We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Lavinia House
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed at Mount Lavinia House for the first 3 days of our trip - in the suburbs of Colombo but far enough out to have that 'beach feel', though still urban. It is a small guest house, in a beautifully designed and maintained neo-colonial house, with a swimming pool which amazingly stretches from inside the house into the garden. The garden itself is a beautiful walled oasis, but accept that the railway (which runs all the way along the coast here) is just over the wall at the bottom of the garden. We weren't bothered about this - or crossing it on foot directly onto the beach and the beach restaurants, where there is a good choice - our favourite was La Voile Blanche. The staff are very accommodating and friendly (although their english is fairly limited) and our room (with a balcony looking out to the ocean) was clean, adequately (though not extravagantly) furnished and very comfortable, with aircon. Lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

this is a beautiful colonial style building, which didn't compensate for the atrocious service, the room not being made up or cleaned, and no fresh towels. There wasn't even any soap in the bathroom. The room was beautiful but lacked furniture, apart from a bed, so there was nowhere to put clothes etc. They were very short-staffed and the young man who appeared to be the only person there most of the time, spoke almost no English. The manager seemed to spend all his time at the hotel restaurant, which is on the beach and across a railway line. That's ok in daylight but we didn't enjoy walking back to the hotel in the dark, even with torches. There have to be better places to stay near Colombo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

When you return to your hotel at midnight 5 hours before you are due to leave the country and you find that your key is missing, there is no master key, all your luggage and tickets are in the room and you can't get in, you might be forgiven for panicking!
While as a building, it is pretty unique and lovely, the system of keeping room keys in a bowl in the kitchen is potentially disastrous. We eventually persuaded the boy on night duty to contact the maid to whom we had given our key when we went out and it turned out that she had just put it in her pocket and gone home. He had previously phoned the manager who wasn't interested! He then tried to dismantle the lock by taking the handles off which was pretty futile. He wouldn't listen to my wife (females don't seem to count in that environment) and only when I got really cross did he telephone the maid. Even then, he didn't tell us the key was found. The lock was pretty dodgy anyway and difficult to open.
The room we had was large and spacious but there was very little furniture - one chair and a wardrobe and no aircon. No water was provided and although we were there for two nights, the room was not made up nor the towels changed. The showerhead leaked.
The security was good but crossing a railway line to get to the restaurant was not ideal. Nevertheless, the food was good.
Location for a short stay if you want to go to Colombo is not ideal - it is about 10k away. It was probably as well that this was the end of our excellent holiday rather than the beginning or we might have been rtempted to go home early.

Room Tip: Make sure that there is a spare key!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here the first two nights of our trip to Sri Lanka and it was great – there's interesting architecture, with the swimming pool that extends inside, and a restful garden with sun loungers. Yes, there's a railway line at the end of the property but this will affect all guesthouses in the area and it isn't intrusive. The rooms are very simply furnished but stylish.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel is truly amazing with a pool half in and half out of the ground floor and lovely rooms in an inceredible old building. Thr train at the bottom of the garden was a bit offputting but did not prove a problem at night.

Unfortunately the beach restaurant was only offering noodles or rice and curry as it was the off season so food was a shortfall. Breakfast was provided and was very acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbotsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

A unique boutique hotel with great views of Mount Lavinia beach. The secluded walled grounds are well maintained with a pool leading from the garden inside to the reception lounge area. The house is very well designed and spacious. We stayed in the Fantasy suite on the top floor. This room does not have air conditioning however has a ceiling fan and louvres doors leading out onto two large seperate balconies. The adjoining seperate open roof bathroom is full of palms & vines with a large shower & rock bath big enough for two. The top floor also has a large lounge & dining area with windows opening out towards the beach. The staff are always around to look after your needs. We were even given cookery lessons in making Egg hoppers & Dahl curry.
The English owners have invested in building a comfortable, stylish 'home from home' with well trained staff that offers good value for money. Breakfast can be served either in the hotel or at their beachfront restaurant.

Room Tip: Circular bed & open air bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Wow! it is truly a beautiful house! If you want a place to read quietly, swim a bit, walk a bit... this is it. The house is well maintained and just beautiful, the staff are lovely, and even the passing trains don't really disturb you. The beach is just a step away and the main road a short walk. There is no restaurant in the house, but several on the beach or main road.
Each room is different, clean and well-kept but with few facilites. An electric kettle in the room would help since early risers or those of us who like to read late, have to wake up the staff if we want something to drink. There is internet access available at a price...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeralaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.0 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
2,585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#2 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#7 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms Mount Lavinia
Palms Mount Lavinia
#6 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#3 of 10 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunhill - Mount Lavinia
Hotel Sunhill - Mount Lavinia
#19 of 45 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Lavinia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Lavinia House

Address: No 09 Samudra Mawatha, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Lavinia House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavinia House is a budget hotel which is great for the budget traveler as well as your purse. The most affordable prices and comfortable rooms to begin your holiday in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Please get in touch with us and we will give you our best services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mount Lavinia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Lavinia House Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing