We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckstool Cottage

Cuckstool Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckstool Cottage
Kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage Well equipped kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Cuckstool Cottage
Kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Well equipped kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Dining Area, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Twin Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Twin Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Landing area, Cuckstool Cottage
Single Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Bathroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Bathroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Garden (Spring) Cuckstool Cottage
View over the Cricket Field, Cuckstool Cottage
Denby Dale Pie Dish 1968
Denby Dale, the Pie Village
Pugneys Lake and country park
Local woods, near Cuckstool Cottage
Local woods
Sid's cafe, Holmfirth
Welcome to Cuckstool Cottage
Cuckstool Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisyloo80
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just stayed here for 2 and a half weeks and had a great time!! Lovely village, close to the train line and easy access to the m1. The cottage was clean and comfy and felt like a home away from home. Kids loved going for walks and getting muddy and snuggling down to watch DVDs in the evening. Would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layla C
2 reviews
“Brilliant stay, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Lovely, clean cottage with beautiful views of the village. Dog friendly which really made our holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C
Southwold, United Kingdom
1 review
“Convenient, comfortable, Cottage.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a lovely stay, comfortable warm, spacious cottage (it was cold outside). The facilities were good, in the kitchen everything you might need was provided.
Cottage is in a lovely village with many places of interest in the surrounding countryside and beautiful walks, advice about all this was available in the information file which was very good.
Will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and situation of the Cottage
Liked least: only downside was no 2nd toilat.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cottage with all you need and more.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We took our 2 granddaughters to Cuckstool Cottage for a few days last week. They loved it. Spent time picking blackberries and playing hide and seek, in the cottage. Sad to leave and want to go back, very soon.
It's a very roomy cottage with everything provided; towels, linen ,pots, pans glasses, cups, baking trays. etc.... there's even a washing machine. You only need food and clothes. Did I mention the TV and DVD player? Or the selection of novels and games? There's WiFi too. The list is endless. I keep remembering something else and have to scroll back up the page to include it.

The owners have clearly put a lot of time and effort into kitting out the 3 bedroom cottage with all you will need. Rare in my experience.

The cottage was ideally situated for visiting the National Coal Board Museum-recommend an underground tour, Cannon Hill Farm-children will love it and Kirklees Light Railway- beautifully run by volunteers. There are a lot of walks too. We didn't care. We drove!
There's a cricket ground opposite the cottage and on match days you can take a picnic and watch the action. Just my luck, we went midweek but did get to watch some of the crown green bowls, which was next to the cricket ground. Some good bowlers in Yorkshire!
We went out and about everyday and returned in the evening to a home cooked meal (thanks Julie-that's my wife, she doesn't come with the cottage!) before snuggling down for a film. It doesn't get much better than that, in my opinion.
So, in conclusion, we would highly recommend the cottage with all its facilities and the area for lots of different things to do, for both adults and children.

Only disappointment was that Denby Dale is renowned for its pies and we could only get a frozen one from the local NISA store. It still tasted good but if you could sort that out Philippa..........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy, cosy cottage
Liked least: Hard to be critical-It helps if you have a spotter when reversing out the drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay... I'll see what I can do about the pies lol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geezergaz...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very enjoyable week in a stone cottage overlooking a cricket field to the right and a bowling green to the left in a lovely quiet village location. Only a few minutes walk to the village shops and a good location for exploring Yorkshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortability
Liked least: Sharp turn to main road
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T
Ballina
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Great place to stay. Lots of pleasant walks, beautiful village, friendly people, good quality food in village shops, lots to explore and places to see close by. We enjoyed visiting Holmfirth, Haworth, Bronte country and some open farms. Would like to return there sometime

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location and comfort
Liked least: close to roads
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsM...
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great, comfortable base for exploring the area”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were only staying for the weekend but enjoyed ourselves so much, and were so comfortable we plan to be back again for a longer stay. It was great to find the cottage so well equipped and spacious. The location was good for us with local shops, places to eat, walks and a rail station (we had to visit Ponds Forge Pool in Sheffield where parking is difficult so the train was a real bonus!)
We do a lot of cottage holidays and it's so unusual in a cottage to find comfortable beds and Wi-Fi that works!! We really appreciated the effort that had gone in to make the cottage a real "home from home".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and space
Liked least: Key safe was fiddly. Garden needed mowing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing