We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food”
Review of Buba

Buba
Cuisines: Seafood, Sri Lankan, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tupper Lake, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We dined in the upstairs area of the beach hut, which gives you a great perspective of the ocean. As expected, the menu has a strong emphasis on seafood. The king prawns were very good. Overall, the food was good and plentiful. The service could have been more attentive as it was necessary to make repeated requests for certain items. It's kind of strange to have to cross multiple sets of railroad tracks in the dark, plus experience the roar of passing trains in order to have a good meal. The seabreeze was certainly refreshing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrythekayaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    17
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Male
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not recommended for families ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Its in a good location with good beach but the service & food was terrible. Its full with young crowds & drunkards!! Its not recommended for families or decent people

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace_Lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batticaloa, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drug Addicts Everywhere!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I traveled here with my family. The place is filled with drunkards and drug addicts. I will never recommend this place for a decent person who travel with the family. Spoiled my mood and the trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanagasooriyam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff , and the best location.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We found this well hidden restaurant whilst walking along the beach, just south of the Mount Lavina hotel. The food is very good and the ice cold beers and cocktails perfect, especially given it's location along the beach and overlooking the bay. sit and watch the sun set with a cold drink and then order super fresh and well prepared sea food.
Confused by some of the messages on here as we found the staff to be very attentive and friendly. We experienced no illegal activities, or beach touts, and felt secure and safe enough to trust the staff with our bags whilst going into the sea. We spent much of two days at the place, using their sunbeds on the second day and they were wholly helpful and other guests ranged from business folk visiting to watch the sunset after work, to tourists like us simply enjoying the location. The toilets were modern and spotlessly clean with sufficient spaces to allow you to change for the beach, a facility which ourselves and some Malaysian visitors took advantage of.
Sadly, the large and upmarket Mount Lavina hotel has a sign on the beach just before you reach Buba, advising guests of the risks of walking beyond the notice, and warns of the dangers.from local people. All we can say is that this was not our experience, but it was interesting how many people walked from the hotel to Buba for a more relaxed and more local experience.
Tables are beach based or placed within mangrove, or on a high balcony overlooking the bay - great for the sunset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place with a crap service”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I love this place very beautiful perfect to some on an ice cold beer and relax with some good food. but the service is really bad, need to clean up the place too the toilets are dirty with no water in the women's washroom. the servers bring the food cold!.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamierod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buba also viewed

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
 

Been to Buba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing