We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go / No Go at Guludo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Guludo Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guludo Beach Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Go / No Go at Guludo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely place located on a 12 kms stretched beach where you are alone with the other residents of the lodge and the fishermen from the nearby village...

GO:
1. Immaculate part of the world
2. True eco resort, employing local people, using local resources, and doing some programs to improve the nearby village
3. Kind and good willing staff
4. Accommodation large and nicely situated right on the beach with great views. No issues with comfort. Do not go to these places to watch TV and play video games!
5. Good cuisine

NO GO

1. Expensive place, not enough value for money. Are most profits really going to the nearby village? Not so sure
2. Web site magnifying the place. Not a luxury lodge at all.
3. Inexperienced management needs to get the whole place much better organized. This almost pertains to a lack of proper leadership. We could not dive although it was supposedly the highlight of our stay (too much demand but also huge lack of organisation)
4. Difficult access, even if you cannot get your cake and eat it (easily accessible places get indeed swamped by mass tourism). We took the boat option from Ibo and back , however it turned out to be a nightmarish journey back on a small dingy in the middle of a storm with the manager not even able to take the channel all the way to the landing stage at Ibo... They should have made a decision to use another route!
5. Limited activities, however not a big issue as it is a self-fulfilling and so unusual place.
6. Large tides are indeed an issue to get the most out of water activities.

In summary, going there must be a considerate decision. We are happy we made it. However this lodge has much to improve in terms of organisation and its activity offer to become truly attractive in all respects.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    6
    4
    14
See reviews for
13
64
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The place looked great on paper but unfortunately we did not get to enjoy it.

We only received an email cancelling our stay, not even a phone call. It also took them way too long to refund our money which was disappointing. Poor service for such a boutique accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guido F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guludo, Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are very sorry you felt the need to post this. We tried calling you as soon as we were aware we would not be able to offer diving over your stay but with no success, so ended up emailing almost 2 weeks before your arrival. We actioned your refund immediately and helped book a new lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A socially responsible project, employs local people only and you get great food, mostly what they can produce and fish in area. The people are extremely nice and work hard to make you feel welcome.
It took a couple of days to fully appreciate. The basic infrastrcture (they should get electricity soon) and the rythm of waking up at 5 am and go to sleep at 7pm was kind of difficult but after the 3rd day you realize you are in a 12 km beach with nobody around, you pick up amazing shells on the beach and you just wind down, whether you like it or not because there is hardly any cell coverage and no internet.
A short forty minute boat ride, you have the Rolas Island, some of the most beautiful water and sand you can ever find.
Takes books with you...ah, no...not that kind...the old fashioned paper ones!
And lots of sun lotion, it is hot and th sun very strong!
Getting there is a challenge but if really want to get away from it all, this is the place

Room Tip: They are all good. Bandas are facing the beach, 50 metres from the ocean (unless it is low tide)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abilio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Guludo on our honeymoon a few weeks ago. We love the ethos of this lodge and found it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Don't come here expecting 5* luxury but come for a 5* experience. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic time and managed to fit in the activities we were interested in. Nikki took us to some fabulous dive spots; we especially loved the lighthouse at Ibo Island. The tilly lamps in the evening added to the romance of the lodge (although having a good torch was essential). The pulley mechanism for the showers was ingenious and I loved having a shower and being able to look at the amazing night sky. We saw some spectactular moon rises and my husband got up at dawn and took some great shots of the sunrise. We were extremely lucky to see both elephants and dolphins on our last day. It is a truly unique place. Thank you to all of the staff and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerjj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at the end of our honeymoon at Guludo. It was the perfect way to end our time in Mozambique. As other reviewers have commented, it's probably not for everyone but if you want unadulterated relaxation, away from the distractions and stresses of the outside world, Guludo really is perfect.

There is no electricity or running water but far from this being a downside, it means that when the sun goes down, the place is all the more enchanting, lit only by gas lanterns. The shower is operated by an ingenious, pulley operated contraption that pours stored water on you from above. The shower is open air, so if you take one after the sun goes down, you can look up and gawp at the simply awesome (over-used word but in this context is accurate) milky way. Everyone likes looking at starts but I got a crick in my neck from just endlessly staring at the display you get here, so far from light pollution. Each night, you see countless shooting stars.

In the mornings, you open your eyes to the sunrise and look straight from your bed, down to the indian ocean - incredible!

I guess the menu can be adapted if you specify before but if you take what is given, it is all seafood, which suited us.

The staff were amazingly obliging towards our requests to have breakfast in our banda amongst various other requests.

I would say that the if you took the price of Guludo based only on the accommodation, you would have to say it is a little over-priced but for the conscientious traveller, you must take into account what is done to help the local community with the money you pay towards your stay.

Guludo is absolutely fantastic for making the most of your surroundings, including the community you are staying in, as opposed to being in some generic, faceless resort, which could be anywhere. Also you really appreciate the simple beauty of nature - complete peace, isolation, the sky, the sea... sorry to sound like a massive hippy but really it is a place where everything slows down allowing you to take in those things. If you need glitz, swimming pools and entertainment from a resort then it's not the place for you

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Guludo isn't 5* in the traditional sense of the word, there aren't lots of mod cons, so if this is what you're after then this isn't the place for you. But for us (family of 4 with 2 small children) it was everything we wanted and more.

Our chalet (or "banda" as they call it) was fantastic - the kids especially loved the showers and the "Robin Crusoe" feel of the place. The sun comes up early, which didn't bother us as we just ended up following suit and we all got in the habit of a lovely early morning splash around in the lovely warm sea. The food was GREAT - Afonso and the kitchen team were always there ready to help or adapt the menu for kids, we couldn't have asked for more.

The beach is huge, safe and perfect for sandcastle building so the kids spent most of the day playing and swimming in the sea. We also went to Rolas one day which was one of the many highlights of our stay. We also went to the village, which my husband and I enjoyed, although the children did find all the attention a bit overwhelming - so do bare this in mind if you go with young children (under 6). We also really enjoyed hearing about all the amazing work they do with the communities - both fascinating and inspiring.

As for negatives - the drive from Pemba is quite far with children, so we would probably recommend the air option. We'd also recommend you bring a good couple of torches as the ones provided weren't fantastic and they really are useful at night.

In summary, Guludo really is "barefoot" so I can understand why it may not be for everyone. For us it showed off all that is wonderful about Mozambique; the people and nature and we really can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: They are all amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We're just back from a wonderful week in Guludo. It's hard to compare and contrast with the other places we stayed on our honeymoon. I was really struck by how different what Guludo are trying to do is - we thought the general overall experience was fab and the whole objective of the lodge is amazing. We really like the chalet - shower was VERY cool, the food was delicious and fresh, diving was spectacular and well organised and Idris and the rest of the local team, from in and around Guludo were lovely… I am trying to remember some names… one was Hamisi, super intelligent, softly spoken, great English and a real pleasure to meet and get to know - his progress was a real testament to Guludo's goals in general. All in all, I just wanted to applaud what has been created - it must have been crazy challenging and amazingly rewarding in equal measure! A must visit place for anyone who wants an authentic experience with simple luxury. A visit to the village and some of Nema's projects is also a must as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirimbas National Park
0.0 mi away
Ulala Lodge
Ulala Lodge
#1 of 2 in Murrebue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
nZuwa Lodge
nZuwa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Murrebue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 7 in Vilanculos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#3 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guludo Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guludo Beach Lodge

Property: Guludo Beach Lodge
Address: Guludo | Cabo Delgado, Quirimbas National Park, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quirimbas National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Quirimbas National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guludo is a tropical, barefoot beach paradise; 12km of deserted powder-white sand nestled between the dazzling azure Indian Ocean and wild African Bush. Accommodation provides everything you need and nothing you don’t. With high roofs, gentle sea breezes, alfresco en-suite bathrooms with a stunning “loo with a view”; barefoot luxury never felt more indulgent. The essence of Guludo is relaxation and discovery. Time is spent drifting over magnificent coral reefs, watching humpback whales, visiting islands and mingling in the local village. Guludo is also responsible tourism at its finest, even while snoozing in your hammock you are helping to relieve poverty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Guludo Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guludo Beach Hotel Quirimbas National Park
Guludo Beach Lodge Mozambique/Quirimbas National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing