We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel was a little dated but it was overall nice. Staff were friendly...We had a issue with the key lock to get into our room and they had someone come right away to fix it. The pool area was clean and it kept the kids busy. The breakfast was good, there was a variety, which is nice for picky children. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLady184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    130
    165
    167
    142
See reviews for
440
69
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We appreciate the renovations done on this hotel. It might be a bit dated but it's clean and economical. Staff are friendly and the pool area is great for younger children. Pets are welcome too. Don't expect new and lavish and you will likely be satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

the room were average and but clean, the beds were really comfortable so you can enjoy a good night sleep, the pool area clean and great for kids,my grandchildren spent all their time on the water slides, continental breakfast great lots of choice including hot food on Sat and Sun,all staff at front desk,continental breakfast, cleaning staff were all helpful and pleasant which made our stay more enjoyable then higher rating hotels that we have stayed at, when we go back to grand forks in the future our stay will be at the Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed again with the family and it was much better. We were on th second floor in 2 room across from each other. No mix up this time on the rates. We booked online but as soon as it was confirmed, I called the hotel to tell them we wanted main floor, adjoining rooms. We have 3 little boys with us and once they go to bed, the adults want to sit up and converse. We arrived and were assigned rooms on 2 different floors and at opposite ends of the hotel. There was no record of my call requesting the adjoining rooms. I had written down the person's name but she was not working.
After a bit of hassle, the clerk was able to get us across the hall from each other which worked but was not ideal.
I saw the person I spoke with when she came in the next day and she said not to call so far in advance but to call first thing in the morning of the day of arrival. It usually works better that way.

The pool was fine but the kiddy pool was VERY cold. At least the hot tub was working this time. Lots of people in the pool area because of birthday parties and such. At least all the hockey teams in town for a tournament were staying at other hotels.
The breakfast room is being renovated so was a little cramped. The food was decent. We were there on a weekend so had a hot breakfast selection. Apparently, the hotel only does hot food on the weekend now. Don't know if I wildlife that if I was there during the week.
All in all, not too bad of a stay.

Room Tip: Call the morning of your arrival if you want specific rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn TownHouse - Grand Forks
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Forks
0.1 mi away
Ramada Grand Forks
Ramada Grand Forks
#10 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 28 in Grand Forks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Forks Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Forks Inn & Suites

Property: Grand Forks Inn & Suites
Address: 1210 North 43rd Street, Grand Forks, ND 58203
Region: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Forks Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Forks Howard Johnson is your destination! Whether it's a weekend or a weekday we are a great getaway! Located just off I-29 and Hwy 2, the Howard Johnson features an indoor water park with a kiddie pool area as well as a 110' slide, complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi, a fitness center, game room, complimentary toiletries, complimentary single cup coffee makers in each room, and a bar/lounge area. We also have meeting rooms and ballrooms for all your special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Forks Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Grand Forks
Clarion Grand Forks
Clarion Hotel Grand Forks
Holiday Inn Grand Forks
Grand Forks Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing