We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Knife & Cleaver
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Visiting family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Superbly decorated with a beautiful garden and outside area opposite a very old church, this pub restaurant with chalet accommodation is very well cared for.
We did not eat evening meal because we went to see family but we used the bar area which was lovely. Other guests told us the meals were very good and we thought breakfast was excellent with fresh local produce very well presented.
One minor point was that the bar area was hoovered whilst we are breakfast. It was a little intrusive.
We would like an earlier check in and later check out but have seen the explanation on the website. We also think the wifi needs a boost in the end deluxe chalet.
Our room was spotless and every credit should go to the cleaner. The shower was very strong indeed. I wish I had it!
In terms of price I'd say the room was at the top end for its size although it was very nicely decorated.
We would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks so much, great you enjoyed yourselves.
Sorry about the vacuum cleaner but don't forget cleanliness is next to godliness!!!\
:):) lol
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    74
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
89
187
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you like good food and friendly people then this is the place to go. The new chef has big ideas and the skills to match and the front of house is efficient and friendly - they really care that you have a good experience.

The food looks as good as it tastes.

Thoroughly recommended - it is so good to see that good dining has returned to Houghton Conquest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugh_sykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks so much, we all try so hard and our team are just getting better.
Thanks for your kind words.
Graham, Terry & All at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

As usual a very pleasant atmosphere and friendly service. The food isn't gastro-pub standard but it's pretty good nonetheless and reasonable value. There was a good range of meals for the kids and they enjoyed tormenting poor Crumbs the parrot. We have been before and we will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Great to hear from you, thanks for the review
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Spent two nights here with our 3 dogs. Had a really relaxing and enjoyable time. The dogs were made very welcome and fussed over which they really enjoyed. The dog garden next to the room was really useful. The room was very nice. Clean, lovely linen and fluffy towels. We'd probably have liked a bit more storage- 3 dogs need a lot of baggage! Ate in the restaurant one night and really enjoyed ourselves- lovely flavours, beautifully presented, nice wine list. Breakfast also was good- had the full English both mornings. Lots of good walks around the village. Visited the Forest Centre at Marston Moretaine-also good for dog walks. Thanks very much to everyone who made our stay so lovely. xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks so much for comming & enjoying your self and your pets. thanks for letting us know.
Hope wee see you again.
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night June 2013. Wonderful room. And lovely friendly staff. Gorgeous breakfast the next morning too. Just looking to book it up for our anniversary this year. Defiantly has 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
How fantastic you are comming back, so pleased that we will be seeing you again.
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the Knife & Cleaver for four nights whilst visiting relatives in Bedford. The room and all areas of the hotel were immaculate including the gardens. We took our dog with us & he too was made welcome, he even had access to the 'doggy' garden. Dogs are not allowed inside the bar/restaurant but this wasn't a problem for us as he was on his best behaviour and we were able to leave him in our room for the time we were having dinner.
We found both the owners & all staff to be helpful, professional and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is in a lovely, peaceful location & if we travel to Bedford again we would not hesitate staying at the Knife & Cleaver.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks so much for comming and great that you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I visited the knife and cleaver for his birthday in March after seeing it on four in a bed, when we arrived we were greeted by a lovely man at the bar who showed us to our room and made us feel welcome, once we had settled in we went to the restaurant for our evening meal, which was amazing! The chicken Amsterdam was beautiful, and dessert was equally beautiful, we slept well although the church bells were ringing, that is beyond their control, in the morning we went to have breakfast, which again was lovely, the waitress was attentive and made sure we had everything we needed, extra tea and coffee. All the staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome, the only thing we would say was that the wifi didn't work, and the signal was poor, but other than that our stay was excellent and we will definitely return, thank you for such a lovely stay! 5 star!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maeedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks so much for your review, So happy you enjoyed your stay and thanks for writing the kind review, i will pass on your remarks to the team.
Thanks Again
Graham & Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Conquest
5.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.9 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knife & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knife & Cleaver

Property: The Knife & Cleaver
Address: The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Houghton Conquest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton Conquest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Knife & Cleaver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Knife & Cleaver is situated in the pretty village of Houghton Conquest just 5 miles from the centre of Bedford and less than an 1 hour by rail from London.Overlooking the magnificent grade 1 listed All Saints church and beautiful countryside. The Knife & Cleaver is a ramblers paradise, with a great selection of walks ranging from two & a half miles, three miles, four and four and a half miles. We offer 9 beautiful double or twin rooms, each en-suite & offering T.V. Tea & Coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, Room service, open 7 days a week from 7 am until midnight.The mainline Rail station to Brighton thru London for Flitwick runs 7 days a week and there are trains almost every 20 minutes.We have disabled access & Cots available. Our four fine chefs are very proud to offer you a varied menu only using all fresh locally sourced ingredients. Special dietary requirements are offered. We are here to serve you and look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Knife & Cleaver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knife & Cleaver Hotel Bedford
The Knife And Cleaver
Knife Cleaver Bedford
Knife Cleaver Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing