We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting But Make Sure The Beach Restaurants Are Open”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Lavinia House
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel is truly amazing with a pool half in and half out of the ground floor and lovely rooms in an inceredible old building. Thr train at the bottom of the garden was a bit offputting but did not prove a problem at night.

Unfortunately the beach restaurant was only offering noodles or rice and curry as it was the off season so food was a shortfall. Breakfast was provided and was very acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbotsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

A unique boutique hotel with great views of Mount Lavinia beach. The secluded walled grounds are well maintained with a pool leading from the garden inside to the reception lounge area. The house is very well designed and spacious. We stayed in the Fantasy suite on the top floor. This room does not have air conditioning however has a ceiling fan and louvres doors leading out onto two large seperate balconies. The adjoining seperate open roof bathroom is full of palms & vines with a large shower & rock bath big enough for two. The top floor also has a large lounge & dining area with windows opening out towards the beach. The staff are always around to look after your needs. We were even given cookery lessons in making Egg hoppers & Dahl curry.
The English owners have invested in building a comfortable, stylish 'home from home' with well trained staff that offers good value for money. Breakfast can be served either in the hotel or at their beachfront restaurant.

Room Tip: Circular bed & open air bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Wow! it is truly a beautiful house! If you want a place to read quietly, swim a bit, walk a bit... this is it. The house is well maintained and just beautiful, the staff are lovely, and even the passing trains don't really disturb you. The beach is just a step away and the main road a short walk. There is no restaurant in the house, but several on the beach or main road.
Each room is different, clean and well-kept but with few facilites. An electric kettle in the room would help since early risers or those of us who like to read late, have to wake up the staff if we want something to drink. There is internet access available at a price...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeralaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Mount Lavina House is a hidden Gem.
Mount Lavina Residences are the finest apartments we have ever stayed in
sheer luxury , with the highest quality of service and finish.
The stunning design of the house must make this a unique destination.
Add to this a wonderful beach restaurant were you can enjoy breakfast whilst looking at the Indian ocean , it is paradise.
Yes there is the railway- but honestly it is not intrusive and is a tiny price to pay for this beach location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northanlass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I stayed her with my auntie and uncle who were visiting me. I live in Sri Lanka and have my own guest house in Bentota.
I have stayed in many places in Colombo area and this is one of my favorites. The rooms are far superior to Mount Lavina Hotel and you are so close to Mount Lavinia breeze restaurant which knocks spots off the large hotel food.
You are a little way from the centre but it is no trouble to get there in a tuk tuk and you need one to get anywhere in Colombo as everything is all over the place. There is parking if you have your own vehicle.
I would and do recommend this hotel to my friends and guests because of the lovely rooms and view. It is close to the railway but this did not bother me although it may some people. Unfortunately the railway line runs all along the coast line thanks to the British!!
Excellent value and a bit special.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shangrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Mt. Lavinia House is located just north of Colombo almost at the beach.
Almost because the railroad is directly between the house and the beach.
During the day the trains are coming every hour and like to honk the horn. We feared for our sleep but during the night there are fewer trains and it was no problem for us.

And now to all the positive sides of this house.
It is beautifully built using local wood and is very open. There is a pool on the ground floor which connects the inner hall with the garden. The top floor is one large open space with excellent views to the sea where you can sit in the breeze (if you open the windows) and read a book or look at the sunset.
The rooms are very nicely furnitured and we slept in the Fantasy Suite with Jungle Bath which is located on a secluded terrace outside the room. Very romantic.

The staff is great. And despite some language problems they try to fulfill every wish you have. Breakfast is plenty and you can choose between Western style or Sir Lankan.

This is a top quality location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuSuSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed here for about three weeks when we came to Sri Lanka. The hotel has apartments just across a small street and we stayed in the Jasmine apartment. The accommodation was perfect with very large rooms and AC in the bedroom. The apartment also had spatious balconys. Guests in the apartments can use the hotel facilities as the swimmingpool in the hotel garden. The staff is superfriendly and helpful! The hotel is situated close to the beach wich sadly also means close to the railway tracks. This is the only downside. We would certainly come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivory Inn
Ivory Inn
#9 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
152 reviews
0 mi away
Beverly Hills Hotel
Beverly Hills Hotel
#24 of 47 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 11 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia House

Address: No 09 Samudra Mawatha, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Lavinia House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavinia House is a budget hotel which is great for the budget traveler as well as your purse. The most affordable prices and comfortable rooms to begin your holiday in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Please get in touch with us and we will give you our best services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mount Lavinia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia House Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing