We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family getaway hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Excellent family spot. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. The attached indoor water park is one of the best in the area. Restraunt was average (only had the breakfast buffet). Pizza is surpisingly good. The bar has blackjack tables. Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2009

Considering the age of the hotel, our room was grungy - spills and stains on the carpet. Air conditioner was very noisy. Restaurants were nearly deserted.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtodell87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Booked the stay, swim, shop package for $116.. Check in is at 3:00 pm and when we arrived shortly after we were advised that our room would not be ready for approx. another hour, even though this was a week day. We were to receive a $25 gift certificate to the Columbia mall which they were out of so the offered a g.c to Scheels. The room was tidy but far from clean, the carpet had been very poorly vacuum or maybe not at all. The microwave which we later found out was dirty and the fridge still had someones left overs in it. The bathroom shower curtain had obviously not been changed for sometime due to the tell tale signs of mold growing on it!! The package also included buffet breakfast for 4 and entry for 2 to the water park. The buffet consisted on 4 items / not what I call a buffet!!! I asked our server if they had any fruit or cereal and was advised that they only offer the extras on the weekend. My buffet ended up consisting of cold scrambled eggs and toast. The only saving grace was the water park and games area, albeit they never had any towels and a large amount of the games were out of order. Considering that this hotel is somewhat out of the shopping area, they remain busy largely in part that they are attached to the Alerus Centre which draws some good crowds. Brought our concerns to the attention of the staff when we check out, they apologized but really cared less. As our room had already been charged to my credit card they were receiving their compensation either way..Grand Forks in general has gone down hill.. It would have been well worth our while to drive the extra distance to Fargo..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Shop4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed here for one night with the kids in one of the themed kids rooms. Don't waste your money for the themed room. $140.00 U.S. basically a tiny room with two bunk beds painted in a theme with a t.v.., and play station. Then on top of that having to pay for the waterpark for family of four. Adds up to roughly $180.00 for a 2 1/2 star hotel stay. Waterpark is nice but should be included in hotel price. Breakfast was included with what was called a "buffet", but was simply hashbrowns, bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs. Overall, disappointed. Appears the hotel is presenting at a higher level than what it is providing. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Room needs attention to upkeep, carpets stained, burnt out lightbulbs etc. Save your money and stay elsewhere and use the waterpark.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradisefound105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed at the Canad Inns last year for a friends wedding and were dissappointed in the food and waterpark. When we were given the oppertunity to go back again I was not exactly looking forward to it. Boy was I wrong. First of all, you can now get a great pizza that is not overpriced at Garbonzo's just off of the Water Park. The price was fantastic as was the pizza. My toddler also loved the big fresh fruit cups you can get that are not prepackaged. The waterpark seems to have made some improvments as well. The staffed all seemed to be in a good mood and this time, unlike the last time, there were lots of tubes for the waterslide. Last time we had to wait. The Arcade also seems to have gotten bigger or something. You can now sit in there along big windows and watch into the waterpark. The room was clean and I still say they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in a hotel. Only problem this trip was we had to wait a very long time to be seated in the buffet resturant.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

I chose the Canad Inn in Grand Forks to propose to my girlfriend of 5 years. I could not have been pleased more with what this property offered. I visited it to pick out the perfect room, which happened to be one of there, many penthouse suites. The suite itself is located on the top floor and is a beautiful room. The price itself is not that bad, it was around $278.00 a night, but for what you got, would be a lot more at other hotels. The room has a beautiful sunken tub for two, but what we enjoyed the most was the fact that there is a 42” flat screen that pivots around so you can enjoy watching TV while in the tub. The room is surrounded with windows and has a good view of Grand Forks. The entire room is much modernized, with above bowel sinks and a shower to die for. This room worked out perfectly for my plan and most importantly, she said YES! We plan to stay in the room for special occasions and this year for New Years!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank SeattlePilotnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Although the rooms were nice and the staff very friendly the cost of the hotel is not worth what you get.

We purchased a 3 day pass to the Waterpark which is not included in the hotel cost. They failed to advise us that the water park is closed in the afternoons and when it is open not all areas are open. We have two small children - 3 and 5 and when we brought them there the first time the Kiddie Pool and slides were closed - not much we could do with them as the rest of the slides and pools are much too large for them. After several parents showed up with small children they finally opened the kiddie pool for one rotation - about 1/2 an hour. Save your money if you have small children and go to another hotel that has a kiddie pool that you do not have to pay for.

I am not sure if it was the time of year but the buffet at the hotel was very quiet and the food was terrible. It looked like it was sitting under the heat lamp for quite some time. My wife went to depress the strawberry syrup for her ice cream sundae and she ended up wearing it all over her shirt as the syrup had congealed all over the dispenser.

All in all the experience was acceptable. No complaints with cleanliness or the room. I just think that you can get as good a hotel room for a lot less money in Grand Forks. They should also throw in the water park with the price of the hotel room as there is no other pool located in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_No1_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Forks-UND
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Forks
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 28 in Grand Forks
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Forks
SpringHill Suites Grand Forks
#13 of 28 in Grand Forks
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks

Address: 1000 S 42nd St, Conneted to the Alerus Center, Grand Forks, ND 58201-3927
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
201 superior guest rooms, including Deluxe Queen Rooms, King Leisure Rooms, Kids Theme Rooms, Jacuzzi Theme Suites, Business Suites, Penthouse King Rooms & Suites, and our Penthouse on Main (1st floor level) business suites. We offer you three diverse restaurants, a two-level gaming lounge and inside access to the Alerus Center. Plus for the "children in all of us" our 40,000 square foot Splasher's of the South Seas Indoor Waterpark and Garbonzo's Pizza and Arcade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Destination Center Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Grand Forks
Canad Hotel Destination Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing