would more than likely upset the other guests. I asked the more than helpful member of staff if there was any way our dog could join us in the pub in the evenings. He phoned the landlord and did his best to try to think of a solution like sitting us in the corner away from the other guests but the landlord refused to allow our dog to join us in the pub. As a result we used another pub. The only thing we did at the Knife and Cleaver was sleep there! We ate and drank at a The French Horn in Sittingbury who will be receiving a 5* review from me. They were a dog friendly pub and were more than happy to except our custom. The Knife and Cleavers room was nice, clean and the member of staff I spoke to was friendly. However as we could not bring our dog inside my stay was not enjoyable. I spent a lot of money at another pub which I could of spent at the Knife and Cleaver. As I said at the beginning this review is based on my own experience and does not reflect the quality of the place as a whole.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mattrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Sorry about that but we are a dog friendly place but dogs have to be kept uner controll and in their place..
We can not allow dogs to be out of controll inside the premesis.
Tha French Horn is nothing like us, they have an idividual bar lonuge & restaurant with closed doors, We are open plan.
Do not compare us with them.
Sorry
Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Having seen Terry & Graham on 4 in a bed we decided to treat ourselves to a meal there and what a wonderful evening we had! The food is superb, staff attentive and friendly and conversation with Terry and Graham was a real fun way to round off the evening. Can't wait to return and meet the dogs!
Lovely lovely experience x
Di, Brian & Phil Lack xxx

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank dJL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks so much it was great meeting you too. So happy you enjoyed yourselves.
Thanks for taking time in writing your review.
Graham & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for just one night but couldn't be happier. Place looks really loved and cared for. Immaculately clean, lovely décor, nice quiet room, even had a claw foot tub. Would have l
Liked to stay longer. Lovely breakfast and the staff we're all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazza722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
I will pass on your comments to all the Team
Graham & Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews