We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Knife & Cleaver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Knife & Cleaver
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Anniversary break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great customer service, they catered for my wifes dietary needs without batting an eyelid for both the evening meal and breakfast.
Very friendly staff.
Great food, lovey garden area in which to relax.
A great nights stay.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thanks so much for your very kind words.
I will pass on your thanks. Great to hear from you and so pleased you had a good time.
Graham & Terry and all the team at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    72
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
87
185
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a fantastic little gem of a place, tucked away, in the middle of a lovely little village. The food was fantastic, the pub atmosphere brilliant, the service from most was good in the evening the lady in the morning was lovely and really attentive, the room was great. My family and I (8 of us in total, including a 7 year old and a 6 month old shih Tzu puppy) were made very welcome at the Knife & Cleaver last weekend. My sister lives near by, so next time we are visiting, I will rebook the Knife & Cleaver. The English breakfast the following morning was the best English breakfast I have had in a long long time and I work in hotels. The evening meal was fantastic, quality was superb, and just the right portion size. Thank you to the Knife & Cleaver for making a family get together so special. 10 out of 10!! loved it!! and will be back. Say hi to Crumbs the Parrot from us.

Room Tip: If you are taking a dog, ask for the end room with the little private garden area for dogs, it is id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Arrive as a guest leave as a friend, Thanks so much great you enjoyed your stay with us.
Graham & Terry and all the team at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying for two nights whilst on business in Bedford. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean with all the facilities you would expect including free wi-fi. The highlight of the stay was a fantastic meal in the restaurant. The food was superb, the service prompt and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The following morning I enjoyed a freshly cooked English breakfast . I would thoroughly recommend the Knife and Cleaver and in particular the restaurant (but be sure not to upset the friendly hotel parrot)!.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dinoSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thanks so much you are great to write such a review and Crumbs (parrott) send his love
Thanks
Graham, Terry & all the team at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed here for two nights whilst attending a nearby wedding, and very much enjoyed our stay.

The accommodation was comfortable and provided all that we needed, along with good parking facilities.

We loved the hotel's bar and restaurant, and sampled the lunch and evening menu during our stay. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful or welcoming from the moment we arrived.

Unfortunately we did not meet Graham, but Terry was a wonderful host and took time to chat with us through the evening. I enjoyed what must be the best risotto I had ever eaten in a restaurant. I later discovered that it was personally cooked by Terry himself!

The public areas are tastefully furnished and are a very welcome place to relax and enjoy a meal and a glass of wine. I would definitely return to sample more of Terry's cooking and the hospitality of his Team.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
So sorry I didn't meet you, I am afraid I have a bit of walking dificulty, but thanks for letting us all know that you enjoyed yourselves, and thanks for writing your review.
Graham & terry & all the team at The Knife & Cleaver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I held my husbands surprise party here on the bank holiday Sunday, it was incredible thanks to Graham, Terry, Chris the Chef who did an amazing job on the night, Adam, The cleaning staff who put individual gifts in everyone's rooms for me and the entire team were brilliant. From start to finish the atmosphere, the food, the service, the entire night was simply stunning. My husband now has some fabulous memories, it took a few days to recover but it was totally worth it! Everyone has commented on how homely and warm the pub was, how delicious the food was and what a superb place to have an event. It was five star all the way and the breakfast was wonderful. My only wish was for it to have never ended what a night! Thank you so much for all that you did for us. We will be back soon that's for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamharris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Yes!! it was a party to remember, everything went so well and you and your guests were wonderfull. So happy, all of them & they all enjoyed themselves.
Hey they had some bad headaches the nexxt morning at breakfast!!!!
Thanks for writing your review and thanks for having a great time we all enjoyed it too.
Graham, Terry & all the team at The Knife & Cleaver love team Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed here a number of times now. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the proprietors and staff made us feel welcome.
The bar and restaurant is warm & cosy, the food is fantastic - as is the service.
The icing on the cake for us was spending far too much time at the bar with Graham and his colleagues.
The rooms are very well appointed, immaculately clean and we have recommended this to a number of our friends, all of whom have stayed here and said exactly the same as us.
The only bad experience we had was the sore head we left with the following day, the result of too good an evening the day before.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent value but if you can, take any of the luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We all had a good week end and sorry about your bad head.
I never seem to have that problem, alcoholics never get hangovers, permanently p*****
How great of you to let us know how you enjoyed yourselves
Can't wait till you come again
Graham & Terry and the team at The Knife & Cleaver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had my brother-in-laws 50th Birthday here on Sunday night. The food was fantastic, the staff were really, really lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. A number of us stayed overnight, the rooms were lovely, the beds were great, giving us all a very good night’s. They were extremely clean and had all the facilities you could wish for.

Terry and Graham are great people and I would strongly recommend this place to anyone. If you don’t want to stay, you must at least try out the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hey what a party, everyone had a great time and all your guests were wonderfull,
Look at me thanking you on Tripadvisor!!!!!! Tables turned.
You were all wonderfull, and that makes our job so much easier. Fabulous Jazz singer.
When can we do it again??
Graham, Terry & all the team at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Conquest
5.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 17 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knife & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knife & Cleaver

Property: The Knife & Cleaver
Address: The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Houghton Conquest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton Conquest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Knife & Cleaver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Knife & Cleaver is situated in the pretty village of Houghton Conquest just 5 miles from the centre of Bedford and less than an 1 hour by rail from London.Overlooking the magnificent grade 1 listed All Saints church and beautiful countryside. The Knife & Cleaver is a ramblers paradise, with a great selection of walks ranging from two & a half miles, three miles, four and four and a half miles. We offer 9 beautiful double or twin rooms, each en-suite & offering T.V. Tea & Coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, Room service, open 7 days a week from 7 am until midnight.The mainline Rail station to Brighton thru London for Flitwick runs 7 days a week and there are trains almost every 20 minutes.We have disabled access & Cots available. Our four fine chefs are very proud to offer you a varied menu only using all fresh locally sourced ingredients. Special dietary requirements are offered. We are here to serve you and look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Knife & Cleaver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knife & Cleaver Hotel Bedford
The Knife And Cleaver
Knife Cleaver Bedford
Knife Cleaver Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing