We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!”
Review of Ibo Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ibo
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Service!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family and I took a gamble on going to the little island of Ibo in the Quirimbas archipelago, Mozambique. The service we recieved from Rob and his team was amazing and we wanted for nothing.

The lodge is very well maintained, the rooms are magnificient and the views breath taking. Meal locations were very varied from lunch on a remote sand bank to a romantic candle lit dinner on the beach.

We recommend, the day trip to the sand bank on the dhow, the historic tour which is really interesting and the kayaking through the mangroves.

The highlight of out trip was definitely the diving. Lorrayne and her team at Dive Quirmbas are absolutely fantastic. They catered for our every need and the diving its self was fantastic. And a bonus we snorkeled with the resident pod of bottlenose dolphins.

Room Tip: Try get a sea facing rooms - the sunsets are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear CliffLamb,
We are so happy that you chose Ibo Island Lodge and even happier that you had such a good experience. Breathtaking, amazing, magnificent, fantastic are all words a lodge owner strives to hear in feedback - so thank you! So happy you got to snorkel with the dolphins, hope you can come back to the Quirimbas some time in the future and all the very best from the entire team at Ibo. Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    37
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
31
105
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms are fantastic. The views are world class. The people who run the Ibo Island Lodge are doing a great thing for the island and the people who live there. It's nice to know that a great portion of your money is going to support the locals. But, most of all, it is just a wonderful place to stay, to indulge yourself, and to enjoy the views from the rooftop restaurant. A totally wonderful experience.

And if you get the chance to do the dhow safari,it will change your life for the better.

Room Tip: Eat every meal on at the rooftop restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reevebattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear Reevebattle,
Thank you so much for this feedback and reviewing us so generously. We aim to be the best and in doing so change lives for the better on Ibo - its lovely when we get the recognition for the work we are doing. So happy you loved the dhow safari and lodge and our rooms. Island greetings from the whole team! Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited Ibo Island Lodge as part of our honeymoon to Africa and we were not disappointed. Ibo Island in itself is full of charm and a calm from years past - the people friendly and the pace of life condusive to slowing down.
The Lodge itself was excellent. The service fantastic and the decoration and facilities as beautiful as the photos tell. With it's colonial feel and traditional theme, the Lodge hosts one of the best roof terraces we have ever seen with uninterrupted sunset views - perfect for sundowners and dinner.
The management team and staff went out of their way to make our stay as relaxing and enjoy able as possible, and though we only stayed for 3 days, we immersed ourselves in the delights and magic this place had to offer. Delicious food - particular fave was our lobster dinner on the beach - great wines and brilliant excursions. It's great to see how the lodge have integrated themselves into the island and very much work with the local community to provide opportunities and also ensure the best is achieved from the natural resources on offer. This was particulary impressive to us and made us feel 'at home'. Sad to leave but adamant to return one day, thank you tranquil Ibo Island :-)
Anthea and Graham Lannoy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear Anthea and Graham, Thank you for posting such a lovely review on us. So happy you chose Ibo for your honeymoon, and that you found the service fantastic. Our roof top terrace is my favourite place at Ibo - I am really happy you loved it too! We would love you to return one day and until then all the very best from the entire Ibo team. Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just spent 5 nights on this delightful Island... it's laid back relaxing feel is wonderful to immerse yourself in. The Lodge pampered to all your needs and cares... we did have a shortage or rather no tonic.. so G and T's were out of the question, but a small price to pay for the wonderful setting and such friendly staff... Their smiles light up the place and the tour of the Island with all it's history is an eye opener... a refreshing drink at Two Trees with it's own charm is fun.
Sun does rise early along with all the Islanders and sets by 17:15... so with romantic candlelight meals under the stars ... bed by 9.. crickey... No wonder there are so many little children running around the place!!
If you go and have a little extra room please take some biros (school is very short on supply) and the odd football( plus pump!) and the children would really love you...
Rob and Glen do a fantastic job of keeping the place running smoothly and Kevin and Fiona whom own the Lodge have invested in the Island and they have made some big differences to the lives of the Islanders. All in all a wonderful experience, would love to return one day to see how progress and tourism has affected the Island and it's charm. All the best Lindsay and Neil

Room Tip: We had a fantastic fron facing room overlooking the sea and Mangroves... the balcony with its swing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear Lindsay and Neil, First of all want to apologize about the lack of tonic water.. sometimes there are the odd shortages in Mozambique. So happy to hear you found the island delightful and had a relaxing and pampering stay. Please do return one day to see how things have progressed, and in the meantime all the very best from the entire team. Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at Ibo on the final leg of our Honeymoon. From the time we landed in Pemba the ground staff were on hand to help us with kindness and patience in dealing with the local customs. A short scenic flight to Ibo and we then arrived at the lodge. The island has an interesting history and offers a true reflection of Northern Mozambique. The lodge offers a tranquil and luxurious time, each day there were various activities to do and also lots of chill out and relaxing time. We did the sand bank breakfast with snorkelling, swimming with dolphins, more snorkelling, historic and cultural tours and lots of relaxing too. The food is phenomenal!!! We met the chefs and they are both creative in using fresh seafood and home grown organic fresh produce. Morning wake up call with local Ibo coffee freshly brewed was one of the many special touches. Rob and his team we great and we look forward to returning to celebrate a milestone anniversary one day!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear Melanie H,
So happy to read your had a honeymoon heaven at Ibo Island Lodge! Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear you thought our food was phenomenal, and that you got to sample lots of our activities. Wishing you the very best for your married life and we would love you to return for that milestone anniversary! All the very best, Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ibo is a high level boutique at the Ibo Island town, full of local history and customs. While it is not a classic idyllic destination "resort" is ideal for those seeking tranquility and combine beach and culture. Attention is spectacular and can not forget sailing and diving with excellent and experienced instructors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PelayoChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear PelayoChile,
Thank you for your review - I think you sum up Ibo perfectly! All the very best from the Ibo team. Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Charmingly renovated and located lodge, in the old Portuguese style, on the mysterious Ibo island. Beautiful panoramic sunsets, and great dhow rides, walks through villages where you' re not harassed at all but politely greeted or simply ignored. Incredibly helpful staff and service, and very comfortable, beautifully furnished rooms with big mosquito nets. An amazing, unique place!

Room Tip: Beach view rooms can get a bit hot in the afternoon as the setting sun warms the building, but the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaRecord, Owner at Ibo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2016
Dear Fiona N
Thank you for describing Ibo as an an amazing and unique place. We so happy your enjoyed your stay. Very pleased to read your interaction with the islanders was so positive - the friendly people is just one of the things that makes Ibo so special. Thanks for your stay and review. Warmest Ibo greetings, Fiona Record, Owner, Ibo Island Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ibo
0.0 mi away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azura Quilalea Private Island
0.0 mi away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibo Island Lodge

Property: Ibo Island Lodge
Address: Rua Bela Vista, Cabo Delgado Province 3212, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Ibo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ibo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ibo Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibo Island lies in the Quirimbas Archipelago of northern Mozambique. Nominated for World Heritage status Ibo has been described as one of the most unique and atmospheric islands in the world. Ibo offers pristine beach excursions, snorkeling, sea kayaking, dhow sailing, birding, mangrove forests, sumptuous seafood, romance, simplicity, tranquility and a perspective that will change your life forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibo Island Hotel Ibo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing