We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Knife & Cleaver
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first class experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

my wife and I stayed here for two nights last week, while attending my grandsons passing out parade at raf halton.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the meal was excellent.
We are likely to return next year for our silver wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks so much and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to serving you again.
Thanks for the wonderful review.
Graham, Terry & all at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    79
    39
    16
    13
See reviews for
94
192
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Using the recommendations from Trip Advisor we chose The Knife & Cleaver as it came highly recommended. We were staying at Center Parcs and as all their restaurants were booked up, my sister-in-law found The Knife & Cleaver. This was a lucky escape as the food at Center Parcs was disgusting and the food we had at The Knife & Cleaver was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent - the waitress came in three times to check whether my mum, who is a slow-eater, had finished eating. I would highly recommend all the staff, food, venue and management.
Having see the 'Four in a Bed' episode I can understand why everyone genuinely liked this place. We will definitely be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J0J090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed yourselves, we enjoyed serving you, what a great family party.
Thanks again
Graham & Terry and all at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here last week on business. A great place in a nice quiet villiage.
Plenty of parking space when you get there. The Knife & Cleaver is a gem of a place.
The selection of real ales is good & I can vouch for that via a tasting session, with a good choice of other beers to choose from if you choose to do so.
The food was very tasty & just about the right amount, with a nice menu to choose from.
The staff were very helpful & friendly and nothing was too much.
The room was very clean & tidy with a nice comfortable bed. Tea & coffee facilities, iron & ironing board etc. Oh and free wifi.
The breakfast was just what you needed with a good choice of freshly made to order options.
I would have absoloutley no hesitation to stay here again when I am back in the area.
Great plave & people

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank so much for taking time and writing your review we very much appreciate your kind comments
Graham, Terry & All at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although I would agree with elements of the most recent reviews, our experience wasn't quite so positive. For a room priced at over £100 per night, fresh towels shouldn't be too much to ask, and yet the dirty towels left in the bath were simply folded up and placed back for use. Moreover, the wifi only appeared to work in the pub. To top things off, upon our return to Belgium we then discovered that late departure charges of £10 per room were also added to all three rooms in our party of six despite having checked out and paid before the 10am deadline!
Yes the food was nice but in all honesty, over-priced. Moreover, at breakfast there was no buffet for things like cereals and juices ... portion control in the extreme! Would we return? Not without a refund of our 'late departure' charges and a written apology.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Expat_JMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Front Office Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Family, (expat)
If I may I need to correct you in your review, the content is not factual for a few reasons...........
The rooms are not charged at over £100 per night, please see our web site for prices, one of your rooms (room 5) was only £89.00. Including Full English Breakfast.
You and your party specifically requested late check-out for your guests and as per our T's&C's on our bookings a late check out charge was made.
As you did not leave your room until late our maids could not make up your room, nor were they able to service it as you were using all the facilities until early afternoon.
We do not have a self service breakfast but we do have a full breakfast menu and waitress service and guests are encouraged to eat as much as they like.
On offer on our breakfast menu, which is included in the room charge are a large selection of breakfast cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fruit juices, full English breakfast and many combinations thereof, smoked salmon, bagels, muffins, toast preserves, Teas of all flavours, coffees and much much more.
I do hope that you were not too much upset due to me having to contact you in Belgium as your bank card was declined on two occasions. But we understand that these things happen.
Being the owner and having the pleasure of serving you on many occasions during you & your family's stay with us I am quite shocked that you did not comment on anything during your stay, my staff & I gave and certainly gave you & your family the best of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from a family wedding in Bedfordshire. Six of us stayed at this very pleasant, warm and friendly pub which is run by Graham and Terry. The pub is situated in a very quiet and picturesque village where the only noise at night is the sound of the church bells ringing.

The accommodation was not cheap but reasonably priced however included a very enjoyable breakfast with good quality ingredients. The rooms were well equipped, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean situated in the garden of the pub. During our stay, the weather was good and we were able to sit out in the garden at various times of the day and evening. This was particularly pleasant as it felt like an extension of our rooms.

The staff were all very friendly, attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and thoroughly enjoyed the food we ordered. Again not the cheapest of menus but of a high standard both in quality and presentation. I particularly enjoyed the draft ales available.

I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this pub as a resident or to use their restaurant. Thanks Graham and Terry for making our weekend an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard at £89 B & B. My brother and parents both had Deluxe rooms and paid £10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inlineml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Great to hear from you and thanks so much for coming.
Your kind comments will be passed on.
Thanks again Graham, Terry & all at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the knife and Cleaver for a family wedding at Wrest Park. All the rooms are separate from the pub and are purpose built comfortable and well maintained en-suites. It was very hot the weekend we were there and so we slept with the windows open. The village church clock strikes every quarter hour. Not a problem for us because we have a grandfather clock at home but others might prefer to keep the window shut. Both evenings we were out so, unfortunately, were unable to sample the food, apart from breakfast, which was excellent. When we returned on the Friday evening we had a conversation with the chef and have no doubt that a meal at the Knife and Cleaver would have been significantly better than the one we had (with family) in Woburn. One minor complaint was the coffee on the second morning which was very weak. The first morning it was fine so probably made by 2 different people. Overall a very comfortable stay and we would recommend the Knife and Cleaver to anyone.

Room Tip: We could only get wifi by going to the door. Our room was the furthest from the main building so a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwynnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you all again.
Thanks
Graham, Terry and all at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Knife & Cleaver and we were absolutely bowled over. Graham and Terry have worked miracles in just 2.5 years turning a derelict pub (with a dubious history!) into a very stylish, tasteful and contemporary small hotel that still works beautifully with its surroundings. We had the 'Director's Room' that leads straight onto the very attractive courtyard garden. Everything was absolutely pristine and top quality - it would be hard to find better in a larger, top rated hotel.

The restaurant offers an extensive and very original menu, thanks to highly talented chef Chris. It isn't your average pub grub, but the delicious and beautifully presented dishes using locally sourced ingredients are definitely value for money, served in elegant surroundings. Throughout our stay, all the staff were a delight - from Terry and Graham themselves, to the bar and restaurant staff and the multi-talented Chris, who gave us tips for our hanging baskets!
Mustn't forget Crumbs - the African grey parrot who had pride of place in the courtyard on these very warm summer days.

We would love to go back - and a work colleague is already considering the Knife & Cleaver for a special anniversary. Thanks to all the team.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks from the bottom of our hearts, our team work very hard and love what they do and when it is appreciated we all say a very big thank you, especially crumbs.
From all at The Knife & Cleaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton Conquest
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.9 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
720 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
341 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knife & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knife & Cleaver

Property: The Knife & Cleaver
Address: The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Houghton Conquest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houghton Conquest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Knife & Cleaver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Knife & Cleaver is situated in the pretty village of Houghton Conquest just 5 miles from the centre of Bedford and less than an 1 hour by rail from London.Overlooking the magnificent grade 1 listed All Saints church and beautiful countryside. The Knife & Cleaver is a ramblers paradise, with a great selection of walks ranging from two & a half miles, three miles, four and four and a half miles. We offer 9 beautiful double or twin rooms, each en-suite & offering T.V. Tea & Coffee making facilities, hair-dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, Room service, open 7 days a week from 7 am until midnight.The mainline Rail station to Brighton thru London for Flitwick runs 7 days a week and there are trains almost every 20 minutes.We have disabled access & Cots available. Our four fine chefs are very proud to offer you a varied menu only using all fresh locally sourced ingredients. Special dietary requirements are offered. We are here to serve you and look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Knife & Cleaver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knife & Cleaver Hotel Bedford
The Knife And Cleaver
Knife Cleaver Bedford
Knife Cleaver Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing