We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed...again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed...again”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Against my better judgement, we stayed at the hotel again. We stayed here about 6 months ago and didn't have a great experience. Same problems second time around. We came down with another family and booked adjoining rooms. But our room wasn't ready at check in. An hour later still not ready. Eventually, we were asked to accept another room. So our kids were disappointed.

Last time we were here, one of the elevators was broken. Well this time, the other elevator was broken. It was challenging to go up and down 6 flight of stairs with toddlers!

The hotel room is not cheap and it's disappointing that hotel guests have to pay for the waterpark on top of the room rate. Even worse, paying for passes when the slides are broken! Because we paid for ours in a package deal, they wouldn't refund our money!

My overall experience was not positive and I was very disappointed that the management team did very little to turn the situation around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom-3-boys185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I apologize for our elevator issues this weekend. We have a service agreement with a local company and they attempted to get them in working order earlier this week. I am sorry one of the 3 elevators was out of service.
I would like to follow up on the other points you addressed if you are willing. Please email me at krobson@canadinns.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    96
    79
    47
    38
See reviews for
218
33
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have stayed at the Canad Inns in Grand Forks many times, and have never been disappointed. We try to make weekend trips down from Winnipeg at least 4 or 5 times a year and always stay here. We have stayed in all types of rooms, standard, king suite and kid's theme. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable regardless of the time of our stay. We usually try to book the kid's theme suite as our 2 boys like the bunk beds and love the idea of having their own "bedroom with a TV".
The facilities on site are fantastic. The waterpark is definitely worth doing if you are staying with children. The "toilet bowl" tube ride is a favorite. It is really nice to see a hotel staff their swimming area with real lifeguards. I have seen them respond to first aid calls and they always maintain a safe environment, and keep bad behavior at bay. A plus in this parents view.
The restaurants on site are convenient and offer a great selection from breakfast to pub food to Italian at l'Bistro (mom and dad's favorite). We also take advantage of the $11.99 pizza deal and have it delivered to our room. Nice easy meal and the kids love it.
Service at the Canad Inns is excellent. From the front desk check-in, which is prompt and friendly, to the cleaning staff, who you actually see cleaning rooms and hallways (I don't often see this at other hotels). Everyone says "hi" to you and does what they can to help.
This stay however, the staff went above and beyond. We had arrived late Friday afternoon. My wife left with our vehicle for a couple hours of mommy shopping time. The kids were excited to hit the waterpark. Then disaster! We had forgotten to pack a swim suit for my youngest. I could not reach my wife to return with our vehicle. We went to the front desk, explained our dilemma and asked for the quickest way to get to a local retailer to buy a new swim suit. Turns out the fastest way was the hotel airport shuttle service. The manager (Hari) quickly approved the trip and Jaci had us on our way. She was fantastic. She drove us to the retailer (right to the door delivery I might add), waited for us and quickly had us back at the hotel. Total time from discovery of the disaster to swimming...about 45 minutes. Fantastic service! Jaci and Hari truly saved the day for this desperate dad.
All and all, I can't really say how pleased we have always been with our stays at the Canad Inns Grand Forks. We have stayed in many hotels, Resorts and B&Bs in Canada, the US, Mexico and Europe, and can truly say that the stays at this hotel are second to none.

Room Tip: If you are staying with smaller children, try to get a kid's them suite on the waterpark side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dad-O-2-Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Reviews and experiences like yours is the reason many of us choose this profession. It is so satisfying for our staff to know that when they go the extra mile it is appreciated. Your review has been forwarded to the highest level of our company and on their behalf, I can express to you their appreciation for your kind words. Hari and Jaci have been rewarded for their efforts. Their ability to go the extra mile for you was the result of many other departments in the hotel having been prepared for a busy Friday check in. All the members of our family who contributed to your family's positive experience have been acknowledged. We will continue to do all we can to extend those extras to all our guests. Once again thank you and please let me know if you have plans to come back to Grand Forks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stay at this hotel, and you will realize that Grand Forks is the Miami of Manitoba! ...and, it is a prime spring break destination for Canadians from Winnipeg. Pretty neat, eh? As a "destination hotel," I spent a lot of time looking for ways to escape. But, in March, there just isn't that much to do elsewhere in Grand Forks. So, enjoy the water park, and keep an eye out for the drink specials. And, avoid the pizza... your colon will thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We recently used this Destination because it seemed to offer everything we were looking for.....a great place for the kids to swim and play, restaurants and bars for a nice evening out, all this without leaving the facility. It met all our expectations and more. What we were really impressed with how polite and well mannered the staff was. The service was Excellent. They really know how to make your stay enjoyable and welcoming! We would highly recommend the Canad Inns in Grand Forks if you are looking for a family friendly get away!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mypointofview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
WOW. Your kind words mean so much to us. Please feel free to contact me personally if you choose to return to the property. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here mid-week for a break from work and winter. Despite travelling and staying at a lot of fun resorts, our boys loved and enjoyed the waterpark. It provided great entertainment for quite a few hours without compliant.

The rooms are basic and comfortable. I would NOT recommend the kids suite, they seem dated, slightly tacky and make the rooms feel crowded. However, necessary if you are travelling with more than two kids. The two bedroom suite is way more enjoyable and comfortable...feels much more luxurious.

My only complaint is that the hotel seems over priced considering that you have to buy your waterpark passes separately even as a guest! Garbonzo's pizza and pop is a nice treat if you can get it included in your room package.

Staff always seem pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Parents_of_3Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about our property. We have a summer special running right now that you might find provides a value for your stay. Our staff loves hearing positive reviews from our guests about their customer service. Thanks again and we hope you plan to come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Was there for a conference and was expecting a bit more with the price.
The rooms were nice and well furnished, I was glad that we had the discounted conference rate though. There is no breakfast available. The hotel does have a pool but if you want to partake in the splash park it's additional each day that you are there. There are a few choices for restaurants and bars, nice to have them right on site.
Elevators were acting up when we were there and I couldn't believe how little the noise outside the room was buffered. Could hear families walking through the hall and hear every word of their conversation.
Great location! Overall would stay again despite some of the shortcomings that I saw.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Amanda,
Thanks for your kind words about our property. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed on the PH floor and the room was clean and very nice with all modern amenities. Food was very good with a wide variety of choices of restaurants on site. It was my three year old daughters birthday and the waterpark was great for her age right up to adult ages with lots to do. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Grand Forks. Also was close to all shopping.

Kevin Smith
Winnipeg, Mb., Canada

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review Kevin. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please contact me personally via email if you choose to return again. We have some great packages available this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 28 in Grand Forks
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Grand Forks
Staybridge Suites Grand Forks
#7 of 28 in Grand Forks
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks
#4 of 28 in Grand Forks
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks

Property: Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
Address: 1000 S 42nd St, Conneted to the Alerus Center, Grand Forks, ND 58201-3927
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
201 superior guest rooms, including Deluxe Queen Rooms, King Leisure Rooms, Kids Theme Rooms, Jacuzzi Theme Suites, Business Suites, Penthouse King Rooms & Suites, and our Penthouse on Main (1st floor level) business suites. We offer you three diverse restaurants, a two-level gaming lounge and inside access to the Alerus Center. Plus for the "children in all of us" our 40,000 square foot Splasher's of the South Seas Indoor Waterpark and Garbonzo's Pizza and Arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Destination Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing