We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting - Never Stay Again!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting - Never Stay Again!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel about 1 year ago and it was great, however 1 year later was a real eye opener. I cannot believe how a hotel can go down hill so much in just one year! The rooms are disgustingly dirty, pubic hairs left in the bath tub and hair left in the bathroom, the toilet seat and bowl were not cleaned - VERY UNSANITARY, the vent in the bathroom had mounds of dust collected and was just hanging, yuk! We stayed in one of the end rooms on the first floor, there is a definite musty odor when you enter the room, carpets are filthy and very worn the chairs are dirty and have stains, visible dust around the edge of the carpets around the entire room - no wonder it is so dimly lit to camouflage the filth. The towels are a grey color and are very thin and the bathroom ceiling is peeling. This hotel is also in need of a major update everywhere. When we brought up the condition of the room to Management we were just sluffed off re the cleanliness due to having a busy season - and no one is perfect! Upon our return we stayed in a different hotel comparable in price that was clean to MY standards. Will NEVER stay in this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Deanne B,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to write us with your concerns and give us your honest feedback. Each and every housekeeper is required to undergo and complete our Gold Standard training process so that all of our guests can experience just how important our cleanliness standards are to us. We maintain the highest standards and regret that on this occasion we fell short of our commitment to "Wow!" you in each and every aspect of your stay. We have spent the last few months evaluating our Gold Standard training and are excited to announced that we've made some changes to totally prevent repeat situations such as yours. In addition to these changes, we've added some great new local promotions that make saving your money even easier with suite giveaways and frequent stay rewards. We'd love to be given the opportunity to make this up to you. We know you will love the changes we've made. Please email me personally at Roadkinginn@live.com with TripAdvisor in the header; I promise you will not regret reaching out.

Douglas Glennen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    44
    24
    17
    22
See reviews for
56
45
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed the weekend at this hotel, we have before and each time the stay was very pleasant. The breakfast is always nicely done, would like it to last until 10 am thought. the room we get is a junoir suite with a hot tub. try to get the upper floor so you dont hear your neighbors. They take pets which for us is mandatory as we always travel with ours.

Room Tip: try for the junior suites rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Wpgbolori,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for being repeat guests. If your not already make sure you ask the front desk for an 11th night free card (stay 10 nights, get the 11th free). I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure that all our guests are satisfied. Also you will be pleased to hear that breakfast is now open till 10am everyday of the week. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

FANTASTIC experience. I've never stayed in this hotel before but was down for a getaway with my daughter and we loved every single aspect of this hotel. Clean, comfortable, quite and did I mention CLEAN??? Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas G, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for writing a review and choosing to stay with us. I am glad to hear that we exceeded your exspectaions. We look forward to having tyou stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and felt "blocked" in by an internet offer. Reasonable cost, but beds (Room 113) were soft and not comfortable and the room had a distinct odor, not pleasant like animal urine. Since visiting family we spent little time in the room and just sprayed a lot of odor neutralizer when there. Good internet connection and anequate breakfast. Staff was friendly.

Showed effort to please and was secure. For the price I cannot complain too much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We love coming here but our last stay on July 17/13 was an experience we won't forget. Around 5:30am the fire alarm went off. Someone from the hotel was going down the halls telling everyone to get out, so we did. We all went out in our pyjamas and stood around in the parking lot. After maybe 10-15 minutes we were told we could go back in. We then went back to bed. Within a short while it went off again. We were all standing around in the parking lot and wondering why the fire department did not come. It took about 30 minutes to arrive. Now reading another review and learning the alarm is not hooked up to the fire department, is very concerning and scary. If this was a real fire, it could have not been a happy ending. I would have thought that all hotels/motels would automatically had to have been hooked up to the fire department.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 637DebbieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed here several times and enjoyed our stay, however, this last time was an eye opener. the fire alarm went off around 5 am. We exited the hotel, and after a while were told to come back in. didn't go to our room, stood around the desk in the lobby, wondering why the fire dept. hadn't come, the desk clerk shut off the alarm but it went off again and was shut off. One bystander told the desk clerk to call the fire dept. and he did. the firemen arrived and checked things out and said it was safe to return to our rooms. Later found out that the hotel fire alarm system is not hooked up to the fire dept. Luckily, it was a false alarm but what if it had been real, about half an hour had elapsed before the firemen arrived, soon after they were finally called.
BJ

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BernjM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My daughter and I spent one night in late July enroute to western Canada. We chose a poolside room and enjoyed our evening in the hot tub (they have several) after spending many hours on the road. The hotel allows pets (we were traveling with our Golden Retriever) and there is a nice grassy area behind the hotel where you can walk your dog. This is an average hotel but I would like to make a specific comment about the staff; my daughter left her guitar in the room when we departed and the staff has been very helpful in trying to return the guitar to us (in Canada). I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Harvest Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Columbia Mall
Days Inn Columbia Mall
#12 of 28 in Grand Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3300 30th Ave S, Grand Forks, ND 58201-6032 (Formerly Road King Inn Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road King Inn Columbia Mall Hotel Grand Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing