We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a good place but not so much now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Columbia Mall
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Over the past few years we had made this hotel our place of choice when heading down to Grand Forks for shopping. The price was right, had a fridge in the room. great place for shoppers to stay! over the past two years we have had nothing but issues with this hotel. The noise in this place is unbearable especially when you have a room any where near the stairs! last spring we were offered a 30% off our room on our next stay as we complained about this and the manager was sorry and helpful well the next time we traveled we tried to use this coupon and was refused as the manager that was there at that time had moved on and there was no way they could verify this! we did stay one more time after that issue (again we had a worse time than before) the staff seems to be more rude the noise is just as bad as before, As one other reviewer on this hotel stated that the hotel allowed kids to play hockey in the hallways until around midnight (I stayed at the same time and got real tired of mini hockey sticks banging against our door when we were trying to sleep. (the staff should have had better control over these guests) overall the hotel has the same decor as before, the staff is not as friendly as before and the price is creeping up to the price of much better hotels in the area. I would not recommend this hotel anymore

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joekerr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

We arrived late to Grand Forks and was so happy to find the Days Inn! The value was great (with our coupon). No credit card required. Super friendly service! Pool was good. Hot tub wonderful. Loved the fact that there was fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Very comfortable sleep! Had an excellent stay with two small children!
This is the place we will go back to again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemommy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

When first arriving, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The residents of the hotel were something to be desired. I grew up in a sports family and was on many trips, but was very disappointed to find that the parents of today have no sense of responsibility! Kids were playing hockey in the hallway until midnight, swimming in the pool unsupervised (8-10 year olds) and vomiting in the pool. I'm sure the staff did their best considering the circumstances, and they have no control over the behaviour of their visitors. To add salt to the wound, the hockey teams in the hotel were from southern Manitoba; my home. This was very embarrassing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HankNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed there as a young group of girls looking for a decent hotel while we shopped and took in a concert. First of all they put us in a smoking room when we asked for non-smoking. I have had this happen before at other locations and you can smell it but it's managable. NOT HERE! The smell of smoke was overwhelming. EVERYTHING we took home including ourselves smelled so terrible!!! The place was totally booked up so they couldn't change our room but at least offer somewhat of a discount. That didn't happen. It is wayyyy over priced for what you get. Ie. we paid $109 for a Saturday night whereas this room was more like a $50/night place. I would never pay that much money and stay there again!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank titan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This place attracts the salt of the earth. That's a good thing. They are people just like me -- minding their own business, paying their bills, and doing their best. We work too hard to spend a lot of money for something that's gone the next day. This Days Inn respects that. No nonsense here. You pay your money and get what you pay for. The first thing we noticed was the automatic hallway freshiner. At least it smelled nice. The room was quite clean. The furniture and fixtures were used but nice. Most things worked. The exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't. One lightbulb was burned out. It has a few extras -- Iron and board, soaps, lotions, etc. The Contenental breakfast was fine.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Underhill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

This little place is a hidden gem if all you're wanting is a place to crash after a hard day of shopping. lol It's close to everything! However if you want the comforts of home then maybe this isn't the best place for you. But every place has their purpose. I haven't been here in a little bit but there is always this wonderful elderly lady who's up for breakfast every morning. She pours waffle batter into little cups and helps you use the waffle iron. It's the best "continental breakfast" I've had anywhere. :o)

There are of course the some downsides. Like I said if you're wanting the comforts of home, this place is probably not for you. If you want someone to cater to your every move, this place is probably not for you. If you want a bed to hit when you're done spending your hard earned cash and some waffles in the morning, then this place is for you! lol

If you want to know anything else, let me know!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantelle_enns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Booked the Day's Inn using the coupon in the Winnipeg Free Press TV Guide for $44 US night - Sunday - Thursday (on a Sunday) and the experience was TERRIBLE!! First of all, we requested a non-smoking room and got stuck in a smoking room on the second floor- which just reeked of cigarette smoke. When we complained to the front desk the girl gave us a can of orange scented air freshener as the remedy to the solution. The second problem was the room itself. It was filthy. You could see all the dust on the lamp shades & bases, around the beds etc & the room had clearly not received any kind of good thorough & proper cleaning in some time (despite their big claim that they've been recently "renovated" - which translates into some new tiles in the lobby area and that's about it). Syrup from the continental breakfast had been spilled all over the carpet, and when we walked on the carpet in our bare feet, they were completely black and all sticky... disgusting!! Complaining again got us nowhere, so we checked out the next a.m. (gave the proper notice as per their policy), but despite this, they refused to give us back our money for our second night. We called the head office of the Days Inn upon return to Winnipeg and also got nowhere other then them mailing us a letter stating they'd give us $5 off of next stay there. Never again!! Don't waste your hard earned cash people. There are plenty of hotels listed in the TV guide with rooms around that same rate that are 10X better. We stayed the second night at the Travel Lodge, which is/was 10X cleaner, nicer and offered the same breakfast as the Day's Inn, but with a much nicer eating area (tables to eat at with tv's to watch, newspapers to read etc). Check out the Travel Lodge instead - we've stayed there a half dozen other times and always had an excellent stay there for the same price!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ajh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 28 in Grand Forks
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Knights Inn and Suites Grand Forks
2.8 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#10 of 28 in Grand Forks
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Forks, ND
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Columbia Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Columbia Mall

Address: 3101 S 34th St, I-29 & 32nd Ave Exit 138, Grand Forks, ND 58201-5904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range: £48 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Columbia Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Columbia Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Grand Forks Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing