We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Grand Forks
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Not up to Marriott Fairfield standards. Everything about the hotel was cheap and small - dining area, chairs in rooms, plastic doors, tiny elevator. Where ever costs could be cut, they did it at this hotel. Front desk staff was disappointing, as well. I thought I was staying at a Motel 6.

  • Liked — maid service was fine
  • Disliked — Cheap accomadations
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlyToBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    71
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
54
40
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We were booking a hotel for a robotics tournament and since most of the hotels were filled due to a dance tournament and this one gave a discount to my workplace, we stayed here. When we arrived, the check-in lady told us that a Marriott business traveler had decided to stay longer and that we were being transfered to the Road King Inn. We told the check-in lady that we were tired and cold and that we were NOT going to be transfered. She was very nice about it, and found us a room in the hotel. We thanked her and headed upstairs. The elevator was nice but slow. The room was very nice. It looked very modern. The pool is nice and the hot tub was extra inviting. There's also a computer for public internet access in the lobby. In the morning, we needed to eat breakfast, and boy was the breakfast filling. There was lots of things to eat. This is a very nice hotel, and this is a great choice for Grand Forks.

  • Liked — Breakfast & Pool
  • Disliked — Check-in & Elevator
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BestHotels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We picked this hotel specifically because it was smoke-free. It also turned out to be nice and quiet. It is very handy to all the shopping. The room was clean, if a bit cramped, and the bed was comfortable. We didn't use the pool and no one else was in it either the weekend we were there. The hot tub was busy though and could have been larger. We enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby - it had "real food" instead of the just the continental breakfast a lot of places offer. A fridge in the room would have been helpful.

  • Liked — quiet, smoke-free
  • Disliked — no fridge in room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lifestartsat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

This property is a good choice for Grand Forks if you're looking for something well-priced and in a convenient location. Near the mall, restaurants, gas, and other shopping. 10 minutes to UND. Easy access to I-29. Better front desk service than I expected for a Fairfield. Decent breakfast, including some hot sandwiches plus the usual cold stuff., though small eating area and lobby. Room was basic, but quiet and clean. Good value overall for a hotel in this category.

  • Liked — Friendly service from front desk
  • Disliked — Breakfast/lobby area a bit cramped
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Googin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

this was our first time staying here as we usually stay at the c'mon inn, we thought we would try something different. Well this place is great, very friendly, clean rooms, best breakfast that we've ever seen.
we booked on line, and just happened to see a coupon in our local tv guide the day before we got their, they honored it no problem. the pool was small and the hot tub was low on water as well as small but that didn't matter. if there was one thing I would like would be to have small fridge in each room. they are cheep to buy so it wouldn't cost that much to put them in. most people that go to grand forks are canadians and besides shopping we like to have a cold beverage. oh ya did I mention that its smoke free. that was the best part

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank donco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg mb
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2006

This is a lovely hotel - looks normal from the outside but the rooms are a very pleasant surprise inside! The beds are beautiful - incredibly comfortable and the chairs in the room are comfortable enough to sleep in, if you had to.
The service on the phone and at the front desk was superb.
Don't miss out on this one - it's a great find!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhm121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 28 in Grand Forks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Grand Forks

Property: Fairfield Inn Grand Forks
Address: 3051 S 34th Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Grand Forks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keep to your routine while staying at the Fairfield Inn Grand Forks hotel! With our location next to the Columbia Mall and area restaurants, and minutes from the Grand Forks International Airport, we have everything you will need for your next visit to town. While here it's easy to cheer on the University of North Dakota at the Ralph Engelstad Arena or catch your favorite performer at the Alerus Center. For those in town for business we're near the Grand Forks Air Force Base, and close to area hospitals including Altru Hospital and Sanford Health. Start your day right with breakfast on us at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Stay connected by using our free WiFi, and relax or get your workout in at our indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Fairfield Grand Forks
Grand Forks Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing