We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice and both times have been very impressed. The hotel itself is perfect for our needs with a swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, and breakfast every morning.

The excellent staff all go out of their way to make our visit as enjoyable as possible.

Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Arthur C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Leaving a positive impression on our guests is one of our top priorities! Your positive review will serve as encouragement for our staff to continue to provide top notch service to our guests. Thank you for your business, we appreciate your loyalty to the Sleep Inn and Suites! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    73
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
93
75
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've been coming to this hotel for years, and I look forward to my stays here every time. I travel to the Grand Forks area for work regularly, and have stayed at MANY of the hotels in town over the past twenty years. Having stayed at this hotel over 30 times in the past few years, I feel I am finally qualified to give a thorough review. Heh! So...
1) I find that the rooms are exceptionally clean. They are modern with nice TVs and very comfortable beds (a must for me).
2) The staff is very accommodating and concerned about my well being. When I arrive, I look forward to seeing them as if they are old friends, which they kind of are after many years.
3) Location, location, location! I find this location to be a perfect site for whatever you are doing in Grand Forks or just traveling through. The hotel is not right in the noisy hectic south side of town, yet not so far away that it is still very easy and quick to, and that goes for getting to any part of Grand Forks. With the Alerus Center right next door, if you are in town for a convention, concert, sporting event or whatever, you are walking across the parking lot! This is also a great advantage if you are pulling a big trailer or driving a rig, because there is more parking here than any other hotel you have ever seen! It's also very close to the UND campus. Easy on and off of Hwy 29 here, yet you are just far enough away from it, that you you never hear the freeway from inside the hotel.
4) Reasonably priced. I have stayed in many different rooms here, from suites to regular rooms, and I've found them all to be great rooms with fairly priced rates.
5) The extras. I know we have come to expect the little things out of our hotel stays, but still, not all hotels do it right. Here, you will have a comprehensive Continental Breakfast (great sausage), plenty of toiletries, powerful showers (better than home) and if you are checking in at the right time and are lucky, fresh baked cookies at the door when you come enter!
Jan, April and the entire staff, thank you for the great stays over the years, I look forward to many more!

Room Tip: If you are staying here during the winter and have an auto starter on your vehicle, be sure to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillyET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind words! You are truly a valued guest and friend. We appreciate your loyalty to Choice Hotels and to the Sleep Inn and Suites in Grand Forks. It means a lot to our staff that you recognize all our hard work to keep our guests comfortable and happy. As a seasoned traveler, you understand the importance of the basics, such as a clean room, a hot breakfast and quality service. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers so they can expect only the best when they come stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel March 30 - 31, 2014. We stayed here on two previous occasions, and once again we were pleased with our choice of hotel. Very clean and affordable, especially with the Shopper Special promotion price. Our daughter loved the pool area! We ended up literally getting snowed in on Monday night. All the restaurants in town were closing down due to the storm. The staff made countless frozen pizzas in the continental breakfast area, put out cookies and popcorn and even put out waffles for the hungry guests! We even saw hotel employees helping guests shovel their stuck cars in the parking lot! The staff went above and beyond our expectations! We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRoy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for acknowledging the high quality customer service our staff provided while our guests were snowed in that day! We tried to make the best of an unfortunate situation and we are grateful to have guests like you appreciate that! Our staff that was also stranded had a memorable experience to say the least, as did our guests. Again, thank you for your review we truly appreciate your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Grand Forks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

On March 31, 2014 , we were a stranded in Grand Forks. We were able to get the last room. Grateful was an understatement as Xena had a fury to unleash. The staff were kind and helpful. The room was very nice, and we enjoyed our stay despite being stranded. The whole stay was pleasant and I would highly recommend a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rraine_C25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Blizzard Xena caused a lot of troubles for travelers in early April! It's nice to know that our staff made your stay in Grand Forks a good one despite the circumstances. We hope you will come back again soon! We'll be here for you rain or shine! (Or snow and wind!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have found this facility to be a very friendly and clean place to stay. It was very affordable and April O and staff are very willing and helpful. Almost like making accommodations at your own home. Grand Forks is truly fortunate to have such a welcoming group.

Room Tip: I have stayed here many times and have yet to find a room I dislike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregS_8048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greg,

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your loyalty to the Sleep Inn in Grand Forks and we always look forward to seeing you when you come to town! I'm happy to hear you feel at home while your staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

From the time you walk in you are greeted very friendly, Kenny is very keen to help. Very clean property, beds are comfortable, rooms are above average for sure. Well worth the stay.lots of parking, nice pool and hot tub, small workout room. You should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Todd,
We are lucky to have Kenny on our guest service team. Kenny is dedicated to providing superior customer service and is actually the Employee of the Month for January 2014! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in January 2014. We're looking forward to staying here again during our Grand Forks summer trip. We arrived late due to the inclement weather and my kids definitely appreciated the late pool hours to unwind. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was nice, staff was friendly. WIFI worked well. No complaints at all, and for me that means it's a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnchopsuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April O, Assistant General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for the "big thumbs up"! We are so happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your family's needs! Kids love our pool, and keeping it open a little later has proven to be a big success with guests traveling with their families. It is awesome that you will be traveling to Grand Forks again later this year, give us a call when you're ready to book your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Expressway Suites of Grand Forks
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Grand Forks
Staybridge Suites Grand Forks
#7 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 1350 South 42nd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly opened Sleep Inn & Suites® is conveniently located adjacent to Alerus Center – Grand Forks’ premiere entertainment facility and home of University of North Dakota football. This Grand Forks, ND hotel is also near Splasher’s South Seas and River Cities Speedway.Guests of the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel will enjoy using the indoor heated pool and hot tub, which can be accessed year-round. Comfortable interior corridors offer safe and easy room access. Guest laundry service is available, as well as plenty of bus, car and truck parking. Business travelers will appreciate the on-site Business Center, offering a computer with Internet and access to copy and fax services. Other amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free daily newspaper •Free coffee •Deluxe continental breakfast All spacious guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, desk, alarm clock, hair dryer, pillow-top mattress, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper.This is a non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing