We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again.”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We booked one night as a stop over for shopping on our way back to Winnipeg from Duluth. The hotel was clean and the desk clerk quite helpful. Our room was good with a very comfortable king bed. We headed out in the evening to meet friends for drinks and walking down the second floor hallway my wife picked up the smell of marijuana. Upon returning the smell was still there outside a 4 room section between the elevator and our room. She is highly alergic and after that had to hold her breath going past. The front desk clerk was unable to do anything about it being unable to pinpoint which room it was. He offered to move us to a different room but it would not have been the same room type. The smell did not carry into our room luckily.

Second issue was the hot tub. It had a smell to it once the jets were running and left both of us with minor rashes. The morning clerk said she would have it looked into and did reduce our room rate by $10. Breakfast was on parr with what we expected.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kinguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Kinguni,

On behalf of our management and staff, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced while you stayed with us. As you know, we are 100% smoke free and do not tolerate smoking of ANY kind in our building. We were able to pinpoint the problem room the next day and promptly took care of this issue. Thank you for your understanding and patience with our staff as they tried their hardest to find the person responsible. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are grateful to hear that you will be back to give us the chance to make things right! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sleep Inn for my second time and thought this was a very nice place. Clean, and run very well. The manager Jan went out of her way to accommodate me she is an definite professional.

The breakfast is also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ottr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Ottr60,

We think Jan is pretty amazing as well! Her dedication to the Sleep Inn and to the entire staff is appreciated and admired. Jan loves her job, which makes us love our jobs! This is why we all work so hard to keep our hotel clean and our guests comfortable and happy! Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed one night while on a shopping trip about a week ago. Everything was clean & modern. Beds & pillows were comfortable. We appreciate a room where you can open the windows to let in fresh air like this. We were in the standard king & it had one easy chair for watching TV as well as the desk chair. Front desk staff were really friendly & efficient. We had a good rate from the coupons in Winnipeg Free Press.We did not have the breakfast as find that is a rush to have before 9 am. That is the only thing I would change is that I think breakfast should be until at least 930.That goes for most hotels though. It appeared everyone was rushing in the last half hour to make it there.There was hot scrambled eggs & sausage patties & a waffle machine as well as all the other standard items available .Location is good whether shopping or attending a function at the Aleurus Center. Wi fi worked perfectly. I accidently left our toothbrushes out of our case & they provided complimentary toothbrushs. Thank goodness for that. Check out is 12 so my husband was able to relax for awhile while I did shopping before leaving for home. We will definitely stay here again as the hotel we used to stay at has really deteriorated in the last couple of years & belongs to the same loyalty chain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Grandma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

0Grandma3,
Thank you for writing such an amazing review! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will appreciate that their hard work is noticed by our guests. We do have extended breakfast hours on Saturday and Sunday. Breakfast is available until 10:00 AM those days. Perhaps we can talk about extending the hours during the week as well, thank you for the advise! We hope to see you the next time you visit Grand Forks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have stayed here previously and the hotel is always clean and comfortable. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful! There was a group of noisy people on our floor that kept going from room to room until about 1:00 am and letting the doors slam. The maids were noisy in the mornings as they also let the doors slam as they moved from room to room. We like to sleep in and we ran the fan to block out some of the noise. Rooms on the top floor are sometimes quieter.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are sometimes quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurricaneCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

HurricaneCarolina,

First, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and to let us know how we're doing! We appreciate guest reviews as they let us know what we are doing right and they also let us know the areas that need a little work. We would like to apologize for the noise issue that you experienced. We will definitely speak to our room attendant and ask that they watch for slamming doors while moving from room to room. Thank you for also recognizing the outstanding service that our guest service agents provided during your stay! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very nice hotel, decor is very modern and up to date. Breakfast was the standard, waffles, muffins, eggs, bacon, juices. Good location if you are attending a function at the Alerus Centre. You could leave your car and walk. This hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the main shopping area on 32nd st so it is nice to come back and be away from the traffic and hub bub of that area but still close to go and shop and eat out. They had a great coupon deal for Sunday to Thursday stays that we found in the Winnipeg Free Press for $75 per night and they still gave us our Choice Priveledges points at that rate. Definately will make this our go to hotel in Grand Forks from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side of building may be quieter, especially if there is an event at the Alerus centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbum222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Sunbum222,

We truly appreciate our Canadian travelers and are happy to provide that coupon to our friends from the North! Thank you for making the Sleep Inn your new preferred hotel in Grand Forks! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Grand Cities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel in early October 2013 and it was such a great experience!! The housekeeping staff are amazing and do a top notch of cleaning the rooms. Check-in was quick and easy, the young lady at the front desk explained everything. She told us about breakfast, check out time etc... This was very nice because you want to get in on the great breakfast. It was very busy and the staff worked hard to keep up with the food. The room was stayed in was very, very clean. The décor through out the hotel is modern and very pleasant. This location is very well run and everyone did their jobs well!! We used the pool and it was nice. Great stay. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Joan,

Thank you for passing on your experience at the Sleep Inn and Suites! We truly value our guests' feedback and it is lovely to hear that our hard work does not go unnoticed. Our whole staff strives to keep the hotel clean and comfortable. From check in to check out our goal is to make our guests feel at home and to let them know all about our amenities so that they may take advantage of everything that we have to offer. We will be sure to share your kind words with our housekeeping staff as they take pride in a job well done!

Sincerely,

April O'Brien
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We did a quick 1 day shopping trip to Grand Forks. The hotel is so knew it squeaks still. The desk clerks were very pleasant and made check-in quick and painless. The room was beautiful with huge beds that were very comfortable. The pillows just added to the wonderful experience. Coffee available 24/7 in the lobby is great for sitting down and using the computers for a quick shopping list. The breakfast in the morning is just right for getting ready to head out to shop, fresh and hot for sure. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Going during the week (Mon - Wed) will find the hotel very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valentinesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Valentinesc,
Your glowing review is very much appreciated and reading your kind words brightened our day! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers! We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our amenities such as the deluxe hot breakfast, coffee bar and business kiosk. We look forward to hosting your next stay while you are visiting Grand Forks!

Sincerely,

April O'Brien
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks-UND
1.3 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 1350 S 42nd St, Grand Forks, ND 58201-3724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range: £52 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Sleep Inn & Suites® is conveniently located adjacent to Alerus Center – Grand Forks’ premiere entertainment facility and home of University of North Dakota football. This Grand Forks, ND hotel is also near Splasher’s South Seas and River Cities Speedway.Guests of the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy using the indoor heated pool and hot tub, which can be accessed year-round. Comfortable interior corridors offer safe and easy room access. Guest laundry service is available, as well as plenty of bus, car and truck parking. Business travelers will appreciate the on-site Business Center, offering a computer with Internet and access to copy and fax services. Other amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free daily newspaper •Free coffee •Deluxe continental breakfast All spacious guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, alarm clock, hair dryer, pillow-top mattress, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper.This is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing