We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A most welcoming holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuckstool Cottage

Cuckstool Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckstool Cottage
Kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage Well equipped kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Cuckstool Cottage
Kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Well equipped kitchen, Cuckstool Cottage
Dining Area, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Living Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double bedroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Double Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Twin Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Twin Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Landing area, Cuckstool Cottage
Single Room, Cuckstool Cottage
Bathroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Bathroom, Cuckstool Cottage
Garden (Spring) Cuckstool Cottage
View over the Cricket Field, Cuckstool Cottage
Denby Dale Pie Dish 1968
Denby Dale, the Pie Village
Pugneys Lake and country park
Local woods, near Cuckstool Cottage
Local woods
Sid's cafe, Holmfirth
Welcome to Cuckstool Cottage
Cuckstool Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
294ianh
France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A most welcoming holiday rental”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Cuckstool Cottage. Without doubt it is one of the most welcoming holiday rentals we have enjoyed across much of Europe. Philippa and Alan are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble to ensure a very relaxing stay from the moment of booking through to the completion of your stay. It is a real home from home for us and our dogs and in a perfect location to visit this area and for us, our friends and family. The only danger for us is that by giving such a glowing recommendation, it will become so popular that we struggle to get a booking in subsequent future years! We fully intend a return same time next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank you so much your your lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your stay once again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micheller...
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage - home from home”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a lovely place to stay. It is in a great location close to local amenities. There is a lovely pub up the road called The White Hart where you find a friendly atmosphere and nice food. There are some nice shops in the village. You are also close to some nice attractions and not far from Barnsley, Wakefield and Huddersfield. Looking forward to staying again next year.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathygib2...
Gibraltar
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just returned from our 10 night stay at this lovely cottage in Denby Dale. The cottage is fully equipped with anything you might need. It's situated in a great location overlooking the cricket field and just minutes away from a walk in the woods.

Excellent for a family of five like ours. We will surely return to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank you fro your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldfinge...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a great few days staying at the cottage there is every thing you need and more really comfy beds nice and clean the location is brilliant would go back again some time would have liked to have stayed longer really enjoyed our stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanPreec...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A relaxing, straightforward holiday home. Just what we needed”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We wanted a nice, quiet home for a week for my wife, son, friend, dog and myself. So the size of the cottage was great. It was very clean, uncluttered and welcoming.
The location was perfect for us too as we wanted to visit a lot of the nearby nature reserves and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
Withers Wood nature reserve was just up the road and was loved for the morning dog walk. The lad loved the Kirklees Light Railway and the swimming pool at Scissett.
My son has special educational needs so it was very reassuring to have locks on all the windows and a couple on the door. We did have to move some of the ornaments just to be on the safe side though! The kitchen was well equipped and a good size for us as was the living room, which has plenty of space.
The garden is very small, but to be honest, why would you want to spend time in a garden when there are such great open spaces to explore?
In fact there are so many places still to visit we are currently booking another week at the cottage for next year's summer holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T9520IHin...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Family Cottage”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a 3 night break and it is a gem of a village with pubs,butchers,wine merchants,shops and more , great walks out of the front door with lots to do within 30/45 mins drive . Cottage is very well laid out with good space for a family of 5 . Only one observation being could do with another easy chair in the lounge as had to squeeze on to 2 sofas ,however we will definitely return .

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful spot for a holiday”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is warm and welcoming and just as described. The kitchen was great with lots of space and everything you could need. Beds are really comfy which isn't always the case in holiday cottages. We found the area around very interesting and Denby Dale has lots of shops and places to eat. We found a really good deli in the village. If you have time visit Holmfirth which is very close.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Glad you had a lovely time. Hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing