We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunkirk

The Dunkirk
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Denby Dale
Price range: US$11 - US$2,118
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Real ale pub serving artisan gins and traditional pub fayre. All are welcome including families, walker, cyclists & dogs.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have been to the Dunkirk twice this week and received a lovely warm welcome both times. The food was excellent, the fish and chips looked more like Moby Dick, it was huge! Everything was of the highest standard, you cant fault it. We look forward to our next visit. P.S Mia says hi to Paul

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    30
    18
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Recently visited this pub with family and arrived to a friendly reception.we found roaring fires and good staff.We all enjoyed our Sunday lunch with good choices and will return

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We came across this restaurant just by chance and im so glad we did.
We got a lovely warm welcome on arrival from the bar staff.
The food was just outstanding, the best sunday lunch we have had for a long time.
I will definitely return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have been to the Dunkirk several times and have never been disappointed. The food is always good and the staff are really friendly and very attentive. There always seems to be a good atmosphere here ( which is important to me )and I would certainly recommend a visit to anyone wanting a good meal in nice surroundings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rmc291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good friendly pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We are a walking group, who normally centre our walks on pubs with food in the Holmfirth area, and we went a bit further afield for this one. We walk on Friday, so we were at the Dunkirk for the fish and chip special offer. Fish chips and peas for £5 initially caused a few raised eyebrows, but we all tried them, and not one of us was disappointed with either size or quality. Desserts were very good too. Real ale is also important to us, and, although the choice was limited (four I think) they were varied and good. Finally, I think I can say that this was one of the most friendly pubs we have visited. I can't speak for the others, but I'll certainly be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hillglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dunkirk also viewed

Denby Dale, West Yorkshire
 
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dunkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing